seattle

Over Memorial Day weekend, Craig and I traveled to Seattle for a little getaway. The main motivation for going was my cousin’s wedding and the opportunity to see my mom as well as aunts, uncles, and cousins on her side of the family. The wedding was lovely, it was great to catch up with my extended family, the weather was cool and refreshing (no rain!), and it was wonderful to visit a city Craig and I both really enjoy.

Craig had a hold of the camera throughout the trip. Here are a few of his photos:

Marina across the street from our hotel (actually, I took this one).

View of the Space Needle from my uncle's sailboat on Lake Union.

Seaplane on take-off.

A cool park near my cousin's house in University Park, WA.

Some of the extended family on the beach.

I love this shot of my little first cousins, once removed.

After the rest of the family left, we stayed for an extra day to spend time with some friends who call Seattle home, and Jon, Kelly, and Max hosted us for the day. Kelly was one of my very first friends in the prospective adoptive mama blogosphere, and it was such a delight to see her in her role as Mom to the charming and adorable Max. We first met last spring in New York (along with Jon and Christine, Doug, and Spencer) but Max wasn’t yet home from South Korea then. We had a lovely day, starting first with a bagel brunch with Sarah and her cute kiddos Miles and Ada. This was my first time meeting Sarah, and it was so nice to finally meet another of my blog friends. Sarah and her crew left when it was getting to be nap time for the youngsters. Our afternoon included a walk to a neighborhood coffee place and then to a nearby playground, where Craig captured the only shot of Kelly and me together. This makes me chuckle because you can’t at all see my face, but hey, it’s proof we were there together:

This photo also cracks me up because Kelly and I noticed that we had dressed virtually identically for the day – dark jeans, black flats, black sweater over similar tops. This was particularly cute to me because we often note how many things we have in common (least of which is our shared name)!

After the playground, Max decided he should push his dad to the gelato shop for an afternoon treat. This was super cute and also slightly scary for the onlookers, since Max was pushing pretty hard and there was a bit of a downhill slope involved!

After Max had his bath and went to bed, and before we had to head off to the airport, we were treated to a home-grilled meal featuring Copper River salmon. Yum!

Spending the day with our friends was truly the perfect end to our little getaway. I feel so lucky to have made so many friends through this blog – something I honestly had no idea could happen when I started blogging – and it is wonderful to get to spend IRL (in real life) time with them.

Craig and I were both pretty amazed at how relaxed and refreshed we felt upon our return, even after taking a red-eye back and coming home to 100-degree heat. It was a good reminder of how important it is to take some time off every once in a while, and that four or five days away from the grind is really enough to unwind quite a bit. Next up is a week in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan at my dad and stepmom’s cottage, in just a few weeks. Let the countdown begin…

This entry was posted in blog, family, friends, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to seattle

  1. Christine says:

    This weekend sounds wonderful!! I love that you were finally able to meet MAX, and to see Jon and Kelly again…

  2. Barbara says:

    Seattle sounds like it was wonderful. One day I hope to visit! Your pics are great!

  3. Sarah says:

    I’ll vouch for the meeting between the Kellys 🙂 It really happened!

    Great to finally meet you in person too! Wish we had more time to talk, but that will have to wait when I visit the East Coast (at which point you’ll be distractedly chasing your kid, no doubt). So glad you got some sun in Seattle!

  4. Emily B. says:

    Great photos!! I went to Seattle in middle school so obviously I don’t remember it all that well. Hearing about your trip has increased my desire to take a trip out West. So glad you guys had such a wonderful visit!

  5. molly says:

    I live in Seattle–and I’m glad you had some sun while here! It’s been hiding from us for most of spring 🙂 Sounds like you had a great time!
    Molly

  6. Kelly says:

    It was so fun to see you guys in person again!!! Sorry it was only for one day. I’m laughing thinking about matching outfits that day. Btw, you forgot to mention that we both had on t-shirts that were rouched (sp?) at the top. I mean, that’s pretty random, right?! Our similarities are just too weird. It cracks me up. Anyway, thanks for spending the day with us and for humoring our Max-centered schedule that day.

  7. sue says:

    i was so excited to see this post! and i totally noticed that you and kelly were dressed alike before you mentioned it! annnd, is that your blue bag? LOVE it!

  8. Janet says:

    OK…where is this RAIN folks in Seattle claim is ALWAYS there? Hmmm…I think it is a big fat LIE…just like we *always* have snow here in MN (oh wait…that actually WAS true this winter).

    The pics are beautiful. I’m totally jealous you guys went out there and got to see/meet Max (oh…and Jon & Kelly too)…that destination is on our list of places to go. Maybe Max will give ME a ride on his trike too. Who knows?!

    I also noticed how similar you and Kelly were dressed before you mentioned it. Made me smile.

  9. Krista says:

    What a fun weekend! And to meet up with Kelly, Jon & Max! Extra special times.

  10. What a great mini-vaca! Your pictures make me want to visit the west coast again– the sky is so blue and it just looks so fresh. How great that you got to meet up with Kelly, Max and family!

Leave a Reply

