on our way

Tonight’s conversation with Baby K’s photo on the refrigerator door went a little like this:

“Baby K, we are coming to see you! We will be there in just a couple of weeks! We are on our way!”

Funny, she didn’t say anything back. But I like to think that she smiled and cooed and reached out her arms out to me. (We’re told she does those things.) Yes, I not only talk to her photo, but I imagine her part of our conversations.

We have a court date – May 23rd!!!

I just booked our flights and we leave on May 19th. That is only about two weeks away! Between now and then we have a party to host this weekend, a dissertation proposal to finalize (Craig), a presentation to prepare and present at a national conference including a 3-day trip (me), a 5-day trip to Colorado for my brother’s wedding, and approximately five million other things to do. Somehow, though, tonight I’ve decided the most important thing to do (after blogging, of course) is to plant flowers in the pots on our front porch. (This was my plan before we got the news, and my obsessive-compulsive Type A personality insists that it’s still the plan.)

The time between now and then is going to fly by, and before we know it, we will be on our way to meet our girl. I can’t wait!

This entry was posted in adoption, baby k, ethiopia, travel, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to on our way

  1. 12450miles says:

    WHOOOOOHOOOOOO!!!!! That’s SO exciting!!! And so close!!! EEEK!!!

    I have goosebumps just thinking about it… I’m so happy for you!

    {You know what else is the 23rd?! My birthday. See, good things happen on that day! 😉 }

  2. jmtorlay says:

    YAAAAAAYYYYYYYY!!!! I’m so excited for you!!! Two weeks??!!! Can you believe it? Like Christine I am a May birthday and Mason came home in May. Good vibes for May 🙂

  3. Sue says:

    Whoa, that’s a jammed pack few weeks, but it will make things fly by until you head off to meet your beautiful little baby girl…FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So happy for you.

  4. Kim says:

    Congrats! Such great news. Enjoy the preparations. 🙂

  5. Barbara says:

    Congratulations!! What a busy time for you. I’m sure the two weeks will fly by!

  6. Rain Woman says:

    This is so exciting!!! What a crazy time! Good luck with your preparations!

  7. inventingliz says:

    I’m not sure you have enough days in there for everything! Have a wonderful trip!

  8. Molly says:

    Awesome news!!! How are you going to get it all done? 🙂
    Can’t wait for you to meet your little girl!!

  9. The Busters says:

    YAY!!!!!!!!! You guys are crazy busy but I think you are right that the time will FLY! Get on that plane and go kiss and hug baby K!!!!! So happy for you guys!!

  10. jontinter says:

    congrats! awesome news. can’t wait to see pictures of you with her

  11. kwatkinsinfl says:

    Good to stay busy while waiting to go, but you may be pushing it a little! Hope it flies by, because while I know those other things are important, the most important thing is waiting for you there.

  12. Emily Casper says:

    🙂

  13. Jennifer says:

    Too bad some of that stuff isn’t after court. THAT is the really hard wait.

  14. Karlie says:

    Amazing news !!! So happy you have a date to meet your girl 😉

  15. At least you can say the next two weeks really will fly by! You are an amazing woman and will be an even more amazing mom to baby K. I can’t wait for you to meet her, hold her, and for you to tell us all about her. Congratulations and safe travels!!

  16. christinek0409 says:

    Wow!!! This is such exciting news! I can’t believe you’ll be meeting Baby K in a matter of weeks!

  17. Mary Beth says:

    So, so, so happy for you both, beyond measure!

  18. sue says:

    i am ridiculously giddy over this news!!!! it’s so very close now! and you have so much to keep you busy while you wait. big hugs from illinois! now go and meet that girl of yours!!!!

  19. Kelly says:

    11 days until you board that plane!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Sorry, I can hardly contain my excitement.
    I am a little overwhelmed by all the stuff that’s going to happen between now and then but you can do it and once you are sitting on the plane pointed toward Africa, you can relax and think about your beautiful daughter waiting for you there. Yippeeeeee!!!!

Leave a Reply

