not so wordless wednesday

Wordless Wednesdays are supposed to be for photos that don’t require any explanation, I know. I’m impressed with myself for having done them weekly since our first trip to Ethiopia, only adding the occasional caption. (I am not a woman of few words, as we all know.) I could post this photo without any explanation, because it’s cute and sweet, but I think the explanation makes it even sweeter. So this week you get some words on a Wednesday.

This photo shows Baby K (on the left) and her friend Baby S. I had placed them side by side so I could play with both of them, and they just reached out and grabbed hands for a fleeting moment. I wish it was in better focus – I’ve got some learning to do in terms of photographing mobile subjects! – but it makes my heart melt every time I see it. You see, these two girls have been together essentially all of Baby K’s life. Baby S is a few months older, but they were born in the same town and they stayed at the same orphanage together before being moved (within a couple of weeks of each other) to HH. I love that they have known each other and been together during times of transition.

But the best part is that Baby S just came home, here to the Baltimore area! I have become quite good friends with Baby S’s mom. She and I have so much in common; I’m pretty sure we would have been friends even if we didn’t have these special girls as a common bond. We have commiserated and offered support to one another since we first met in early May, and we have vowed to make sure these girls continue to know each other. These girls will be together again – and again and again. We will make sure of it.Β I see many, many play dates in our future.

 

This entry was posted in baby k, community, ethiopia, friends, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to not so wordless wednesday

  1. Holli says:

    Wow — really glad you said a few words today. What a special, amazing gift these girls will be to each other. And the big girls too; you’ll rely on one another a lot I imagine. Yay!

  2. Brandi says:

    That’s amazing!!! They’ll be little BFFs. πŸ™‚

  3. klarobinson215 says:

    Aww – so sweet! Wonderful that they have an opportunity to grow up being friends πŸ™‚

  4. sue says:

    this is amazing! gives me chills!

  5. Kristin W says:

    That is great that they are close to you. We aren’t close to ANY of the kids that were at HH with either of our kids. UGH! I really need to move to the Northeast!

  6. Kara says:

    sweetest thing ever!

  7. Amy says:

    LOVE. It will be so meaningful to baby K in years to come to have a relationship with someone who “knew” her from her time in Ethiopia. We see this with our children. Even if they dont remember, they will always share this bond πŸ™‚

  8. Barbara says:

    How awesome to be able to continue your girls’ relationships and to become friends in the process. Love it!

  9. Kyra says:

    That is wonderful! What a meaningful relationship they will have growing up.

  10. christine says:

    This is an amazing connection… and simply, a wonderful gift! Love it. (And so glad you shared the words!)

  11. Kelly says:

    This photo is precious and gives me goosebumps. You couldn’t ask for a more special connection and to think they will live so close together. Love this!

Leave a Reply

