rescheduled

We didn’t receive the news we were hoping for today – the news that would allow us to bring our daughter home. Instead, we learned that the birth relative interview did not take place as planned. We don’t know why; our agency is trying to find out for us, not that it is necessarily relevant. This type of thing does happen, and we knew that going in.

We have a rescheduled date for the interview, but it’s not until August 29th. That seems like an eternity from now. I would have handled the news better if it was just a week out instead of three. Our agency asked for the earliest possible date, and that’s what they were told they got, but our social worker said they will keep trying for an earlier date.

I’m so sick and tired of all of this waiting – and now we have more waiting to do. The last few months have been torture. Sheer torture, I tell you. We miss our daughter so much, and we want her home with us. For us, of course, but mostly for her. I am confident that she is receiving the best care she could receive in a group living situation, but that’s no substitute for life with a family.

I am emotionally exhausted. I admit to having a complete and utter breakdown today. I will get through this, though – of course I will. We are now seven years into our family-building journey. What’s another month?

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to rescheduled

  1. Kristin W says:

    UGH…I am so sorry. That is completely frustrating. Wish I had some words of comfort, but you’re right – three weeks is an eternity when you’re waiting for Embassy. Hang in there. Maybe something sooner will come up.

  2. Holli says:

    My heart aches for you — this is heavy, frustrating, complicated stuff. And it totally matters. I’m sorry. Thinking of you and sending peace and comfort. xoxo

  3. sue says:

    i’m just so frustrated for you guys. this has been such a long wait. i know you can do it, and it’s ok if it’s not easy. we’re all here cheering you along. big hugs, friend.

  4. Molly says:

    No! Oh, wow, that is such hard news. I don’t blame you for being upset–another month is torture, you are right. I’m so, so sorry. I wish it was different and they’d just get it done already! Hoping for an earlier date, and again, I’m so sorry!

  5. Barbara says:

    Waiting SUCKS! Sorry to hear that the interview is postponed but hoping for a miracle that pushes your date up.

  6. michelleoryl says:

    Hang in there…you are.so.so close! I know it feels like time is moving backwards but your daughter will be home very SOON. ((hugs))

  7. Sue says:

    I am so sorry this has happened and I am so wishing on the stars for an earlier date.

  8. Karlie says:

    Thinking of you through this tough time. Here’s to the next few weeks flying by!!!!!

  9. Amanda says:

    Im so sorry for your delay…you are in my thoughts!

  10. Christine K says:

    I’m so sorry that you’ve hit another delay. How incredibly frustrating! I don’t blame you at all for having a breakdown. I would, too! Hang in there. Thinking of you!

  11. Leah says:

    I’m so sorry. I relate to this on some levels. I remember the time between court and embassy being the HARDEST part of the entire wait. You’ve met your child, but can’t be with him/her. It’s awful! I remember a week before I was set to fly out for the Embassy appointment, I found out it was delayed 2 weeks. Only 2 weeks, but I had a major breakdown and felt like life was over. I’m thinking of you guys. I just want your daughter to be home with you guys already. . . I can’t even imagine how you feel.

  12. Erin says:

    So sorry you are having to wait yet again.

  13. christine says:

    I’m so crushed to hear this news. Enough already!!! You have shown such strength during this wait. I can only hope the reunion is just oh-so-much-sweeter now. Hugs friend.

  14. colleen says:

    i am so so sorry to hear this news, kelly. it just breaks my heart to think of the sadness and frustration you are feeling. ( and oh so rightfully so! ) waiting just plain old stinks….and you have waited long enough. thinking of you! xo

  15. The Busters says:

    Stopping by to tell you I am thinking of you today.

  16. Kelly says:

    I’m still so upset by this news, Kelly & Craig. In the greater scheme of things, it’s not much time but right now, it truly is a heart-breaking eternity that probably feels like it’s going to kill you. You made it through a big chunk of the delay by now. I think you’ve got another 9 days. Here’s hoping they are super duper speedy. We all want you guys ON THAT PLANE heading to Ethiopia!!!

Leave a Reply

