again

Our second attempt at the birth family interview at the Embassy was scheduled for today. Unfortunately, it didn’t happen. Again.

We have a little bit of information about why it didn’t happen, but I’m not going to share that here. We have been rescheduled to a date in mid-September. I am again frustrated that it couldn’t be rescheduled sooner.

Needless to say, we are extremely sad and disappointed. We were really hoping to leave on Saturday; those plans had been discussed with our agency and everyone was on board as long as everything played out the way it needed to play out. We are angry, too, although I’m not quite sure exactly who/what that anger is directed at. Certainly not her birth family member. This is a grueling process for everyone involved.

Today also marks six months since we received our referral and first learned of our daughter. It breaks my heart to know she has had to stay in group care for six months while her family is aching to bring her home. We knew from the time we received the referral that it could well take six months to bring her home, but after having reasonable expectations of a July homecoming, and then these two delays, it just seems like it’s taking forever.

I am emotionally exhausted, but of course I will get through this. I have to, for my daughter.

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to again

  1. sue says:

    oh kelly, i’m so sorry. my heart aches for you guys. i’m saying prayers for your family and sending big hugs.

  2. Molly says:

    Oh, &*$^!. I’ve been stalking your blog for good news. I’m so freaking sorry this happened–this is just ridiculously difficult. I’m so, so sorry. Wish I lived closer so I could give you a hug and a bottle of wine.

  3. michelleoryl says:

    Oh Kelly, my heart is breaking as I am reading this today. I know this was not the news you hoped for but I know that you will continue to stay strong during this difficult time. More importantly, I hope that over the next few weeks time flies by quickly for both you and Craig. ((hugs))

  4. Amanda says:

    So so sorry. You are in my thoughts. Try to take care of yourself during this stressful time.
    Amanda

  5. Barbara says:

    Sorry to hear this rotten news. It totally sucks and I’ll send good thoughts your way over the next few weeks.

  6. The Busters says:

    SH*T!!!!! That’s the best word I can come up with. I am so sorry, Kelly. Sending out a lot of love to you.

  7. I am so incredibly sorry too, Kelly. So sorry. I wish there was something that I could say to make you feel better. 😦

  8. Christine K says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this, Kelly. Thinking of you guys and praying for strength to make it through this difficult wait.

  9. kris says:

    Kelly, I don’t even know what to say. This is terrible and I am so sorry this keeps happening. I want you to know we are praying for guys during this time and to get baby K home.

  10. Karlie says:

    Kelly – this more than S-U-C-K-S! I am so sorry this has happened to you again. You have every right to be totally pissed at the universe right now. Have a good scream, a good cry and a big glass of wine. That seems to help at least for a little while. Praying good news comes your way soon.

  11. ellen says:

    Oh Kelly. Been thinking about you all day and only now got a chance to check in. I’m so, so sorry. This absolutely sucks. I wish there were something, anything, I could say or do. I hope it helps a tiny bit to know that a LOT of people are thinking about and pulling for you, C and K.

  12. Kyra says:

    I am very sorry… I know how awful these delays are. What helped me, when we passed the 8-months-since-referral point, was to pick a date and say, after this, I am going to Ethiopia, no matter what. I don’t know if you can do that, work-wise. But if you can, it’s something to consider.

  13. jcmarie says:

    So sorry to hear this.

  14. Beth Stewart says:

    I’m so sorry Kelly. Waiting stinks. Can we help you pass some time this weekend?

  15. jmtorlay says:

    I’m so sorry. I can’t believe this happened again. You are in my thoughts.

  16. christine says:

    Oh. My. God. I just have no words. I’m so so so sorry Kelly & Craig! This royally s*(ks! 😦
    We’re all thinking of you guys and praying hard that this will be the LAST delay.

  17. Julie says:

    I am so, so sorry you are going through this. Know that you are in my thoughts.

  18. Janet says:

    Ugh…ugh…I don’t know what to say. This is awful. You have waited so long. Waiting is the worst…and your wait has been insanely long. I seriously hope this is the last delay so you can go get Baby K and bring her home. Hugs to you.

  19. colleen says:

    my gosh kelly…i don’t even know what to say. it is just so unfair. you have waited long enough and it just breaks my heart that you have another bump in the road yet again. i wish we lived closer so i could give you a super big hug and take you out for ice cream…and brownies…and whatever else we could stuff our faces with to dull your pain for just a bit. thinking of you always. xo

  20. me says:

    Ugh… I’m so sorry to read this Kelly. So frustrating when you don’t have control over all the different strings. Praying for things to finally happen in mid September! Just 2 weeks away! {{HUGS}}.

Leave a Reply

