dear baby k (8 months)

Dear Baby K,

Today you are 8 months old!

Did you know that I think about you every day? You are the first thing I think of in the morning and the last thing I think about at night. Often you appear in my dreams, too. I wonder how you are and what new things you have learned to do. You had quite a few visitors over the past month or so, as families visited Horizon House to bring some of your friends home. It was so nice of them to spend time with you. I hear you love a good game of peek-a-boo; I can’t wait to play that with you!

We are all ready for you here at home. Your room is all set up and your clothes have been washed. We made space in the kitchen cabinets for your bottles, cups, and bowls. I even bought diapers and formula. We have packed everything we need to bring to Ethiopia for you; we are ready to go as soon as they tell us we can come!

This week we have had perfect weather here in Baltimore – with bright blue skies and beautiful sunshine and wonderful, moderate temperatures. It has reminded me of Ethiopia, because during the week we visited you in May, the weather was just like this. I hear it is almost always like that, except for the rainy season, and that is why Ethiopia is known for its 13 months of sunshine. Sometimes, when I am sad because I miss you, I remind myself that the same sun that warms me here is warming you in Ethiopia, and that we sleep under the same moon and stars. It helps me feel connected to you. But oh, I miss you.

I am so ready for us all to be together as a family. Your dad and I are excited to start our new life together. It will be at least a few more weeks before we can come back for you, but please know that we think about you every single day. You are always on our minds and in our hearts. We love you so very much.

Love,

Mama

This entry was posted in baby k, ethiopia, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to dear baby k (8 months)

  1. Sofìa says:

    Beautiful words. I think you are already a family. best wishes

  2. colleen says:

    This is just beautiful, Kelly. The sun and the moon and starts certainly are a beautiful connection. Thinking of you my friend!

  3. Mary Beth Murray says:

    I guiltily (if thats not a word, it is now) admit that I attempted to start reading this as I sat in my car at a red light. So glad I didn’t …
    Here’s hoping Baby K will be in your arms soon, and forever, and that all 3 of you can together gaze at the moon and stars above Baltimore.

  4. Kyra says:

    Soon. It will be very soon. Hang in there. You can do it.

  5. sue says:

    such a sweet letter, kelly. we’re rooting for you guys!!!!

  6. michelleoryl says:

    Such a wonderful little letter to baby K. And yes, we do all sleep under the same moon and stars and I am sure she feels your love across the globe.

  7. 2plus2mom says:

    Before you know it, she’ll be in your arms, staring up at the moon, because it is 2:00 AM and you’ll desperately want to sleep but not want to put her down.

  8. Karlie says:

    Baby K has one amazing mom 🙂

  9. Oh, this stage is so so hard. I’m really glad you have these lovely letters for her to read in the years to come – to show her how much she was so loved and wanted while you were apart.

  10. christine says:

    Such a beautiful letter! Counting down the days with you guys!

  11. Happy 8 month birthday to Baby K! She will be home. Soon. And she’ll have these lovely letters to read someday to see how much she was loved before she even came home.

  12. jmtorlay says:

    This is beautiful! I know it will be soon before you three are all together.

  13. Elaine and Steve says:

    I met your sweet baby while I was in Addis. Hoping to hear great news from you soon! I am sorry your wait has veen long. Just wanted you to know I am thinking about you. My kids were in the big kids house. We were there during the move down to the baby house –Elaine

  14. Janet says:

    You write the most beautiful letters to your sweet baby girl! I love the moon/stars/sun part…simply beautiful and oh so true. Cannot wait until you can play peek-a-boo with her (the best game EVER!) and stay up late at night with her…to enjoy the moon together…in the same rocking chair.

  15. 2drinkmax says:

    I can’t adequately express what I would like to say, but I am thinking of your little family and wishing so hard that you’ll be together soon. If you need anything at all, give me a ring.

Leave a Reply

