shoe therapy

On a scale of one to ten, my stress level has been hovering around twenty for the past few days. In addition to the regular stresses – doing two jobs at once at work, uncertainty around our adoption process – I am knee-deep in a situation I just can’t talk about on the blog. (You know it’s really something if I can’t blog about it; I think we can all agree that I’m pretty darn open here.) This situation and the associated stress has been permeating every waking minute of my days and keeping me up at nights. I’m hoping there will be a positive resolution soon, but I’m not holding my breath. Don’t worry, it’s not my health, marriage, employment, or anything of tremendous importance to my life in the long run. But it is upsetting and taking up an incredible amount of my time and energy. Sorry to be so vague, but I needed to let something out without getting into any details given the public nature of this blog.

Given the aforementioned high stress level, I spent this weekend de-stressing as much as I could. For the first time in a few weeks, I actually managed to avoid working over the weekend. I slept in, watched mindless television, baked, exercised, spent time with my honey, knitted, and enjoyed ample beagle snuggle time. The only thing missing – besides a visit to a spa, which was just not in the cards – was some good old-fashioned retail therapy.

So, while out running some not-so-exciting or therapeutic errands, I went to my favorite place for shoes. I was looking for a couple of things in particular, namely some basic heels to replace a couple of pairs that have seen better days but are staples in my work wardrobe. I didn’t find the shoes I was looking for, but I convinced myself that it would have been depressing if I left empty-handed, so I let myself browse for a while. I couldn’t quite get into the sandal selection yet, but I did pick up a couple of new pairs of fun shoes. (I’ll just have to go back in another month or so for the sandals!)

I think these are my favorite:

[Please ignore the ridiculously obvious dust on my dresser. So embarrassing!]

Fun, huh? I think I will wear them tomorrow, in an effort to ward off more stress and to perk up a Monday. Let’s see if that works!

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to shoe therapy

  1. sue says:

    ugggh. i’m sorry things are so stressful! i hope the situation resolves soon and you can really relax! in the meantime, hooray for retail therapy! LOVE the shoes!

  2. sue says:

    Those are fun shoes.. shoes for skipping and dancing..and a way to kick “happy” into Monday. I hope you get relief from the stress soon–massage perhaps?

  3. Angela Hall-Richards says:

    I’m with you on the stress. For some reason, I get really creative when my stress level is off the chart. I spent the weekend adding touches to Michaela’s room. Before things spun totally out of control, I didn’t have the energy to think about her room.

    I hope your situation improves and your shoes are adorable.

  4. sarah says:

    I love the shoes!!! I hope things work themselves out for you stresswise. It can be a monster.

  5. Super cute shoes! Those would definitely make any day a little better 🙂
    As for the stress, I’m so sorry. I wish we lived closer to one another… would love to bake and shop with you and discuss our woes over coffee & dessert!!!
    Hope things ease up for you soon.

  6. Love them!! I am thinking that shoe shopping is in my near future. I understand the stress. I feel like I no longer sleep right. Hang in there and know that there are many others out there feeling the stress too. I really think t helps to know that I am not alone. 🙂 Kala

  7. Jenny says:

    i’m so sorry you’ve got so much stress in your life right now! 😦 that’s so tough. LOVE those shoes though! DSW is my fav ♥ oh, and you should see the dust in my house right now!!!

  8. Barbara says:

    I don’t know how you do it, girl, but your plate is so full! I’m glad to hear that you took it easy this past weekend and I’m so jealous of the new shoes! The polka dots are awesome and will add a little somethin’ somethin’ to any old outfit 🙂

  9. Aunt Holli says:

    Ah, retail therapy. Putting something new and sassy on, certainly lifts spirits. I hope those little polka-dots are helping you.

    Deep breaths, dear girl. Deep Breaths.

  10. Dad says:

    If the dust is obvious in a picture 1. you have a very good camera 2. It is time to dust!

  11. Zoe says:

    Okay, those are awesome.

  12. Sandra says:

    Those are fabulous shoes! Sorry it took such a stressful situation to bring them into your life. I hope things get better soon.

  13. Janet says:

    Stress really HURTS at times, you know?! I’m glad you found a small reprieve in some retail therapy. Those shoes are awesome! I’m a big polka dot fan. Pretty! Hope some destressing comes your way soon.

  14. Meg B says:

    A little retail therapy can work wonders! Those are adorable. I hope the unbloggable works itself out.

  15. Christine says:

    OMG! I love these shoes!!! LOVE! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

    But, I’m really sorry of the stressful times. 😦
    Hugs friend.

  16. I hope it doesn’t take much longer for your situation to resolve itself. You sound so super busy!! I’m glad you took the time for yourself this past week-end. Beautiful shoes. I love retail-therapy, and an unplanned purchase that you just love is all that much more rewarding. (:

  17. Nothing like some retail/shoe therapy. I LOVE them. Sorry things have been rough and hope they are improving.

  18. claudia says:

    oh, they are super cute! Like little tiny dalmatians for your feet 🙂

Leave a Reply

