27

Today marks 27 months of waiting.

I didn’t mean to be post-less since my post on 26 months. [What the heck did WordPress do in the past month – it is all different?!] It just happened that way. No worries, though. I have not been curled up in the fetal position for the past month. I’ve actually been doing pretty well, waiting-wise. I’ve had some hopefully temporary health issues (I will survive, for sure!) and a fair amount of unpleasant work stuff to distract me for most of the month. I had also written January off from the start of the month; something in me just knew that it would not be the month for our referral. Referrals in our age range haven’t come in consecutive months in well over a year, and the last ones were just before Christmas. Not that there’s any rhyme or reason to that, but I guess I’m holding on to any actual data I can at this point. Frankly, it was also an utter relief to get through the holidays and have them behind us. So the month of January actually went by fairly quickly in terms of The Wait.

In other news, like many I vowed to make some changes in the new year. They’re not resolutions, per se, but just things I’ve been thinking about and I needed the motivation of a clean slate to follow through. I’m working on eating better and drinking more water, and I’ve upped my exercise routine. I’m training to run my first 10k this spring and I finally got up the courage to go to a yoga class at my gym (and I’m loving it, even though the class starts at 5:45am). I’m also making some other self-improvements, like following a better skin care routine. I’m tired of being a 30-something woman with the skin of a teenager. And, I scheduled my first GYN exam in three years, after being emotionally paralyzed from past trauma in that general department. In short, I’m trying to spend some time taking better care of myself, before I permanently shift my focus to taking care of my child.

In the past couple of weeks there have been some really exciting developments for some of my adoption friends. This wonderful woman, who along with this wonderful woman has become a great support system to me in recent times as we all approached late stage waiting, was matched with a beautiful daughter! And another wonderful friend I’ve made throughout this all was matched with a daughter as well, through the foster care system! And these wonderful friends we met through the Ethiopia program are leaving tomorrow to meet and bring home their daughter from China! While I have found the online community to be invaluable in terms of information and support, I have to say that this is my favorite part of building relationships with others going through this process: the joyful part. I am so happy for these friends, and it certainly helps boosts my spirits when I can share in the joy others are experiencing. I cannot wait to hear and see more from these friends with their new daughters. 

So, at 27 months, Craig and I continue on. Perhaps February is our month. Perhaps it isn’t. I’m not going to lie; of course our adoption is still foremost on my mind most days. Right now, though, it’s not all-consuming for me. It’s quite lovely to not feel like a crazy woman all of the time. However, I reserve all rights to return to cray-cray status at any given moment. 🙂

This entry was posted in uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 27

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m so glad you posted, I was wondering about you (you’ve been quiet on FB, too). So happy to hear you are taking time to take care of yourself, and all in all, are doing well.

  2. Sue says:

    I don’t like seeing the title of your post as 27! But I am still hopeful that we will take at least one trip together to Ethiopia which is why I’m chanting right now –Come on February. Come on. I want to travel with you and Mother Paradox sooooooooooo bad. You sound in a really good place right on the roller coaster ride.

  3. Kim says:

    Oh, how beautiful the news will be when it arrives. I haven’t commented here before, but I wanted to let you know that so many of us “get” the waiting. We actually will be receiving boys from the “waiting children” list, but now that we’ve been to court and didn’t immediately pass, we’re entering a new chapter of waiting. *sigh* I can’t even imagine what it will be like for all of us when we finally bring our children HOME.

  4. Kristin says:

    You are so right that your blog friends help get you through. I don’t know what I’d do without the people I met online through this process. There’s a part of it that’s tough, though, because while you are certainly excited when friends receive referrals, pass court, come home, it’s always a little bittersweet because you are still waiting. I know.

  5. Good for you for taking care of #1! A yoga class at 5:45? You are awesome. I hope the training for 10K goes well. That’s a good distance to train for. I’m glad to hear you are doing alright and hanging in there. I can’t wait until we are celebrating YOUR news. I

  6. Molly says:

    A 10K? Amazing–I definitely coiuldn’t do that. Thinking of you a lot and hoping for news, soon. In the meantime, seems like you are doing all the right things.

    • Kelly says:

      I am not so sure I can do it, either, Molly! But I am going to take as long as I need for the training and see how it goes. (We all know I have time on my hands right now.) I needed the boost of an extra challenge to mix up my exercise routine.

  7. Alan says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Kelly! We are glad to be part of your circle, and we wish you well with your training. You can do it…

  8. Joanna says:

    I think about you all the time and hope February is your month!! I’m glad you’re at a peaceful place. Come on Feb!

  9. Evelyn says:

    You amaze me, Kelly. I keep looking at the WH Yahoo group and thinking of you and Christine! It has to be close.

  10. Sandra says:

    I am so glad you are in a fairly good place as far as the wait goes. Still – COME ON FEBRUARY!

  11. Karlie says:

    I’ve been thinking about you and how you’re doing. On a positive note, WHFC had 8 referrals in Jan., so it looks like things are moving along a bit better. Fingers crossed for you — hoping a referral comes your way very soon!

  12. christine says:

    I can attest to the fact that you are not in the fetal position cause I see all your awesome work out stats! You have been an inspiration to me in that department… I really hope you know that! You’re also an inspiration in patience… but I’m ready for your news!!!!! 🙂

  13. Jaclyn says:

    I agree, you are an inspiration! A 10k and a 5:45am yoga class. wow.
    I hate to see the title of your post but am so glad that you are keeping busy and taking care of yourself. (I just recently went back to gyn after a 3 year hiatus too. It was nice to be there for something routine and not utterly depressing)
    Hoping, wishing, pleading etc. that February is your month.

  14. Janet says:

    I love all you are doing for YOU…and am inspired to keep on with my renewal into the exercise world when I see others doing it too. I love seeing what you are up to in terms of your running and I was so thrilled that you started with yoga. (Don’t you love it?!) I really hope February is your month, but I’m glad you are in a fairly decent place right now…I think of you all the time.

  15. Julie says:

    Kelly,

    We met at the shower for Lindy and Alan — just wanted to let you know I’m thinking of you and sending hopes and prayers your way.

    Julie

  16. Kelly, I really think that everything happens for a reason and honestly believe that all this wait is for not. You are taking control of your health and getting YOU to the best place possible before your child arrives. You have to take control of your own life and you are def grabbing the bull by the horns girl! Both you and our other online bloggie friends have got me off my butt as well although with Colin home with me every day, it is very, very hard to find the time for myself but I am trying my hardest to take care of me also. Keep it up girl!

  17. Emily B. says:

    Stopping by to let you know that I am thinking of you. I really hope that phone rings soon! And go you for all the self improvements!

  18. Kelly says:

    I think about you all the time and will be filled with joy on the day you hear good news. In the meantime, you’ve been an inspiration to me in trying to get off my butt and exercise on a regular basis. I’m so glad you’re in my life.

  19. Evelyn says:

    I have a feeling your next post will be very exciting!

  20. Sandra says:

    Just wanted to say I am thinking about you.

  21. Shannon says:

    Hi Kelly! I just linked to your blog from Theresa’s because I saw you are in Baltimore. I’m right up the 83 in York! We are also adopting from ET. We have officially been waiting for 16 months.

Leave a Reply

