26

Today marks 26 months of waiting.

It’s amazing how reaching a milestone like this can put me in a funk. We had a nice Christmas (although it certainly wasn’t the one I truly wanted), we enjoyed time with my family, and I’ve had a good week. We had fun celebrating a friend’s birthday last night. But today my mood is in the toilet.

It doesn’t help that it is the end of the year. I cannot believe that I am once again saying to myself, “Next year will be better. Next year will be THE year.” I’ve been saying that at the end of every year since 2005; that’s the year we started on this family-building journey.

I’ve been through enough of these milestones, though, to know that the funk passes. Our plans for a fun New Year’s Eve celebration with friends will certainly help.

Bring it on, 2012. I am ready.

This entry was posted in adoption, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 26

  1. Jennyy says:

    honestly, this is outrageous! i know “it will all be worth it” but man… how are you not on the phone with them every day? lol. i hate this wait you’re having! i cannot wait to finally see your kiddo in your arms!!!!

  2. Sue says:

    Yup, bring on 2012! Has to be the year.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I am a betting person on 2012. It said the longest someone was waiting in that range without a referral is 26 months. Unless that number goes to 27 months, celebrate. Seriously!

  4. karlie says:

    2012 is definitely your year!! Keep the faith (even though it’s incredibly hard). In the meantime… have a great time ringing in the New Year!

  5. kwatkinsinfl says:

    Don’t know what I can say to make the waiting any better. It sucks. Bad.

  6. Jaclyn says:

    I really hate how this year ended for you. I know/plead/pray/hope 2012 is the year. That said this just plain stinks and you have every right to be in a funk.
    Do try and enjoy your weekend and I am feeling good vibes on month 27!

  7. Amy says:

    Oh Kelly, I think about you all of the time. Each time my yahoo in-box has messages, I think “maybe today’s her day.” I know it feels like your day may never come, it will. And I know it’s hard to believe now, but once you hold your child in your arms, all of the pain will subside and s/he is all that will matter. I know 2012 will bring you and Craig a lot of happiness.

  8. colleen says:

    i wish i could just give you the biggest hug right now, kelly. thinking of you all the time and i just know that 2012 is going to be a year filled with all sorts of joy….you sooo deserve it!

  9. Dana says:

    Ugh!! I can’t imagine waiting as long as you have for your child’s picture!! I’m so sorry you have to say goodbye to yet another year with a feeling of “will this be the year?” I’ve had that same feeling and it sucks. Disappointment is the worst and feeling like there is no end in sight. I’m praying 2012 is the most glorious year for you and your husband! I can’t wait to see the words…Referral!! I’ve been told that good things happen in even numbered years…at least I’m praying they do!! Hang in there Kelly!! Thinking of you!

  10. sue says:

    honestly i was sure you would have heard something by now. i was so sure you were going to get it while we were away and that i would miss it – i nearly asked a few of our mutual friends to let me know when you got it! it’s time for you to see your child’s face. it’s.time. and i.can’t.wait.

  11. Molly says:

    I (along with everyone else, I’m sure) was really, really hoping you’d hear something amazing by the end of the year. 2012 has good things in store, though–it just has to! Thinking of you and hoping the funk passes quickly.

  12. Rain Woman says:

    2012 will be your year! And some child will be incredibly lucky to have you both as parents!!!

  13. Kala says:

    2012 is here. Can’t wait to see the referral post from you!!!

  14. Kelly says:

    Something about your blog header photo just struck me. It’s certainly appropriate for your long, long journey. But in this photo, at the end of this road, I see a figure. It’s your child! S/he’s there! You will meet each other very soon and finally see that beautiful face. And when you do, you’ll know why it had to take 26+ months. Because THAT was the child meant for you. And you’ll say to yourself, “for *this* child, I would have gladly waited that long.”

  15. I love what Kelly said just before me. And 2012 is the year. I pray that it happens soon soon soon.

  16. Zoe says:

    Right behind you, girl. I love all the support you have here — cheerleaders who’ll be celebrating big time when the day finally comes.

  17. christine says:

    Like all the others have said… this is YOUR year! And it’s going to be off the charts amazing!!!

  18. Emily B. says:

    I love all the above comments!!! This HAS to be the year!!! Thinking of you and sending love!!!

  19. Julia Leinen says:

    2012 is going to be YOUR YEAR! get ready! can’t wait to see that post from you!!!

  20. Evelyn says:

    I’m on the edge of my seat to hear news!

Leave a Reply

