look what I made!

Seaweed Cardigan by Cecily Glowik MacDonald. Berroco Weekend yarn in colorway 5935 on US 6 needles. Ravelry link.

I am VERY pleased with this spring cardigan that I made with my very own hands! I started it last spring but set it aside at the end of last summer, knowing that I wouldn’t be able to wear it until spring, and I figured why bother finishing something in the fall that can’t be used for months. I finished it about two weeks ago and then spent a week trying to figure out what to do to give it some sort of gathering at the waist. The pattern calls for the two front panels to hang open (and the photo accompanying the pattern shows the model wearing a tiny belt over the sweater, which I knew I wouldn’t do). I knew that I would get annoyed at the open panels, plus I know that I look better with some sort of definition at the waist. So, I added a button with a simple ribbon looping around it. That looked a bit lopsided so I added the second button for show. The photo makes it look like the second button is smaller and higher, but it’s not.

Looking at this photo, I realize I could stand to do another blocking!

The pattern was actually quite simple to knit up; it just took me a fair amount of time as I’m not the world’s fastest knitter. I also had to knit the second front panel twice since, after taking several months off, I managed to use the wrong needle size and didn’t notice that until it was time to put everything together. Doh!

I wore this out the other night for dinner and yesterday to work, and I’m sure I’ll get a lot of use out of it. Come warmer months I think I can get away with a simple tank or camisole underneath. I also think it can be dressed up or down. It should be a versatile addition to my wardrobe.

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to look what I made!

  1. Soooooooo cute! I love that it’s virtually all-seasons! And the color is just beautiful. You are so talented.

  2. Sarah says:

    It’s beautiful! I admire your ability to start AND finish your kinitting projects!

  3. Barbara says:

    I so wish I could knit! What a beautiful cardigan! I am a huge fan of cardigans of all styles.

  4. Holli says:

    Oh, Kelly! Well done! Bravo! It’s gorgeous! And it looks so lovely on you. What a perfect piece to incorporate into your spring wardrobe.

    Congratulations!

  5. Jenny says:

    that is FABULOUS!

  6. Jamey says:

    I LOOOOOOVE that!! It’s beautiful and stylish and I can’t believe you made it! Are you taking orders because I want one! 🙂

  7. Dad says:

    Very Nice!

  8. colleen says:

    so very pretty! and totally impressed with your skills over here! 🙂

  9. Janet says:

    WOW! I’m VERY impressed! It is beautiful. Love the pattern & the color. Did you have to use a cable needle to get those twists? I’ve tried that once (in a class) and don’t have a lot of faith in my ability to do it again. You are a fabulous knitter!

  10. Kris says:

    I’m seriously impressed with your knitting skills! It’s beautiful and looks lovely on you!

  11. Ellen says:

    I can’t believe you made this! Very impressed. It’s so pretty

  12. Christine says:

    Kelly!!! It’s amazing! I was so thrilled to see this pop up in my reader. I simply adore it. ADORE. You’ve inspired me to maybe pick up one of my sweaters that sit unfinished…

    I’m also really impressed with your super even knitting. I admire your stitches every time I put Spencer’s sweater on him…

    And most of all – this looks AMAZING on you!

  13. Impressive! Very, very nice!

  14. Zoe says:

    Love it, Kelly! Looks fantastic!

  15. Sandra says:

    How can you possibly make that with your own hands????!!!!!!! I am SO impressed!

  16. Kala says:

    Oh that is just awesome!!

  17. Kyra says:

    Impressive! I like the pattern, and the button/loop thing looks good!

  18. Krista says:

    Oh I LOVE it! Way to knit!

  19. Kelly says:

    Wowee Zowee – seriously, that looks totally professional. I am impressed. It looks great on, too! Your idea for the two button latch was a great one. Much more flattering that way, too. I can’t believe you had to knit that panel twice. Oy!

  20. Kelly says:

    PS – Your hair is getting long, my friend! Can’t wait to see it in person in less than a month!

  21. Emily B. says:

    SUPER impressed and super jealous!!! Love it!!

  22. Beautiful work, Kelly! I love that you made something for yourself that looks fabulous on you. Enjoy wearing it and getting all the compliments that come your way!

  23. sue says:

    um, my mouth dropped open when i saw your creation! it’s amazing kelly! i’m so impressed!!!!

Leave a Reply

