plans!

We received our travel dates, and we are set to be at the U.S. Embassy in Addis next Tuesday! Today has been a busy day of booking flights, trying to wrap some things up at work, and doing things like arranging for dog care. Oh, and I got my hair cut and colored, because that’s a top priority. (Just kidding, it was scheduled weeks ago.)

We leave on Thursday! 48 hours from now we will be in the air. We will arrive in Addis late Friday night, so we won’t be able to go straight to Baby K. But you had better believe we’ll be there as soon as she wakes up on Saturday.

I hope to wrap up at work by about noon tomorrow; thankfully I’m in pretty good shape in that regard. I’ve thought I was leaving soon for weeks now, so I had already handed over most of my cases and I’ve kept on top of things like filing and record-keeping. And I had forewarned my coworkers that we might only have a couple of days’ notice, so they weren’t taken by surprise. I am taking six months off, so I will not be back until April.

In a fun twist, we will be in Addis to bring Baby K home at the exact same time my friend Zoe (who also lives in Baltimore) will be there with her husband to bring their twin girls home! She’s with a different agency, but we have our Embassy appointments on the same day, and we may well run into each other there. We met through our blogs before either of us had finished our home studies or gotten on wait lists (which happened within a week of each other), and it’s really amazing how we have both reached this point at the same time. I can’t wait until we’re both taking our girls to our adoption group gatherings at a local Ethiopian restaurant.

More soon, I hope – but I’ve got lots to do in the 42 hours before we leave for the airport!

 

 

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, ethiopia, friends, travel, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to plans!

  1. Kim says:

    Yahoo! (Just had to say that again!) šŸ™‚

  2. michelleoryl says:

    Kelly I am so elated and over the moon for you and Craig. Safe travels and get some sleep, you will need it!!

  3. Kyra says:

    I am sooooo excited for you!

  4. Nikki says:

    So excited for you! Have a safe trip!

  5. sue says:

    go get that baby girl!!!! safe travels to you and craig and baby k and i can’t wait to see you as a family of three!!! [or actually, five ;)]

  6. Christine K says:

    Congrats on this exciting time!! I can’t wait to see you and Baby K together at last.

  7. christine says:

    EEEEEKKKKK!!!! I’m SO excited for you!!!! I cannot wait for Saturday morning to get here now!

    (On another EEK note, I have some knitting needles to pick up!)

  8. Molly says:

    Holy moly!!! I just read back and this is AMAZING news!!!!!! I’m so, so happy for you!!! I can’t believe you’re leaving so soon–this isn’t a super long trip, right? This is so incredible. I’m so, so excited for you three!

  9. collandglenn says:

    hip hip hooray!!!!!! i can’t begin to tell you how thrilled i am that this time has finally come for you, kelly! i can not wait to see her in your arms! have an amazing trip!!! xo

  10. Kristine says:

    I’m so happy for you! I’m thrilled you be there at the same time as a friend! Safe journey!!!

  11. ellen says:

    Can I just say how excited I am, both for your travel and for the fact that you and Zoe will actually be bringing your girls home together? It’s been a long, long haul for both of you. But oh, how marvelous it will be to have those 3 little girls finally in the room with us at Dukem!!!

  12. jmtorlay says:

    I am so so so excited for you guys!!! Safe travels to your family and I can’t wait to see pictures of you three together!!

Leave a Reply

