sigh

We are currently waiting on word from the U.S. Embassy that they’ve received our file. The last couple of groups of travelers have received this word on Monday mornings about 4 weeks after their court date. Since I am grasping onto any piece of information I can about timelines, and since we are now almost 5 weeks out from our court date, for the past week or so I have felt fairly certain that I would have that email in my inbox this morning.

Nope. No email from the Embassy.

I have been trying to prepare myself for the different ways this process could unfold. I know that the Embassy’s investigation process can take varying amounts of time, since each case is different. So I have been telling myself that while it seems to take about a month for most families to clear the Embassy investigation, I know it could well take longer. But I have to admit that I never considered that this phase – the getting ready for the Embassy phase – could take longer than planned.

It’s been a month and two days since our court date. And this has been the longest month and two days of my life. I imagine the next month will feel even longer. I just want to know that something – anything – is happening. Getting the email from the Embassy would be a good step. They can’t approve a file they don’t even have, right? I think there is going to be some serious inbox stalking happening from here on out. The good thing is that with the time change between here and Addis, I know that there’s probably no chance in us getting any communication later than 10 or 11am EST. So at least that means I can somehow try to go on with each day at that point.

Sigh.

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, ethiopia, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to sigh

  1. Holli says:

    Heavy sigh from Boston. And hugs too.

    xoxo

  2. sue says:

    😦 ugh. i really hoped you would hear today. bug hugs. come on embassy!

  3. sue says:

    i mean big hugs 🙂

  4. Molly says:

    Yes, big sighs all around. Wish it was more straightforward. Argh.

  5. The Busters says:

    Sighing here for you too. HOPING you hear something soon!

  6. Karlie says:

    Kelly – I hear ya… BIG sighs all the way around. Fingers crossed you get your embassy date soon.. and fingers crossed we get our court date soon as well 🙂
    I have a feeling this will be a good week!

  7. Brandi says:

    Do I need to have another dream? 😉 I hope they send you info SOON!!!! I can’t wait to hear the news that she’s home and happy!

  8. Christine says:

    Ugh. I’m so sorry. This is the part of the process that NEEDS to fly by! 😦

  9. Jennifer says:

    Yes, this is the worst stage. At least you now hear something. We heard absolutely nothing from the agency until we had the embassy date, and it drove me over the edge, or at least very close. I kept thinking maybe mine never even made it there… ..and I remember watching the clock and getting really depressed each day at 12:00 p.m. if I hadn’t heard. ugh. I figured by then WHFC would have heard and notified us if they received news of an embassy date. Lots of time spent watching the clock from waiting for referral (and thinking about what times and day WHFC was closed), and then to the embassy waiting. Oh well, it won’t be long now.

  10. Shannon says:

    I’m sorry you guys haven’t yet heard anything. 😦 Hang in there.

  11. jmtorlay says:

    What an excruciating wait. Hugs to you from down here too.

  12. christine says:

    I think of you every day. It’s horrid.

  13. Amy says:

    You deserve this email….like, yesterday. Sighing here for you too. Hang in there kiddo. You are almost at the end!!!

  14. kellycole says:

    Sigh. I’m hoping this week leads to an exciting email!! Keep us posted.

  15. tycobeans says:

    For me, waiting between court & embassy was far more difficult than waiting for the refferal!

Leave a Reply

