28 = joy

I might have to wait, I’ll never give up
I guess it’s half timing, and the other half’s luck
Wherever you are, whenever it’s right
You’ll come out of nowhere and into my life

Wednesday marked 28 months on the wait list. It also marked another momentous occasion in this long adoption process; it marked the day we got The Call.

With joyful hearts, Craig and I are delighted to announce that we have accepted the referral of a baby girl! That’s right, IT’S A GIRL!!!

She is a tiny little thing, only 7 weeks old. Yes, I said WEEKS! And here we were preparing for a toddler. 🙂 She is beautiful, but you’ll have to trust me on that because we are not allowed to post photos on the internet until we get through the court process. I am also not sure if I can share her name here or not. If I learn that I can, I will do so. It is a beautiful and meaningful name.

We are happy. We are overwhelmed. We are feeling very loved and supported. We are feeling all sorts of things – for her, and for us.

More coming soon, I promise! We are busy telling people this happy news. Let me tell you, THIS part of this long process is a lot of fun!

This entry was posted in adoption, baby, ethiopia, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to 28 = joy

  1. Julie Corby says:

    So happy for you guys! Congratulations!!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Congrats! What region?

  3. Doug says:

    Yay, congrats! So unbelievably happy for you guys. I can’t wait to follow along this next phase of your journey.

  4. Amy says:

    When I saw your post on FB, I knew I had to check your blog too! Every time I check “blogs I follow,” I hope to see an update from you (and that it wouldn’t be “29 months and STILL waiting”). I can’t even begin to imagine the joy that you and Craig are feeling after such a long journey to get where you are today. I will remain optimistic that you will bringing home your sweet pea before the fall :). I can’t wait to see her picture and to continue following you on this beautiful journey to mommyhood!! Congratulations!!

  5. Hello baby girl!! Over the moon, around the sun, joyful for you!!!

  6. Kyra says:

    How wonderful that the call came on a “monthaversary,” turning what could have been a downer of a day into one you will never, ever forget! I’m so glad for you. Where is baby girl from? I hope everything goes smoothly for you from here on out.

  7. Laurie says:

    Congratulations!! Light at the end of the tunnel. I’m so excited for you 🙂

  8. Meg B says:

    Yes, it’s a whole new ballgame this side of the wait =)I’m so happy for you!

  9. Theresa says:

    I was thinking about you the other day and wondering if you had heard anything. This is the MOST INCREDIBLE NEWS!!! I am so happy for you! After such a long “pregnancy” I’m hoping everything else goes quickly and smoothly for you. Wow Wow Wow – it’s times like this that make me believe again. 🙂

  10. christine says:

    I’m SO EXCITED for you and Craig!!! Words can’t even describe how excited. I’m simultaneously shaking and crying for you. Doug looked over at me as I was sipping my coffee, trying desperately to wake up, and said “Have you seen Kelly’s blog?!” And I knew. I knew! It was all I could do to put my coffee down without dropping it. 🙂

    I love that it happened on your month-versary! I love that it happened the day before Leap Day. I cannot wait to hear the whole story! (You know, about the call.)

    Mostly… I am in shock and awe that you were referred a 7 WEEK old baby GIRL!!! It’s all so perfect. Perfect!!! The only thing that could make it more perfect is being closer so I could hug you two in person!! I’m seriously looking forward to following you guys over the next months as you get closer and closer to bringing your daughter home!

  11. Kelly says:

    SO exciting!!! Congratulations on your daughter!!

  12. Gwen says:

    Congrats!! I am so happy for you!!!!

  13. What wonderful news!!! 7 weeks wow! Just a little gal! Congrads!!!

  14. Yahoooooooo! Oh Kelly, I am so incredibly happy for your family! Your time has come; enjoy every single moment. Love to you both!

  15. Kori says:

    Tears of joy for you here from all of Team Lusignan. A baby girl!! What could be better? NOTHING.

