recent knitting projects

It’s been ages since I’ve done a post on my knitting projects. I have been knitting, although not a whole lot. Here’s an update!

First and foremost is the baby blanket I started in February 2011. I had decided back then that I wanted to start knitting something for our (as of yet unidentified) baby, and I chose a simple blanket pattern for the project. I picked this up here or there over several months, not ever feeling a real urge to work on it, and at times feeling an outright urge NOT to work on it. Finally, around the beginning of 2012, with perhaps only about 1/4 of it done, I told myself to just finish it already. With somewhat amazing timing, I finished it three days after we got our referral. It was wonderful to knit those final rows knowing exactly who this blanket was for.

This photo also gives a sneak peek of some of the nursery decor!

Lillian Baby Blanket (Ravelry links in this post).

Next up is a gift for the newborn daughter of dear friends. I thought this little guy was pretty cute. This was my first attempt at making a toy and while the process reminded me a lot of knitting socks (which I don’t love), it was a fun project overall.

Blanket Buddy.

I’ve also spent some time knitting these sweaters for two special little Ethiopian-Americans. First up, for a sweet little girl:

Tiny Tea Leaves Cardi (The color does not show here at all – it is actually the same yarn as the green in the elephant above.)

And for a sweet baby boy:

Play Date Hoodie (actually the second one of these I’ve made – it’s a great little pattern).

I have a few new projects lined up, but I’m hoping that I will have zero time for knitting very, very soon.

This entry was posted in baby k, friends, knit. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to recent knitting projects

  1. michelleoryl says:

    Such cute stuff Kelly!

  2. Mary Beth says:

    oh teach me, please!!!

  3. Kim says:

    I LOVE the little sweaters! So sweet. 🙂

  4. Sue says:

    You are so talented. And my Ethiopian American loves her sweater—it fits perfectly!

  5. Amy says:

    You are so talented! Gorgeous blanket and sweaters. Love the elephant blanket too. Such special gifts for some very lucky friends.

  6. Kristin W says:

    So cute! And I love your nursery colors. We have a sitting room off our bedroom that is sage green with a red couch – I love those colors together.

  7. molly says:

    Those are gorgeous! I love the elephant!

  8. Karlie says:

    Love the red hoodie!

  9. sue says:

    wow! i’m always impressed by your knitting skills! beautiful work!

  10. christine says:

    Such great stuff Kelly! I adore that blanket. ADORE. And the timing on finishing it is soooo special.

  11. Kelly says:

    I love the blanket, and I love that when you started it the blanket was for your future baby, but when you finished it the blanket was for Baby K specifically. So special! I love all these amazing projects, Kelly! I wish I had half your knitting talent.

Leave a Reply

