in the zone

Today marks 22 months on the wait list. I’m feeling like this is a pretty significant milestone, because for the first time in this entire process, we are now actually within our agency’s estimated wait range for a referral, which is presently 22-28 months for a child 0-18 months old.

In addition to looking at the estimated wait range, I also think it is very important to watch the actual wait time for families receiving referrals. Our agency (WHFC) sends out an update every week that shows how many referrals (and in what age ranges) went out, and how long the families who received those referrals had waited. The weekly update currently shows families waiting 22-24 months for our requested age range. I’m pretty certain the 22-month end of that range is for families requesting a child of either gender up to 18 months of age (like us), and the 24-month end is for those who requested girls or maybe for those requesting infants under 12 months. Not that I try to analyze every little detail or anything. πŸ™‚

So, we are in the zone! Of course, anything goes in this international adoption game, and we could still have quite some time to wait. Or not. I am not yet to the point where I am going to jump every time the phone rings, wondering if it is The Call. But once I see another referral or two go out, I think I will start to get pretty excited. We don’t know where we are on the list, but I am confident that there can’t be more than a few families ahead of us at this point.

For this post, I had planned to give an update on my list of things to do before we receive a referral that I posted at the 20-month mark. I have made some significant progress on the list (starting with the sangria, of course), but not as much as I would have liked. However, my to-do list has grown quite a bitΒ in the past few days, soΒ I don’t even want to think about it at this point!

This entry was posted in adoption, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to in the zone

  1. molly says:

    Oh, wow. You are so, so close! I’m sorry about last weekend and glad no one got hurt, and am so excited for you guys to be at this critical stage of waiting! Congratulations on 22 months!

  2. Jaclyn says:

    Congrats on 22 months, you are so close! You are almost there, so exciting πŸ™‚

  3. Emily B. says:

    YAY!!!!! So excited you are in the zone!!!

  4. sue says:

    i got chills again when i read this news! i’m ridiculously excited for you and craig and the beagles! it won’t be long now!

  5. LOVE that you are now “in the zone.” Can’t wait to hear your good news. Oh, and sorry about your tree….such a bummer but glad to hear nobody was hurt.

  6. colleen says:

    that is such good news, kelly! fingers and toes crossed here in PA that it is very very soon!

  7. Christine K says:

    You are getting so close! I’m really excited for you guys. I hope it’s very soon! And as long as you got the sangria down from your to-do list, you’re all good. πŸ™‚

  8. Christine says:

    WHOOOHOOO!!! That’s so exciting!! It must feel so good to be “in the zone”… no?!?!? (Although you are way more calmer than I was at that point… I’m impressed!)

  9. Jennifer says:

    How can you NOT be watching the phone?! It sounds like it is getting really close. πŸ™‚

  10. Elizabeth says:

    This is *very* exciting news, Kelly!!! I cannot wait to see the post that says you’ve received your long-awaited (and much-deserved) referral!!!

  11. I got chills reading this post too! So excited for you guys!!

  12. Angela says:

    So happy for you, Kelly!!! You’re very near!

  13. Julie says:

    Yay! So close!!

  14. mkwewer says:

    This is so exciting. I can’t wait for you guys to get that long awaited referral…

  15. Jenny says:

    um… YAAAAAAAAAAAAY! i cannot wait to read the word REFERRAL from you! oh i’m so excited that it could be any time now!

  16. Jen says:

    WOW – you are SOOO in the zone. I will be checking back often for referral news!!!!!

  17. Brandi says:

    I’m BEYOND excited for you and Craig!!! πŸ™‚

  18. Kelly says:

    You are so close, I can feel it! Now, when do you go to Paris? You know that’s when the call will come, right? Just sayin’ …

  19. A significant milestone. I wonder if you will be side-lined, totally surprised by the call or if you will start to have a feeling that it is coming. So exciting!

  20. Sandra says:

    How exciting! I can’t wait for your big day. You have waited so patiently.

  21. Meg B says:

    It’s been 22 months. Wow. I cannot wait to hear your good news!!

Leave a Reply

