in it

This morning we received the email we’ve been waiting for – the email from the U.S. Embassy that said they have our documents and they’re beginning their investigation. What a relief! You have to be in it to win it, as the saying goes, and so I’m really glad that we are now officially in it.

The Embassy will now conduct an investigation into the facts and circumstances surrounding our adoption. They need to determine that Baby K is in fact an orphan as defined by U.S. law before they can issue the visa we need in order to bring her home. Although unlikely, things could still go bad at this point, if the investigation leads to unanswered questions or conflicting information. So, I think we will essentially be holding our collective breath until the Embassy tells us they are done with the investigation and ready to issue her visa. While I felt a huge amount of relief this morning reading that email, I can’t even imagine the relief that I’ll feel then.

Oh, and I learned from this email that I can stop stalking my inbox, because it went to Craig and only Craig (I think he was listed first on our paperwork). So instead of stalking my inbox, I can just ask him 50 times a day if he’s checked his email. Lucky Craig. 🙂

It seems that most families are back in Ethiopia within 4-6 weeks of receiving the initial notice from the Embassy. I have, of course, already consulted the calendar approximately 100 times this morning, and it looks like we will hopefully be back by mid-August. I imagine I will be a bundle of nerves and anxiety as we await word from the Embassy, but for today, at least, I am just so relieved to have made some progress!

 

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to in it

  1. Emily Casper says:

    Yippeee!

  2. Liz says:

    One step at a time – you are almost there!

  3. Holli says:

    I’m relieved too, Kelly! Awesome news!

  4. Molly says:

    One more step!! I can’t believe you might be back in August–it seems so far, and so very close. Hoping for fast news!

  5. Sue says:

    So happy.

  6. sue says:

    so, did you just ask craig to check his email? hee hee! so excited that you are in the final home stretch!!!!

  7. Karlie says:

    Amazing news!!! So happy for you!

  8. 12450miles says:

    WHOOOOOHOOOOOO!!!!!!

  9. Scott Del Pozzo says:

    Congratulations, hopefully you will be back in Addis soon!!! So excited for you both.

  10. Kelly says:

    This is a huge weight lifted off your shoulders, I know. Last big step and she’s YOURS!!! Gosh, how are we all going to wait until mid-August. Come on Embassy!!

  11. Julie says:

    I have been stalking your blog, awaiting this news!!! So thrilled for you and Craig and your little one — she will be HOME SOON!

  12. One step closer to bring baby K home FOREVER!

  13. Krista says:

    Mid August?! That’s just a couple of weeks away!

  14. Janet says:

    Big step forward…here you go!

Leave a Reply