  16. Sue says:

    I just came back from Old Navy shopping for girl clothes..Oh my so much different than shopping for boy clothes…so much fun ahead of you!!! A friend of mine who lived in Africa for years said to me the other day which made me tear up….”Your daughter will go to school. Your daughter will go to school.” And yours will too.

    28, Amen, play that in the lottery!

  17. sue says:

    kelly! i have just been all smiles since i first heard your wonderful news! you are a momma!!!!! i don’t think i have been more excited for a referral [except for my own :)]!!!! you and craig are going to be wonderful parents to this beautiful little girl! i can’t wait to hear about “the call” and i’m so excited that you can start planning for *your* daughter!!!!!!

  18. LeahLeah says:

    Just saw your news on facebook, so had to pop over here right away to get further details. 7 weeks! Oh boy! This is all so exciting, and I’m so happy that you got the call. Hope you are enjoying putting a face with the girl who will become your daughter. Amazing. 🙂

  19. Sandra says:

    Oh Kelly, I have tears in my eyes. Congratulations, mama! You have a daughter! How amazing! Enjoy all the preparations for your girl to come home. I hope time flies by.

  20. Evelyn says:

    I knew it! Amazing! So excited for you! 7 weeks!!??? That is sooo cool. You will get to enjoy her babyness so much! This makes me so happy, Kelly!

  21. leigh says:

    Finally, finally, finally! So happy for you and your husband. I’ve been wondering when you would get the call. Was it amazing or what?

  22. Kala says:

    Ahhhhhh!!!!!!! Nothing but pure joy for you both. You have waited so long! So happy for you! Can’t wait to follow you through this journey!

  23. Barbara says:

    Can’t wait to learn more about your daughter. When is her birthday?

  24. Joanna says:

    I am so absolutely thrilled for you guys!!! After the incredible long journey to become a parent…I know you feel that she was completely worth the wait. A very heartfelt Congratulations!!!!

  25. Sarah B says:

    Kelly, I’m so, so, so happy and excited for you! It is time. This made my day when I saw your status update on Facebook. What a wonderful milestone to finally, finally hit. Can’t wait to hear more as your story of a family of three unfolds.

  26. Kelly says:

    Kelly, I’m still not over the excitement of your news! I feel like the universe has been righted. Finally. Your wait was longer than most and now you know – it was all worth it. Something you will *deifnitely* know when she is in your arms in a few months. Like Sue said above, I don’t think I could be more happy about a referral (except possibly my own — and even then, it’s close!). We are over the moon that you and Craig are going to be parents to this beautiful little girl. Congratulations again … and now I’m off to read more about how it all went down 🙂 And THEN I’m off to the post office to mail a little something to the East Coast …

  27. karlie says:

    Amazing, Amazing AMAZING news. I am so happy for you and your husband!!!!

  28. ellen says:

    Sheesh, Kelly. You’ve got me going again. I swear, I’ve cried more happy tears over your referral than I did over my own! 🙂 I love this story so much. I cannot wait to toast to your daughter on Saturday!

  29. Sara says:

    I have been “stalking” you (I’m a China AP, my friend is a Korea AP who linked to you) and I am SO OVER THE MOON that you got a referral! For a tiny itty bitty girl! Congrats!! She is SOO worth the wait, trust me!

  30. Christine K says:

    Yay yay yay!!! Congratulations on your referral! I am thrilled for you both, and what a surprise to be referred a little baby girl! I cannot wait to learn more about her, and of course, see her in your arms! What a joyful time!!

  31. klarobinson215 says:

    Oh wow – you are going to be an amazing mamma!!

  32. Janet says:

    Yes, yes, yes, yes, YESSSSSS! I am still over the top happy for you and Craig. You deserve this amazing and good news more than anyone I know. A girl!??!!?!!!! That is fabulous! Pink, pink, pink. Like I said on FB…so many cute (!!) things to knit in pink. Congratulations, Kelly. Seriously…the best news in a very, very long time. Soooo happy for you.

Leave a Reply

