at last!

I’ll get right to it:

WE GOT OUR CLEARANCE THIS MORNING!!!

(Yes, I’m shouting. It’s shout-worthy, don’t you think?)

The glorious email arrived at 6:27am, with the subject line saying all we needed to know: “Cleared case.” I still had to read over it a few times, though, just to be sure of what I was reading.

I didn’t sleep a wink all night, the anticipation and anxiety preventing any true relaxation. And, while I could have taken something to help me sleep, I wanted to be alert early in the morning. Just in case.

Craig receives the emails from the Embassy, and when he got up at 6:00, there was nothing in his inbox. We didn’t expect to hear anything by then, really (that was only 1pm in Addis), and we had talked over the weekend about how we would have been happy to hear nothing from the Embassy today, because that would have meant that the interview had actually happened. (And lately it seems that the clearances weren’t coming on the same day as the interviews.) But, as we both stayed in bed, not quite wanting to get out from under the warm covers just yet, we heard the chime notifying us of a new email on Craig’s phone. He looked at it first and didn’t say anything at all; he just handed me the phone. I said, “Is it good or is it bad?” It was good. Very, very good.

We hope to leave this Friday or Saturday; we won’t know about our travel dates until tomorrow. Our agency has to schedule an appointment for us at the Embassy and arrange for our day trip to Woliso. So, if they are able to arrange those things, we’ll be back with our girl in just a few days.

Thinking of that gives me chills. And makes me smile, for sure.

Our daughter is coming home!

 

This entry was posted in adoption, baby, baby k, ethiopia, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to at last!

  1. Rob says:

    Yay!!! Wonderful news!

  2. Kori says:

    HURRAY HURRAY HURRAY HURRAY HURRAY! Best way to start a Monday I could possibly imagine.

  3. Hooray!!!!!!!!!!!! I have chills. So very very happy, thrilled, thankful!!

  4. Liz says:

    Hooray hooray! Can’t wait to see you all together at last!

  5. me says:

    This is the best news!!! I have shivers for you! October is your month!
    Go get your girl!

  6. meghan says:

    I am SO happy for you all! Can’t wait to see pics πŸ™‚ Safe Travels!!!

  7. Kristin says:

    Yay!!!!!

  8. Beth Stewart says:

    Woooo hooooo!! I am so happy for you!!!

  9. sue says:

    completely overjoyed for you, craig and baby k!!!!!

  10. Holli says:

    Hooray! My heart is full for you three. Much bliss and joy lies in wait. Safe travels — and HURRY home quick!
    xoxo

  11. collandglenn says:

    smiling from ear to ear for you guys today!! can’t wait to see your baby girl in your arms!!!

  12. michelleoryl says:

    Wahooooo! I am so elated for you all, especially Baby K, who has the best parents EVER. Safe travels and I cannot wait until we see messages indicating you are sitting on the tarmac.

  13. ellen says:

    YIPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! Crying happy tears here! So, so, so, so thrilled for all of you. That beautiful baby girl will soon be in your arms FOREVER.

  14. jcmarie says:

    I’M SHOUTING TOO! HOORAY!!!!!

  15. jmtorlay says:

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! Go get her!!!

  16. Theresa says:

    FINALLY! So happy for you. She is coming home!

  17. Kristine says:

    OH MY GOSH!!!! I have tears in my eyes for all three of you! How wonderful! Finally! Go, go, go!!! Can’t wait to see photos of all of you together!!!

  18. Kelly H says:

    At long last! Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!! So happy for you!!!

  19. Rain Woman says:

    Wonderful news!!! I am so happy for you! Safe travels!

  20. Kara says:

    Great news! So happy for you!

  21. Janet says:

    Yay yay yay yay yayyyyyyy!!! It is finally time. I cannot even imagine how excited you must be! Seriously…best news in ages…for so many reasons. I cannot wait to see her in your arms….forever!!!

  22. Sue says:

    Holla!!!!

  23. Julie says:

    Oh, Kelly! I know we don’t know one another well at all, but there are just tears and tears at this news! I am so completely thrilled for you. Baby K is coming home! This gives me such faith in the universe. Sending you a big happy hug and a warm bon voyage for the trip of a lifetime!

  24. Amanda says:

    So so happy for you all! Such wonderful memories to come. Be well and enjoy every min of your journey. Take care,
    Amanda

  25. AnnaJ says:

    blessings good luck congratulations

  26. The Busters says:

    Yay!!! Yay!!! Yay!!! Congratulations!!!

  27. Kyra says:

    This is getting me all teary-eyed. I am SO happy for you!!! At last!!!

  28. live2roam says:

    That is wonderful news!! Congrats!! So excited for you to bring her home!!!

  29. Colleen says:

    Congratulations, so excited for you!! πŸ˜€

  30. Deirdre says:

    You and Craig have been through so much. Best news I have heard in a long time! Beyond happy for you.

  31. Leigh says:

    Yeah. Your daughter will be home for halloween and Christmas and forever!

  32. Kelly says:

    I’m the goofball who is commenting about this AMAZING news way after the fact but I couldn’t not comment because this news made me so incredibly happy when I heard it and I’m still smiling ear to ear even now that Baby K is in your arms, in your home, FOREVER!!!!

Leave a Reply

