and we’re off!

We leave in the morning! I can hardly believe it. If only my laundry were finished, I’d be pretty much ready to go.

I’m not sure how I feel right now. Happy and excited, for sure, but I can also say that this past week has been filled with more anxiety than I’ve ever experienced before. I had a bit of a meltdown on Sunday, after my brother’s wedding (which deserves more attention than I can give at the moment – it was truly lovely). I think I had had all of my energy focused on that event, and once it was over, it hit me: We are going to meet our daughter. It was the first time I let myself think beyond the logistics of the trip. I wondered what it would be like to finally meet her, the child we’ve been wanting for so long. And what it will be like to have to leave her behind after spending a week with her. Big thoughts.

I’ve got my packing list and a giant pile of donations pulled together. Now it’s a matter of getting it all into 4 bags weighing less than 50 pounds each, which is going to be a challenge. But we’ll make it work. We’ll have everything packed up tonight, save for our toiletries and our electronics. I suppose I should get off my computer and get moving on this, since we’re leaving our house in 9 hours…

Our internet access will be limited while we’re away, but I’ll post here if I can. You may well have to wait until we’re back, though. The main event – our court date – is on the 23rd. Please send good thoughts our way that day!

 

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, ethiopia, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to and we’re off!

  1. inventingliz says:

    Have a wonderful trip, and I hope everything goes smoothly on the 23rd!

  2. Sue says:

    Enjoy every moment of Ethiopian’s sun shining down on you.

  3. jcmarie says:

    Kelly…finally.

  4. Doug says:

    Hope you both savor every minute. You’ve earned it. Can’t wait to hear how it all goes and, of course, see pics.

  5. Barbara says:

    Bon voyage! Hope that your plane rides are fast and uneventful and that your time with your daughter is amazing. We’ll definitely pray for an easy court appearance.

  6. Beth Stewart says:

    Congratulations and best wishes. Thinking of you both!

  7. michelleoryl says:

    Oh Kelly, I read this with such joy. FINALLY, it is your turn. Savor every.single.second. mama! It’s yours, embrace it. Sending positive vibes your way!

  8. kellycole says:

    We’ll be thinking about you the WHOLE time, and especially on the 23rd! Life is about to get very interesting, my friend. Good luck & safe travels!!!

  9. Jennifer says:

    Exciting… But I thought about you stating you wondered what it would be like to leave her…ugh.. I will be thinking of you.. Hope you do better than I did…..

  10. Kim says:

    Have a great tip! Just as everyone has said….enjoy every minute. Take in everything you can about the beautiful country. Don’t worry about posting. We’ll all be here when you get back. šŸ™‚ Just ENJOY!

  11. Kelly, I’m beyond thrilled for you both! Thinking of you and sending you all the happiness and love I can. So exciting!!!

  12. molly says:

    Thinking of all three of you! Wishing you safe travels! Cant wait for updates

  13. The Busters says:

    Safe travels!! Can’t wait to hear all about it! Sending good thoughts for the 23rd!!!

  14. Janet says:

    I am so excited that you are there now. I am so excited for you to meet your daughter…goosebumps. Cannot wait to hear ALLLLLL about it (please). Hugs!

  15. Sandra says:

    I hope you are having the time of your life. There is nothing like meeting your child for the first time.

  16. Kyra says:

    Have an amazing trip! I’m so glad things are going smoothly!

  17. Karlie says:

    Kelly – Your’re already in Ethiopia now. How AMAZING! I’ll be thinkking of you on the 23rd. We actually just had our travel call — and it’s so exciting that court dates are coming so quickly. I hope you have a wonderful trip. Can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back!!!

  18. 12450miles says:

    I’ve been thinking of you guys NON STOP!!! EEEEEKKKK!!! It’s happening!!!!

  19. klarobinson215 says:

    Thinking of you guys!!! Finally!!

Leave a Reply

