dear baby k

Dear Baby K,

Today you are six months old!

It has been seven weeks since your dad and I saw you and we wonder every day how you are. We know your nannies love you and take wonderful care of you, but we can’t help but be curious. I guess that’s because we’re parents now. We hear that you can now bear some weight on your legs; you must be getting to be so strong! And we know from your medical update that you are getting to be a big girl. You were so little when we first learned about you, but you are growing and growing. Yay!

Did you know that we have been working on getting your room ready for you? So far there is yellow paint on the wall and we have a crib for you to sleep in (eventually), a dresser to hold your clothes, and a chair so we can spend lots of time reading. I can’t wait to read some books with you! We brought a painting home from Ethiopia that we plan to hang on the wall. I just ordered your sheets and curtains, too. We hope you like pink and orange and green.

Two weekends ago some friends of ours threw a party to celebrate you, Baby K! Lots of our friends were there, including some friends about your age, and Grandma and Aunt Chelsea came all the way from Colorado, too. Everyone is so happy and excited that you are coming home soon. They gave us lots of presents, like books, clothes, toys, bath towels, bottles, and so on. And it’s all for you! On the day of the party it was very, very hot, and the party was outside at a park, but everyone still came even though it was so hot and sticky, because they can’t wait to meet you. Your dad and I sure felt loved that day.

Your beagle sisters are getting suspicious about all of this new stuff that’s coming into the house that they’re not allowed to play with. We are giving them extra snuggles while we can, knowing that when you come home we just won’t have quite as much time and energy to devote to them. We know their lives are going to turn upside down, but we also know that they will love having you as their new sister. You will surely win them over by creating big messes of food on the floor that they will be allowed to clean up. Oh, they will love you for that! We think you’ll eventually think they’re pretty awesome, too.

I think about you every single day, Baby K. I miss you so much that sometimes my heart hurts. But I know you are happy and healthy and that your sweet, kind nannies are taking good care of you. I look at your photos every chance I get, and they make me smile. YOU make me smile.

Soon enough we will be back in Ethiopia – I can’t wait! I will give you hugs and kisses and I’ll get to see your beautiful smile. And I will be able to tell you that I love you, over and over and over again.

Love,

Mama

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, motherhood, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to dear baby k

  1. Christine says:

    Oh girl, this gets me right in the heart. This is so hard. But your thoughts are beautiful. I thank the maker that the children at HH are well taken care of, it would be an unbearable burden if there was a moment of worry about their care. Holding you up as high as I can.

  2. Sue says:

    Oh tomorrow is Monday and I am hoping for a date to baby K can be with you guys asap!

  3. Molly says:

    This is beautiful. I can’t wait to hear good news from ET on your case–hoping every day that it comes through. 🙂

  4. Kyra says:

    Sweet, sweet letter. When I was waiting for our boys, I talked to them all the time. It helped release some of the pressure off my chest. Hope you hear news soon.

  5. sue says:

    so sweet. i can’t wait to see the finished room!!! i’m sure baby k will love pink orange and green!

  6. kellycole says:

    Happy 6 months Baby K! Beautiful letter, Kelly. This waiting is torture. She’ll be home soon, though, and you can whisper all these thoughts straight into her little ears as you cradle her in your arms. Can’t wait for that!

  7. Janet says:

    What a beautiful letter, Kelly. You are already such a good Mama. I can feel the love in your words to your sweet girl. Sounds like everyone is eagerly awaiting Baby K’s arrival…even out here in blogworld & cyberspace. And…you are SOOOO right…reading books to your baby in the chair in her room will be some of your favorite moments…they certainly are for me with our boy.

  8. 12450miles says:

    This letter is SOOO beautiful! I can’t wait until she is in your arms! Soon, my friend, soon. (But not soon enough, I know)

Leave a Reply

