ethiopian cooking – part two

Following up on yesterday’s post about preparing to do some Ethiopian cooking, this is all I have to say:

It. Was. Awe. Some.

Just kidding. Well, not about the awesome part. (It was awesome!) I’m kidding about the part where I said I only had that to say. Because this is me I’m talking about, and I’m not one known for, ahem, using few words. (Hey, at least I recognize this!) And, now that I have a kickin’ camera, you know there are photos as well…

So, this is the type of photo that was annoying the chef. He didn’t understand why I wanted a photo of all of the ingredients pulled together. I don’t know; I think it makes a nice set-up for the rest of the post.

A few things to note from that photo:

  • Yes, that’s a lot of red onions!
  • Not all of the spices are out. (That would have REALLY slowed the chef down.)
  • It was impossible to find Anaheim peppers (or a good substitute, Poblano peppers), and I didn’t feel like driving all over town to look for them, so we went with canned chiles. It was fine, but next time we’ll make sure we can get some fresh peppers.

There was too much going on (and I was too busy enjoying my wine while lounging on the couch) to take photos of everything in process. But here are the final results!

Doro wot (chicken stew)

Yemiser alich'a (lentils (mild))

Teemateem beqarya (tomatoes, onions, and peppers)

We loved each and every bite of all three dishes! The flavors and aromas were wonderful. We really enjoyed tasting the chef’s fine work.

There are a couple of things we’ll modify next time:

  • The doro wot recipe called for a whole chicken. As I note below, we halved the recipe, and decided to go with thighs and drumsticks. Next time we’ll just go with chicken breasts, which will be easier.
  • The lentils we had were whole, and not split as the recipe called for. We’ll definitely try the split ones another time, because I think that would bring the texture more in line with what we’ve had before.

All of these recipes are from the Exotic Ethiopian Cooking book I mentioned in yesterday’s post. The recipes each said they would make about six portions, which was too much for just the two of us, so we cut them in half. And I’d say we easily still got six portions out of them. Lots of yummy leftovers this week!

Now we need to learn how to say the equivalent of “Bon appetit!” in Amharic!

 

This entry was posted in ethiopia, food. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ethiopian cooking – part two

  1. Kelly says:

    Um, it’s dinner time here so I wish I could just reach through my computer screen and eat these dishes up! They look delish. Good work Craig!! And you remind me of me (once again) – lounging on the couch drinking wine while your hubby cooks up a feast, drifting into the kitchen every once in a while to snap photos 🙂

  2. Angela Hall says:

    Wow…. adventurous!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    totally drooling over here. that looks AWESOME!!!

  4. colleen says:

    so impressed with you guys! glad it was a success! 🙂

  5. sue says:

    i am so impressed! these dishes look fantastic. you guys are going to be awesome at cooking ethiopian cuisine when your little one comes home!

  6. Christine says:

    Uhm, YUM!!! That looks AMAZING!!! I’m super jealous… of the food, the culinary husband, the wine. All fantastic things in my book.

    And you’re right. All the food items pulled together in a photo set up the post nicely. Two thumbs up!

  7. Jen says:

    Now I’m ashamed. I’ve had that book for over a year and haven’t made anything from it. I love the ET restaurants around our house way to much to venture into cooking the dishes myself…everytime I get the craving, we walk down the street to our local ET spots. Now I think I need to try harder…thanks for the inspiration!

  8. Leah says:

    Okay, mouth is totally watering here. That looks excellent! I need to get on the ball and learn some Ethiopian cooking! The lentils especially looked delicious! 🙂

  9. Liz says:

    Looks fantastic! I think I am going to make a 2011 resolution to try cooking Ethiopian more!

  10. Mary says:

    Okay, YUM! That looks way better than the Ethiopian food I made this week. Glad I didn’t take pictures of mine! 🙂

  11. Barbara says:

    The food looks delicious! Great chef and great photographer 🙂 Nice teamwork! Is Ethiopian food generally quite spicy? I really want to try it some time, but the only place I’ve ever seen an Ethiopian restaurant is in Toronto (1 hr. away). I’ll have to look closer!

  12. Wow!! Fabulous. It looks so delicious. Good job, Craig!!

  13. Samson says:

    Well done, Kelly! I wish I could smell it… you sure have the three holy foods of Ethiopian cuisine. Well, Melkam megeb (Happy meal) !!

  14. Zoe says:

    Congratulations — it all looks terrific! Now to try it in our house….

  15. kris says:

    It really looks delicious! I love that you guys are making Ethiopian meals before your baby comes home. We only started cooking them after X came home (we did try the food in restaurants before though). I’m impressed (and jealous) of your husband’s cooking skills!

  16. Sandra says:

    Delicious! I am sure the chef appreciates that you didn’t take step by step pics.

  17. Way to go Craig! What time is dinner?

  18. kim young says:

    looks amazing! good job!

  19. Yum, yum! Looks delish! 🙂

  20. Janet says:

    YUM!! That looks delicious!! Nice job!
    I wish I had a husband who cooked.
    Seriously…that might be the one & only thing I’d change about him.
    I remember trying some Korean meals before D came home…it helped make me feel more connected to his culture even before his arrival…and more familiar with the food for when we went there.

Leave a Reply

