daughter

We are hers, and she is ours. It’s official.

We have a daughter!

She is perfect. She smiles all of the time and she has squeezable, kissable, chubby cheeks and big, expressive, curious eyes. She has a great little belly, perfect for tickling. She is happy. She is healthy.

She is a delight.

It was an experience of a lifetime. We met our daughter and we explored a tiny bit of Ethiopia. The warmth of the Ethiopian sunshine will follow me forever, I know.

It was amazingly difficult to leave her. But we have seen firsthand the excellent care she is receiving, and we hope to be back soon for our embassy date. It seems that most families with our agency are returning for their embassy dates about eight weeks after their court dates. Eight weeks doesn’t seem all that far off, especially since we have nary a thing in our house for a baby. We’ve got some work to do!

I have many, many thoughts in my head about this experience – and I did keep a journal during our trip – but I’m not sure how or when they’ll find their way into words here. But they will. Stay tuned.

 

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, ethiopia, family, life, motherhood, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to daughter

  1. Liz says:

    Congratulations!

  2. kwatkinsinfl says:

    Congrats on passing court. I know leaving her behind was hard…I was a total basket case. I can’t wait to hear more about your trip, and especially news of an Embassy date.

  3. Nikki and I just want to say congratulations!!! We are leaving on Tuesday for Addis and have our Court Date on Friday June 1st. Don’t know if we will see you there or not….

  4. Barbara says:

    I can only imagine that she is beautiful. Crossing my fingers for 8 weeks or less. So exciting!!

  5. Congratulations! We’ve seen in our house how quickly time flies by when a baby is coming and you have nothing for a baby. I’m sure that you will be headed back to Ethiopia for your sweet baby before you know it!

  6. Holli says:

    Tears of joy over here for you three! Can’t wait to hear more, when you are ready. CONGRATULATIONS!

    xoxo

  7. kellycole says:

    I love that I can finally hear 100% joy in your voice about this journey. Until now, you’ve always sounded (very understandably) a bit guarded about the outcome. It sounds like something clicked for you, and that’s wonderful! 8 weeks is nothing. You have lots to do before you return for your daughter!!! Now get nesting!!

  8. My heart is so incredibly happy for you both. I’m hoping those eight weeks FLY by and you’ll have your daughter forever, before you know it. Absolutely cannot wait to see photos of your sweet family together!

  9. molly says:

    Oh my goooosh!!!!! This is so exciting!!! Congratulations!!!

  10. sue says:

    i have chills! i’m sure the busyness of getting ready for baby k will help the next 8 weeks to go fast!!! i’m so happy that it is finally time. it is finally your turn. i cannot wait to to see her in your arms forever!!!!

  11. Alan and Lindy says:

    Woot! Baby shower time?

  12. Melissa says:

    Congratulations!!!!

  13. Janet says:

    I can hear and feel the joy in you. Your words are full of love and happiness. Have fun the next 8 weeks filling your home with fun and essential things for Baby K. I cannot wait to see what you create as you prepare for her arrival.

    I’m glad you had a wonderful trip. I’m over the moon happy for you.

  14. The Busters says:

    I am so happy you guys had such a wonderful trip and the Ethiopian side of things is complete!!! Sending lots of good thoughts for a speedy Embassy!!

  15. Karlie says:

    I loved reading this post. SO VERY HAPPY FOR YOU! Amazing.

  16. Christine K says:

    Congrats!!! This is such amazing and happy news! I cannot wait to see this precious girl in your arms!

  17. Krista says:

    Now this is a wonderful blog post to read! She’s yours!! And you are hers. Love.

  18. Theresa says:

    I am so happy for you and excited that your first trip went well. You deserve every happiness.

  19. Christine says:

    I love love love this post. Just seeing it makes my heart swell. I hope these upcoming weeks fly by… because pretty soon life is going to get all sorts of good-crazy!

Leave a Reply

