adoption update

I’ve been asked quite a few times lately if I have any update on our adoption. Really, the answer is no. Nope. Nada. I’ve got nothing to report.

And I’m generally okay with that. We estimate that we still have about six months to go until we receive a referral. But that’s all it is – an estimate. It could be sooner, it could be later. I’ve been thinking for quite a while that we’ll likely receive a referral this summer. So as long as “this summer” is still in the estimated time frame (and it is), it’s all good in my mind.

As I’ve noted before, we keep an eye on our agency’s weekly updates, where we learn about how many referrals have gone out. There’s a column in the table that says something like, “Time Families Have Waited,” and that’s the one I watch, since it notes how long the families who accepted the new referrals had waited. Right now, it says 21 months. We’re at 16 months. However, there haven’t been any referrals in our request range since early December. So who knows what that number will be the next time a referral goes out.

The only real information I have to report is that we submitted our I-600A renewal paperwork about a month ago, after updating our homestudy. That wasn’t a terribly cumbersome or exciting process. A little more exciting will be the updating of our dossier, which we’ll probably start on in the next month or so. We’re waiting for our agency to direct us to do this, and they’re working with families in order of expiration, so we’ll just wait for our turn. Pulling together the dossier was a bit of a P.I.T.A., so I’m not really looking forward to doing it all again. However, our documents are all dated August/September 2009, and that’s getting pretty old. It’s much better to update them now than end up with a problem later.

So, that’s the update. As I said, it’s not much of an update, but it is what it is. We continue to keep busy and the time keeps passing by, so it’s all good.

This entry was posted in adoption, dossier, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to adoption update

  1. Barbara says:

    Time seems to be flying by these days, so hopefully you will know who your baby is sooner, rather than later. I am so excited for this news. You have waited long enough!!

  2. Kelly, you are handling this wait with so much grace! I think of you so often and wonder when your time will come. Each day brings you closer and I pray that “this summer” will definitely bring a sweet baby into your life! And we’ll ALL be here to celebrate with you!!

  3. Jaclyn says:

    It’s a terrible terrible wait. And after you get the referral it’s gets even harder if that is possible to imagine. But hang in there, your baby will be here soon!!

  4. Julie says:

    Keep on truckin’ Kelly!

  5. Meg B says:

    Yep, staying busy seems to be the best. But in my experience the closer we were to the alleged Wait Time the more difficult waiting became for me. (as I’m sure you recall from my blog-rants)

    We are also waiting to hear if we need to update our dossier–haven’t heard anything yet. I hope we don’t have to…most of ours expires in Sept 2011 and we hope for our court date to be in May…fingers crossed!

  6. Jen says:

    Ugh.
    The updating of documents has got to be so annoying, but since you’ve done it once already the 2nd time should go pretty quickly. The first time we compiled our dossier for Ella’s adoption it was confusing and I felt like I was going in a million different directions to get it done…this time around it was MUCH easier, knowing already what I had to do to get certain documents done.
    I hope the process moves forward at a faster pace for you…I’ll be hoping for news of your referral in the coming months!

  7. Erin says:

    This feels like it is taking forever!!

  8. I’m so impressed with your quiet patience with your wait. Of course, I have no idea what’s going on at your house… maybe it’s not so quiet. 😉
    Although, I always found it a bit easier during our wait when I just knew it would be awhile. The worst part of waiting was always when a deadline had come and passed, and news or progress was overdue. That’s the worst.
    So here’s hoping that everything happens for you in the time it’s supposed to!

  9. Angela Hall-Richards says:

    I also admire your patience Kelly. You’re so very grounded.

  10. Jenny says:

    i hate that you have to update the dossier! i was annoyed at just having to have our prints retaken! lol… praying your wait is shorter than they’re anticipating… come on, referrals!

  11. Kelly says:

    Well since I was one of those people demanding an update the other day, I already knew this stuff 🙂 But thanks for posting it. You already know this, but so many of us are on the edge of our seats waiting along with you until your child is revealed. What an amazing day that will be! And summer’s not too far away ….

  12. Sandra says:

    You seem to be waiting very patiently, much more patiently than I ever could have. I hope your day comes soon, the blogger world can’t wait to celebrate with you.

  13. Janet says:

    Thank you for the update. I’m impressed with your patience & outlook on your journey. I’m so looking forward to watching things unfold for you. Summer sounds wonderful!

  14. Thanks for the update, Kelly. I was wondering myself when you might be getting your referral. We’ll continue to pray that you will see the face of your beautiful baby by the summer time! That will be here before we know it. I’m so impressed with your patience through this journey. It has been a long one, but you’ve managed it well. The current chapter of your life won’t be lasting much longer!!

  15. Krista says:

    Praying for sooner!!

  16. Leah says:

    Thanks so much for the adoption update. You are really handling the wait with so much grace. 🙂

    So, I have a question regarding your wait, because it seems so much longer than other peoples. I know you mentioned in a post before that your agency really does things ethically, and I’m sure they do. I chose an agency that was hague accredited, and that also seems to do things very ethically, and the average time on the waitlist at my agency was 4-8 months. I’m jus twondering how there can be such a difference in waittimes at different agencies.

    Anyway. . . can’t wait until your post that you got your referral. 🙂

  17. Sandra says:

    I have to ask – how do all the recent news affect you?

Leave a Reply

