stretched thin

I’m still here; I’m just stretched a bit thin these days, and blogging is just something I’m not finding time for.

I spent a week in Denver with my mom in mid-January while she had major surgery. (Actually, two major surgeries, two days apart.) It was probably the most exhausting and stressful week I’ve ever had, and I wasn’t even the patient! I can only imagine how it was for her, but at least she was on serious drugs. 🙂 I go back in a couple of weeks to spend some time with her. Thankfully, she is doing really well at home, although she has a long road to recovery ahead of her. (She had her spine straightened due to worsening scoliosis that was causing herniated discs and sciatic nerve pain. Not fun.)

My new job as acting executive director of the nonprofit is going well. However, I am clearly doing two full-time jobs at once, since I still have all of my regular duties, and this is a problem. I think if I make it through February, things will calm down a bit. Before the month is out, though, I have a website to finish, an annual report to write, cash flow to figure out, an audit to survive, my first board meeting to organize and run, and a major first-of-its-kind-in-Baltimore contract to draft, among all of my other supervisory and client obligations.

Thankfully this time of craziness came now and not several months from now. My mom and I noted how I wouldn’t have been able to be with her around-the-clock had I had a baby in tow. And time is moving very quickly, which certainly helps with The Wait.

Anyway, I just wanted to let everyone know that I’m still here. You’ll still find me on FB and trying to keep up with blogs. I’ll be back to the blog when I have some time and when I have something to say!

UPDATED: One hour later

So, I didn’t mention that I’m at currently at a conference in Charlotte. It’s a very interesting program, but it’s really bad timing as I have a lot I need to be doing for work. Plus the conference goes through Saturday, I don’t get home until 8pm Saturday night, and I know I need to work all day on Sunday. Anyway, my plan for tonight was to catch up on work email (check), grab dinner (check), and then do a couple hours of work from my room. I’m feeling the stress, so when I went to the pizza place across the street from my hotel to grab a salad and a slice for dinner, I was very excited to see some wine offered at the counter.

Why yes, I’m desperate enough to buy a $1.99 single-serving plastic bottle of wine and drink it out of a plastic cup. And you know what? I bought a second bottle to enjoy back in my room while I work!

This entry was posted in family, life, waiting, work. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to stretched thin

  1. Meg B says:

    So sorry about your mom. That’s so nice you were able to make the trip to help out. My parents live out west and a plane ride away so I understand what it’s like to be far away from family. Your job sounds incredibly stressful and it made me think that i have no place to complain about mine! hang in there, I hope the pace dies down for you soon!

  2. Megan says:

    Hoping peace and strength for you tonight friend.

  3. Evelyn says:

    You deserve that wine!!

  4. No kidding you deserve that wine– a much bigger bottle, I would say! I’m glad you could be there for your Mom for her surgery. I’m sure it was very much appreciated. I hope that this month is not too crazy for you and that work becomes manageable. I remember that before we left for Korea to get Adam, work had gotten crazy busy for me, too. More and more expectation piled on. Being off with Adam made them realize how much I’d been doing, and when I went back to work, things were more manageable. I hope that happens for you!

  5. Kelly says:

    Ha! When I saw the bottle of wine, I thought you were on a plane. At 30,000 feet in the air, a plastic bottle of cheap wine tastes devine. Not sure how it tastes at sea level? But you deserve it – you’re BUSY! And I totally agree – busy makes the wait go by so much faster so YAY! for that. Good luck with everything.

  6. Sarah says:

    Thanks for checking in, I’ve been wondering about you. I hope things improve for your mom soon. In some ways it’s nice to be busy during The Wait, but being overwhelmed is just not good for the over all stress levels. You’ve had a rough year. And you’re right, better to get this stuff out of the way now to make room for when you get some certain news….

  7. Liz says:

    Hope you survive all the busy-ness and that it makes the wait time just fly by for you!

  8. Zoe says:

    Busyness sure helps the wait! Hope you get through your tasks as hassle-free as possible. Glad your mom is doing well.

  9. kwatkinsinfl says:

    Wine is getting me through the wait. Maybe not the healthiest coping mechanism, but, hey, it’s MY coping mechanism.

  10. sue says:

    That sounds really painful for your mom–hope her healing goes well. The conference sounds fascinating. And I’m glad you enjoyed some wine sutter home and all.

  11. Christine says:

    I’m of the mindset that cheap wine is better than no wine, and it sounds like you NEEDED wine. Wow. I’m exhausted just thinking of everything you have going on. YIKES. (Please let me know if I can help in any way… and please, feel free to ignore my blogs while you get through the next couple of months!)

  12. Busy is an understatement! Holy cow, woman! As long as you stay sane, time will fly by, I’m sure. Then, winter will be over and you’ll be ever so closer to good news! Be sure to take a little time for yourself even now….I know, easier said than done, but hey, as long as it’s in the back of your mind. Enjoy the wine breaks! On that note, I think I’m off to pour myself a glass!

  13. I agree with Christine – cheap wine is better than no wine! Sorry your plate has been overflowing but yes, it does make time fly. You should head to Delaware and load up on a few cases of wine. Trust me, you will need them when your kiddo arrives stateside!

  14. Kala says:

    You are one busy girl! I hope things calm down for you soon!

  15. sue says:

    i love the wine! no judgment here!

    so glad your mom is doing so well and you’ve been able to spend some extra time with her. also glad that the time is flying by for you! that’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

