random tidbits…

Just a few new pieces of adoption-related information:

1. Our agency (WHFC) is working on developing relationships with orphanages in the Afar region of Ethiopia, which is in the northeastern part of the country. In recent times most of the children adopted through our agency (and, actually, from Ethiopia, period) have been from the southern part of the country.

2. Our home study update should be finalized today, changing our requested age range from 0-12 months to 0-18 months (at time of referral).

3. Our agency’s estimated wait time for children in our age range is now 22-28 months. We will hit month #20 next week, so we are definitely getting closer. I’m still keeping my mental focus on a referral this fall, which I think is fairly reasonable and realistic. But then again, who knows?

4. In not-so-great news, we learned yesterday that some of our adoption fees are going up. I don’t talk much about the cost of our adoption on this blog – for a variety of reasons – and I’m not going to complain [much] about this increase. I understand that things change and that expenses go up. I really do. But, it’s never fun when those expenses are passed along, and between this, a previous round of increases about 18 months ago, and the additional trip to Ethiopia that is now required, this adoption is going to cost us a lot more than we had originally planned. But, we know it will be worth every single penny in the end, and we’re thankful that we are somehow managing to afford this.

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to random tidbits…

  1. Kelly, some really good positives here. I love that your agency is expanding its horizons too. Fingers crossed time will go quickly for you both.

  2. Btw, we had amazing crab cakes at Woody’s off of 95 on our way home. Yum.

  3. molly says:

    You are getting really, really close to that referral!!! So close! Hang in there–interesting to hear about some new regions getting involved in the process. Sorry about the changing fees–it is all really expensive (and yes, will be worth it). Looking forward to hearing more as you edge closer to referral stage!

  4. You have great perspective despite that fact that an increase of fees really does suck. Here’s to a referral very soon!! You have waited so patiently.

  5. kwatkinsinfl says:

    I agree…the money sucks. I think they should grandfather everyone in at the rates they signed on at – then I wouldn’t feel like they are holding my referral until after July 1 so they can charge me more! But, if I get a referral on July 2, I promise I won’t complain! You are definitely getting close, and raising your age range can only help.

  6. That’s great to hear that you are 2 months from being within the referral time frame. I hope that it continues to stay the same or improve. It’s so frustrating that fees have to go up and circumstances change to throw you off your budget. I hope this is the last time it happens to you.

  7. Meg B says:

    I had no idea they were raising their rates. Ugh. But I also think it will be worth it; you are in the home stretch now!I am very excited to see what becomes of their work in this new region. If things are “saturated” so to speak in the SW I do believe that WH will go where the need is. WIth our own experience I can say WH does put the children and birth families first. And that gives us of peace of mind.

  8. Hopefully the news that they are looking into orphanages in the Afar region will result in some positive news both for the children there and PAPs. Our case worker at WHFC was pretty positive about that. Sounds like you are almost at the end of your wait! Best of luck with everything.

  9. Kelly says:

    1. That is very cool to hear about potential expansion.
    2. Yay for the age change being official!
    3. Fall is just around the corner!
    4. Boo, hiss, super lame … but, as you say, totally worth it and luckily you guys can swing it.

    Thanks for keeping us all posted on all things adoption-related 🙂

  10. Janet says:

    I love that you are getting closer to the window of when to expect your referral. That is wonderful. I hope the Summer is splendid for you as you wait for Fall. I’m glad your agency is expanding their contact area in Ethiopia. That is a good thing. And…like you said…even though adoption is very expensive, it is worth every penny and so justified for all that occurs for/with our children before they join us here. However…makes it hard to “budget” when numbers change. Sometimes I wonder *how* we did it…but I’m so glad we did.

  11. inventingliz says:

    You are so close! Sorry about the fee increase…

  12. You have to be close! I think of you often, and are keeping my fingers and toes crossed that you get your referral this fall! Sorry about the fee increase too, such a bummer, especially when you have been in this process for so long now. I have to think that opening up to new regions will only bring more referrals. Keep us posted, Kelly!!!

  13. Rain says:

    Getting closer! I hope things move quickly for you! Booo on the fees being raised.

  14. Mary says:

    You’ll be there before you know it, I’m sure! And just brace yourself because the second that referral comes through, life will begin to get really, really crazy. In a good way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

