going private

I’m using the new year as motivation to make some changes to my blog. As I have less time to blog and fewer deep feelings to work through (can I get an “Amen!” for that?), it seems that this blog is most likely going to primarily be a “look at/hear about my cute baby” type of blog. And, I’m no longer comfortable with that being wide open to the whole wide world to see. I have struggled with this decision over the past few months because I gained so much from reading others’ adoption stories – and I do hope to still talk about post-adoption issues such as adjustment and attachment and so on – and I would like my blog to be helpful to others, too.  But, in the end, this is just what I feel I need to do, even if that means the blog is a little less helpful to others. I feel a bit bad about that, but this isn’t just about me anymore.

So, I’m going to add a password to my blog posts.  Since it’s hard to know who is reading a public blog apart from those who leave comments, I’m going to leave the password acquisition up to you, dear readers. Please contact me at uninterruptedprosperity (at) gmail (dot) com if you would like the password. I will certainly be liberal with sharing the password with family, friends, and anyone connected to adoption. If I don’t know you – and just so you know, I have a very loose definition of “know” that includes exchanging occasional emails or reading blogs or being friends of friends or being on the same adoption listserv – please let me know why you are interested in reading along. Don’t be shy, just ask! I do, of course, retain the right to not share the password, but I benefited so much from reading others’ blogs that I want to make sure that those with an interest in adoption can continue to (hopefully) benefit from reading my blog.

I’m going to go back and add passwords to any posts that have my daughter’s name and photo on them, so I apologize in advance if that means that a bunch of old posts show up again in readers or inboxes. For those of you who get emails each time I post, I think that feature will still work, but it will likely provide you with a link where you then need to add the password (perhaps only the first time).

Thanks for understanding, and for following along!

This entry was posted in blog, me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to going private

  1. AnnaJ says:

    Amen. No problem and good choice all around. Thinking of you.

  2. Karlie says:

    Best of luck on this next phase of your blog. I have loved reading all of your posts. Just like you, reading other blogs about adoption has helped me greatly through this crazy journey!

  3. collandglenn says:

    “Amen!” ….wanted to be sure i gave ya one! 😉

  4. Kelly says:

    You know my thoughts on this. Totally understand!!! I know you have touched many people with your blogging over the years (you certainly touched me), and now it is time to focus on K 🙂

  5. Stella says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

