dear baby k (7 months)

Dear Baby K,

Today you are seven months old!

It’s been almost three months since we were with you, and gosh, it feels like it’s been an eternity. But we just got some new photos of you, and that helps us to feel close to you. You look strong and healthy, and you also look happy. Oh, that makes me happy, to see you happy.

We learned recently that you now weigh 16.5 pounds. You are getting to be a big girl! We know your nannies are taking good care of you, and they are obviously feeding you well. We also know that you are working on rolling over from your back to your front. Your friend Baby S’s mom told me that you could get about 3/4 of the way there, and they helped you to finish, but then you weren’t really sure what to do when you got stuck on your tummy. I bet you will have that down pat soon!

We are pretty much all ready for you, Baby K. Your room is all set up and organized. The last things we need for you are diapers and formula, and yes, we know those are very important things! I was a bit disappointed that I need to return some of your cute summery clothes since you will be coming home later than we had hoped, but now I get to do more shopping for cute fall clothes for you. I think your dad is in a bit of trouble because now I have YOU to shop for, too! 🙂

Your dad and I were hoping we were coming for you later this week, but unfortunately we are not. I was very sad about this – very, very sad. I miss you so much and I just can’t wait to have you in my arms. But unfortunately, I must wait. You must wait, too, but I take comfort in the fact that you do not know you are waiting. You will continue on with your regular routine with your nannies who take such good care of you. Your dad and I will try to keep busy by finishing up some projects around the house and making sure we have fun doing things that won’t be so easy to do once you come home.

I have all of my fingers and toes crossed that we will be back to you within the next few weeks, Baby K. I can’t wait to hug you and kiss you and tell you that I love you. Once I have you in my arms, I will never let you go.

Love,

Mama

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to dear baby k (7 months)

  1. Kim says:

    Love, Mama. Don’t you just love typing those words? You’re in the hardest part of the wait, as you’re well aware. Hang in there….

  2. Kyra says:

    She will love reading this some day. I hope the next few weeks fly by.

  3. Kristin W says:

    Dear Baby K,
    I’ve been in your mom’s shoes before and I know how much she wants to snuggle up with you, feed you a bottle and protect you from the world. Some day you’ll get tired of her always wanting to hug on you, but know that she’s making up for lost time! Hurry home…we’re dying to see your pictures!

  4. Shannon says:

    I love reading your posts to Baby K! Hopefully not too much longer! I hope you guys are keeping these in a book for her! 🙂

  5. This was so simple and so beautiful. I read a lot of adoption blogs and rarely comment… but this entry reminded me of what a blessing it is to hold my babies. I remember the wait. The pain. And the mama bear roaring inside even though I was an ocean away. And I remember how much I loved my boys then and just how much more I love them now. I hope embassy clearance comes soon. You and Baby K need each other.

  6. michelleoryl says:

    Oh Kelly this is so lovely. Soon you will have baby K in your arms forever!

  7. Deirdre says:

    Kelly this is such a beautiful letter. I am so happy for you and Craig. Hope the time flies and you are on your way to Ethiopia soon.

  8. Kelly says:

    That was a beautiful letter. Some day Baby K will read that and know how very much she was adored an ocean away.

  9. christine says:

    Kelly, I have no words. This is beautiful. And what an amazing keepsake for K!

Leave a Reply

