to do

Within days of learning about Baby K, I started to generate a mental list of things we needed to do. (Said list has since made its way to an electronic form.) We had/have a lot of household projects, spring yard work, yet more adoption paper work, research and planning for our first trip, planning for my brother’s wedding, and a host of other things to do. Much of this isn’t at all related to the adoption; it’s just regular stuff that all of a sudden feels more urgent. At this point, I’m not even thinking about the preparation for bringing a baby into our home. We have several months to go before she will (hopefully) come home, and to be honest, I’m a bit superstitious and I don’t want to get set up for her just yet. Things like car seats and cribs and strollers can wait, although we have been having a lot of fun with the gifts we have received. There is certainly some pink cuteness in our house now!

First on my list, though, was rescheduling a surgery I had scheduled for mid-April. With a six-week recovery time, that was just too close to the beginning of our travel window. Thankfully my doctor was able to move it up a few weeks, so I’m headed in for surgery this Friday. This should mean that I’ll be ready to go come May.

The surgery is to remove a uterine fibroid that has grown to be very large (the radiologist used the very clinical term “huge” on the MRI report) and has been causing me a lot of problems, ranging from making my cycles really unpleasant to causing symptoms by crowding and pressing on my bladder and colon. I also had several days in January where I had some mysterious abdominal pain that nobody could quite figure out, but now it seems that it was the fibroid, which the MRI showed is actually starting to decompose. (Gross!) I’ve known it was there ever since fertility work-ups several years ago, but at that time it was half the size and not causing me any problems. I’m excited to be getting rid of this sucker, but I’m also starting to get a little bit nervous about the surgery. The procedure will be similar to a C-section, with an ย incision at the bikini line (although not actually cutting into the uterus, since the fibroid is attached to the outside of it), so it’s not a minor outpatient procedure like other surgeries I’ve had. I will spend probably two nights in the hospital, my first since a one-night stay at age 8. I keep telling myself that women have C-sections all the time and then go home to take care of newborns, and I’ll just have myself to take care of, with ample time to rest and recuperate. So I will be fine.

Yes, the irony that I’m sort of having a C-section that will not be resulting in the birth of a baby is much lessened now that I know about Baby K!

With the surgery moved up, the past several days have been a whirlwind of activity on that to-do list. We made yet another visit to the notary and sent off our I-600 and other immigration-related papers for the adoption. I organized and relocated my yarn stash. (And interestingly enough, instead of getting rid of some of it as I had planned, I actually bought more yarn. Hmm.) We straightened out the attic closet and made room for a bunch of stuff from last fall’s closet reorganization project that was somehow still piled up in my office, the room that will soon have a new purpose. We did some spring yard work. I donated a trunk load of items to charity. We took a four-hour digital photography class (I signed us up a couple of months ago) – it was good. I bought a new vacuum and then steam cleaned the living room rug after marveling at the amount of dog hair and dirt the new vacuum pulled out of it. ย I did our taxes. We got Craig a new suit. I re-potted houseplants. We finally got our basement 100% put back together, six months after the hurricane. We have a huge pile of random electronics that need to be recycled. Beatrice had a visit to the vet. I bought new pajamas. And we also squeezed in some fun, too. I was so tired at the end of this last weekend that I ached from head to toe. While this is only a dent in the master list of things we need to do, I’m glad to have gotten this bit out of the way before I’m forced into some down time.

The next couple of days should go by quickly. I’m hosting my book club tomorrow, so I’ve got some menu planning, shopping, and cleaning up to do in preparation, plus some chores to do prior to my mom coming to visit (to keep me company and help out after the surgery). For my recovery,ย I’ve saved up a bunch of TV shows to watch, I’ve acquired the 2nd book of this book series (and requested the 3rd from the library), and I’ve got two knitting projects started, so I think I am set to be entertained for a while. I also plan to do things like read up on Ethiopia and think about what we might want to do/where we might want to go on our first trip. I’ve got two weeks clear on my work calendar, although I’m hoping to do some work from home during the second week to minimize the time off and to give me something a bit more productive to do. So, I think I’m ready. Now we just need to get to it, already.

Positive vibes on Friday would be very much appreciated!

This entry was posted in baby k, home, me. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to to do

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thinking of you. The great thing is that dreaded events always seem less so when you have something positive to focus on in life. Just keep thinking about Baby K. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Barbara says:

    You have been very productive!! Best wishes for the surgery. My sister had the exact surgery, a laparotomy, to remove a uterine fibroid almost 7 years ago. The scar was hardly visible after healing. Take care of yourself and don’t go back to work too quickly. Rest is healing.

  3. Sue says:

    Whoa. You have been quite busy and quite productive! I am feeling quite the slacker esp since we have so much to do as well and I’ve been paralyzed with inaction around it….not sure what that means, other than I’m lazy ;). I am sending you positive vibes for sure and a little package in the mail-excuse the t-shirt used as safe wrapping..

  4. Dana says:

    I’ll be thinking of you on Friday! Hoping all goes better then expected and you have a smooth easy recovery!! Yay for getting things done and checked off the list! Doesn’t it feel good? I feel like we’ve accomplished more this month then all the other months waiting! ha!

  5. Holli says:

    All best wishes for a smooth surgery and quick recovery. I’ll be thinking of you and sending positive vibes.

    xoxo

  6. Brandi says:

    As a person that has had 3 c-sections I can say it’s rough, but you will get through it. My advise? MOVE as much as possible! It will hurt, but my recoveries were much quicker because I refused to just sit and pretend I was half dead. ๐Ÿ™‚ At the same time, don’t push it. If you’re sore, then rest.

    Sounds like you’re “nesting” to me!

  7. Alan says:

    Happy thoughts! I remember the lists well…

  8. leigh says:

    You are in full nesting mode! So cute. Good luck with your surgery. I’m sure you will feel better after it is taken care of.

  9. Molly says:

    Oh, goodness! In the middle of it all…surgery? I’m so sorry! Sending lots of positive thoughts your way. I’m a big list person as well, it feels so good to cross things off. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Emily B. says:

    Sending you lots of positive thoughts for Friday!
    I am super impressed with all you are getting accomplished! I got tired just reading it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Emily Casper says:

    Will be sending good thoughts your way on Friday! Ask your doc for this girdle like thingamabob they give c-section patients – which I’m sure they give out for other abdominal surgeries as well. It wraps around your mid-section at your incision and was a godsend! And I agree with Brandi above, moving will help the recovery, but don’t overdo it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love how much you accomplished….oh the days….now I’m pretty proud of myself if I get the 20 loads of laundry done….your day is coming….and it’s going to be great! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. kellycole says:

    You have a LOT to do, yes, but you’ve accomplished so much already! What a crazy productive weekend you guys had. I’m not surprised you were sore afterwards ๐Ÿ™‚ You know we’ll all be thinking happy, healing thoughts for you on Friday. You can soak up the nice drugs they give you and dream about Baby K waiting for you.

  13. Sandra says:

    You’ve been crazy busy!
    Good luck on Friday. Hopefully the recovery will be quick.

  14. Janet says:

    Sounds like a perfect excuse to watch basketball all weekend! I did last weekend and I didnt even have surgery. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Janet says:

    P.S. Good Luck Friday!

  16. Jenny says:

    hope all went well today! i have a friend who just had this exact same thing done… she said recovery was better than she thought it’d be. hope that’s the case for you too! it’s much more fun doing stuff now, huh?!

  17. 12450miles says:

    Holy cow!!! You have been BUSY!!! I’m so impressed with how much you got done in one weekend! That is AWESOME. (By now you’ve gone through surgery with flying colors… keep on healing!)

Leave a Reply

