twenty

Today marks 20 months on the wait list. There was a time when we never thought we’d see this day, but it’s okay. We’re still here, waiting, and it is what it is.

A few referrals went out this past week, so that certainly helps my attitude. In fact, we seem to finally be closing some of the gap between the time we have waited and the time those receiving referrals have waited. Just the other day a referral in our age range went out to someone who waited 22 months. We’re only two months away from 22 months, so that makes me feel pretty good!

To be honest, the realization that we might be just a couple of months away from referral also made me think, Holy crap, I’d better start doing some of the things I said I would do before we received a referral! So, in honor of 20 months of waiting, here are 20 things I should get my act together and do (in no particular order):

  1. Research international adoption clinics so we have someone ready to review medical information in a referral.
  2. Empty out closets in future child’s room and guest room; purchase and install new closet organizers; put significantly less crap back into said closets.
  3. Go through my bookshelf in preparation for moving it elsewhere in the house, and donate many books to charity.
  4. Prepare wills. Yes, I’m a lawyer, and no, we don’t have wills. (And yes, I’ve written them for other people. Go figure.)
  5. Look at our life insurance coverage and figure out if we should make adjustments.
  6. Re-do our dossier. I keep asking if we should be doing this and they keep telling us to wait. I have no idea why. I never thought I would be wanting to re-do our dossier…
  7. Plan a fall getaway with my hubby, probably to New York City. Paris was the original goal, but we just can’t swing it this year.
  8. Buy the deck furniture we’ve said we were going to buy for two summers now. If only we could figure out what we want and then make it non-expensive.
  9. Adopt another dog. Maybe.
  10. Enjoy these last months of just being a couple before being parents takes over our world.
  11. Lose 50 pounds. (Ha!)
  12. Get back to knitting that baby blanket I started but then stopped when the slowdown was announced.
  13. Spend a week relaxing in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, lounging and being lazy – week after next!
  14. Wrap up my six months of double-duty at work and go back to doing only one job at a time. Oh wait, that ended today, so I can cross that one off the list already!
  15. Save money towards our travel costs for two trips to Ethiopia.
  16. Continue to explore using our new camera and develop some sort of photo storage system.
  17. Run another 5k.
  18. Read books I’ve been meaning to read, like “Adoption Parenting” and “Parenting Your Internationally Adopted Child.” I haven’t been able to read these, emotionally, because I’ve felt like we were too far away from referral. But maybe I can try now.
  19. Hang the new mirror we got for our bedroom that has been sitting there for weeks, ready to be hung. It will complete our mini-makeover that started when I decided we needed a new duvet cover.
  20. Drink significant amounts of sangria at our friends’ annual Fourth of July party.
Looks like I’ve got some work to do! I think I’ll start with #20…

 

This entry was posted in adoption, dog, dossier, ethiopia, home, knit, life, travel, waiting, work. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to twenty

  1. Amy says:

    #20 sounds like a perfect start!

  2. Meg B says:

    I think I’ll start on your 20 also! =) My suggestion would be to go through your house and make a donation pile. We had only lived in our condo for 3 years and had already accumulated many things we no longer needed or used. That cleared up some space which will sorely needed when you have your little one home. As we prepare for our kids we cannot believe the stuff (and we are trying to be really conscientious to NOT overdo it). ha!

  3. Christine says:

    What a fabulous list! I think #20 is a great place to start too! I also may horn in on #7. 😉

  4. Sue says:

    That sangria does sound good! You are getting close. I feel it.

  5. Love the list. You are getting so close (I know, you are probably so tired of hearing this, but its true this time!!!). I sneak a peek every now and again at the weekly update, and I immediately thought of you this week! You must have been smiling from ear to ear when you saw the referrals. It definitely comes in waves, and I am hoping that you hear very soon. You never know, you may be off to meet your son or daughter when the courts re-open this fall! Very exciting!!!!

  6. Angela says:

    I love it! lol! Have fun trimming down that list.

  7. Janet says:

    I’m excited that you are getting close to referral time. YAY!
    I love your list…I think a few of those need to go my to-do list too. Hmmm.
    Love that you want to get back to knitting. That made me smile.

  8. Holli says:

    Ah, Kelly! Congrats on 20 months and completing as much of your 20 list as possible. Number 2 (and significantly less crap going back in) made me laugh — I guess I can relate.

    xoxo

  9. 9, 14, 17, and 20 are my faves!
    And yahooooo for being so close to a referral! You guys have been on this road so long, and I can wait to finally celebrate with you!

  10. Theresa says:

    #9 has been on my mind a lot lately. But then my husband reminds me of #10. Adding #9 to the mix will greatly interfere with our ability to carry out #10 as well as #7 and #15.

    Oh well – I am like you in that when the news came out in March I lost the desire to complete my baby blanket project. And this one was going to take me an entire year to complete (try counting stitches with dogs in your lap 🙂 I better pick it up again. Hopefully next year at this time we will have a referral.

  11. inventingliz says:

    You are close! And of course you should start with #20, in honer of 20 months…

  12. Emily B. says:

    Love your list and LOVE that you are getting closer!!!

  13. #20 sounds like a fabulous starting point! Then, I’d go with #19 because it won’t take long and it will feel great to be able to mark 2 more things off your list. I love #7, #10 and #13!! Those are extremely important. Enjoy them!!

  14. Did someone say a trip to NYC?!!!! Since we are such slackers in getting down to Baltimore, maybe that would be a better place to meet. Start prepping so you will be done and then close the bedroom door. Trust me. I feel a referral coming…..

  15. Sandra says:

    I simply cannot wait until the day you receive your referral and panic because the only thing you’ve done is drink Sangria 😉
    Fingers and toes are crossed for you!

  16. Krista says:

    #20 sounds just perfect… hugs my friend.

  17. Kelly says:

    Ha! I like what Sandra said 🙂 Seriously, you can wait for what seems like forever and then BOOM! you get that referral and realize you’ve got nothing prepared for baby … I pray that happens to you because it’s actually a good panic to have. I love that referrals are coming in and you’re getting closer! Great list –
    4 – Shame on you, Ms. Lawyer! But good for you for getting on that before baby is here.
    7 – From what I understand Paris is BACK ON – whoooohoooo!!!
    8 – Buy that deck furniture soon because we have learned that once the summer really gets started it’s hard to get stuff. It’s like they stock the deck furniture pre-summer and then it’s gone!
    10 – YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is seriously the most important thing on your list (besides #20, of course).
    11 – If you find the secret, please let me know.
    13 – I believe you are currently checking this one off your list as I type this.
    16 – For storage I highly recommend Adobe Lightroom.
    17 – You go girl! I want to do another one, too. Wish we lived closer and could do one together and keep each other motivated.
    20 – YEEHAW!!!

  18. sue says:

    i’ve been saving this post for awhile, so i could really read through it. first off, i’m so excited that you are getting closer and closer! and i just love your list! i think if you adopt another dog, you’re just asking for a referral to come ;). so, do it!!!! hee hee! if we lived closer, i would help you with #20 and #2. but maybe not in that order, because who knows what the state of your closets would be afterward! i love reorganizing closets! it’s so fun!

  19. I love your list. You are such a trooper and tackle waiting like a champ. 20 months means it is not to far away. I am looking forward to hearing you have a referral. 🙂 Kala

  20. kris says:

    I’m catching up on things. You wrote this post a month ago so now you are at 21 months, Kelly! Wow, you are so close and I’m SO excited for you. I love your list of things you want to get done and your sense of humor throughout. I hope you are crossing things off that list and if not, so what! Things always come together in the end:)

Leave a Reply

