beatrice beagle

Meet the newest member of our family!

Beatrice is a sweet 3- or 4-year-old beagle girl. Upon her homecoming Friday evening, she spent about two hours sniffing out every nook and cranny of our house and yard, but after that, she settled down quite nicely. She had no qualms about jumping right up onto the couch or our bed, and she certainly knew that the kitchen was the place to be when Craig was making dinner. She is making herself at home, which we love!

She came to us via the same beagle rescue that our Lucy came from several years ago. She had the name Beatrice already – actually, they called her Beatrice Beagle on the website, which warmed my heart since I often use “Beagle” as a middle name with our dogs (it’s a long story) – and the name makes us smile, so we are definitely keeping it. This rescue pulls beagles from the shelter where I volunteer, so that makes me happy. We are seemingly addicted to beagles and the shelter just doesn’t get many of them (although Macy is one of the few). We wanted to really find the right dog for our family at this point in time, knowing that we needed the right match for Macy and also the right dog to be able to handle the introduction of a toddler in the hopefully not-too-distant future, so we kept an eye on their website, attended an adoption event, inquired about several dogs, and met two of them. It was quite the process, but we think we really found a great fit for our family.

Beatrice was found as a stray in Charleston, South Carolina in early May. She was very underweight, covered with fleas and ticks, had a skin infection, and was heartworm-positive. She had a collar on but no tags or microchip. Beagles are often used for hunting, especially in the South, and many people who use beagles for hunting just sort of dump them or let them run when they’re done with them. So that’s the best guess for Beatrice’s story.

On the hunt for something in the groundcover.

Anyway, the kind soul who picked her up off the street took her to an animal hospital, where they took care of the fleas, fed her, and made sure she was stable. Then she was taken to a shelter down there, and later transferred to a shelter in southern Maryland, where the beagle rescue pulled her. She was spayed and she started (and hopefully finished – we’ll find out in a couple of weeks) her heartworm treatment. She is a tiny thing who could stand to gain a couple of pounds, so we’ll be working on that. As of now, she is supposed to be on restricted activity due to the heartworm treatment, and that has been the biggest challenge of our transition – because we’re not supposed to let Beatrice and Macy play! This is tough, as both of them have initiated play with each other and I can tell they’re just dying to run and wrestle with each other. (In fact, I have broken up at least three play sessions while writing this post.)  Hopefully in a couple of weeks Beatrice will be able to enjoy a full activity level, and we’ll have some good beagle play sessions happening here. I think that will help the two dogs get to fully know each other, too.

Helping me write this post.

We have stayed at home this weekend, trying to get her acclimated. We are working on “sit” and she is learning that when her beagle behind hits the floor, she gets a treat. We have only had two accidents in the house, and we think that’s pretty darn good. I am going to do as much work from home as I can this week so that we can slowly build up the length of time we’re away from the house. So far, Beatrice is not a fan of one of us leaving the house. (She has impressive crying skills.) We’re going to try a very brief stint away from the house tonight and see how it goes. I’ve got food-stuffed kongs in the freezer and some bones ready to be used as beagle pacifiers, and I’m hoping that Macy will help show her that it’s okay and that we’ll come back and all will be well.

Working on a kong.

Macy, by the way, has been doing great through all of this. So far we haven’t seen any signs of jealousy or possessiveness, and that’s just what we had hoped for. She shows an appropriate level of interest in her new sister, and just wants to play already. We have been making sure that Macy gets some special attention, too. Once Beatrice is able to fully participate in things like playing and taking good walks, we’re quite sure the two will settle into a nice sisterly bond.

Sniffing sisters. (And yes, our yard is covered in brown leaves in mid-August due to a dying tree. Sigh.)

Welcome to our pack, Beatrice! We are so happy to have you home with us.

 

This entry was posted in dog, family. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to beatrice beagle

  1. sue says:

    you have no idea how excited i was when this post popped into my reader! i’m already in love with beatrice! she looks like a perfect companion for macy! i love that you called them the “sniffing sisters”! i’m imagining the 2 of them baying together right now. hee hee! and i adore the name beatrice. even though i haven’t met her, it really seems to suit her. congratulations on your new addition and i can’t wait to read and see more beagle themed posts!

  2. Christine says:

    Oh my… I just love this post. I don’t even think words can do it justice. I saw it pop up when I jumped online to grab a recipe… but knew I should save it for when I had no distractions (aka post-bedtime) It was so worth the wait! First, she’s absolutely adorable! And I love how she has settled right in. She looks completely at home… which is awesome! My favorite thing has to be hearing that Macy and Beatrice are both initiating play sessions… I can’t wait for her to get the all clear!

  3. Christine K says:

    Awww! Beatrice looks and sounds so sweet! How exciting to have a new addition to your family. 🙂

  4. Theresa says:

    What a sweet girl. Congratulations on the new addition. The two girls together are adorable. Furbabies are just awesome.

  5. Jennifer says:

    From Charleston, SC….. Awww can’t get better than that. 🙂

  6. erin says:

    Aww, she looks like a sweeie pie!!!!!!!!!!!!! congrats on the new furry addition. I can’t wait to get a dog one day. My husband doesn’t want one. But I am going to anyway. 😉

  7. Kyra says:

    Super cute dog! Welcome to the family!

  8. sarah says:

    Awww, looks like everyone is settling in well. So glad you did your due dilligence to find a good fit. And I love her name!

  9. Leah says:

    Congrats on your new addition! 🙂 I love that you adopt these dogs. My family is involved with Chesapeake rescue, and it’s such a good feeling to add to a family through this route. Your dog is adorable. 🙂

  10. molly says:

    She’s adorable!!! Glad she’s fitting in so well–what a nice addition to your family!

  11. Doug says:

    She’s gorgeous – congrats! She looks like she is doing wonderful.

    p.s. I am right there with you on the brown leaves on the ground in August..

  12. Congrats on a new family member!

  13. mkwewer says:

    I love her. She’s just so cute!!! I grew up with a beagle so I have a soft spot in my heart for them…

  14. Kelly says:

    I love Beatrice! She looks like she is fitting in perfectly with your pack 🙂 She’s just the sweetest looking dog and I, too, LOVE her name. Woof woof!

  15. kwatkinsinfl says:

    I love that she’s already a blogger!

  16. Beatrice is a wonderful name and she has found the perfect home. I am so happy for your new addition. She is cute as a button and looks like she will have a blast with her sister. Congrats again!

  17. Elizabeth says:

    Yay for Beatrice! What an exciting new addition to the family 🙂

  18. Krista says:

    Aww – she is a real beauty!! Welcome home Beatrice!

  19. Congrats! I love the name, Beatrice Beagle. Too cute. I hope she is continuing to settle in nicely to her new home. I think she is one lucky dog to be in your family.

  20. I’m a little late here on congratulating you on the new addition to your family. I love the name Beatrice and she really seems to suit the name. What a sweetheart! How great that you could get her from the rescue, too. I hope that by now, everyone is settled in and adjusted well.

Leave a Reply

