new

It’s a NEW year, and I’m way behind on blogging (at least in my mind). So, in order to get caught up, I’m going to share what’s NEW all in one post. Here we go…

Happy NEW Year! I hope everyone had a lovely celebration, however it may have taken shape. Craig and I had a wonderful meal at our favorite local restaurant with our great friends Amy and Brian, and then we all came back to our house to play some games and continue the celebration. Apparently we all felt like recreating our college years, because we stayed up until 3:30am! I can’t remember the last time I did that. It was really, really fun.

We toasted the new year with Dick Clark and some sparkling wine:

Prosecco kept chilled on ice.

Shortly after midnight we needed to shift from Puerto Rico, a thought-intensive game, to something a bit simpler. This may or may not have been due to excessive alcohol consumption.

Mexican train dominoes.

Other NEW things:

As of today, I have a NEW role at work. I am now the Acting Executive Director of the small nonprofit law firm I’ve worked at for the past 5+ years. My boss is taking a six-month sabbatical to teach a clinic at one of the local law schools, and I’m now in charge. I’ve learned a lot already and she trained me well, I think. It will keep me busy and on my toes during the winter and spring, which will be good. And, it will be wonderful experience to put on my resume in the future.

I won this awesome NEW toddler’s apron:

Isn’t it the cutest? My friends Kris and Sue recently started their own business called Kimchi Keepsakes, and another friend, Rachel, hosted a give-away on her blog. And I won! I can’t wait to show them all a photo of an adorable little Ethiopian wearing the apron. Check out their Etsy site to see all of their cool products!

Craig and I gave a joint Christmas gift to each other this year – a NEW camera!

This was our joint Christmas gift to each other. All of the photos in this post were taken using it, and I can already see a difference in crispness and colors, just using the “auto” setting. I am going to take a class on the basics of using a DSLR and later I hope to take a photography class or two. Here are a couple of test shots I took around the house:

Macy is always a willing model.

This is nothing special, but I was trying to see what a close-up, colorful shot would look like. I could never get a close-up like this with our old camera.

When we were in Boulder around Christmas, we picked up this specialΒ Brian Andreas print for our NEW child’s room. I just knew I had to have it when I came across it, since we already have a few of his prints and they all signify special times in our lives. I almost cried when I read this in the store; the sentiment was just so perfect. It says: “For a long time, there were only your footprints and laughter in our dreams & even from such small things, we knew we could not wait to love you forever.”

I knit up this NEW winter scarf in just a handful of days. It was a simple pattern and I love how the colors in the yarn played out.

And, of course, I have to recognize that in this NEW year of 2011, we will find out who the NEW member of our family will be. I believe, too, that we will actually get to meet him or her this year. We’ll see whether that NEW little boy or girl will come home to be a part of our NEWly-formed family in 2011 (that depends on the timing of the multiple things that must occur – referral, court, embassy, etc.). One thing is for sure: I have a NEW-found sense of hope and anticipation.

This entry was posted in adoption, baby, blog, ethiopia, family, friends, life, waiting, work. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to new

  1. Christine says:

    Love love love it!!! Especially the last paragraph… and the photos of course. πŸ˜‰ (I also love the print… we have several of his prints around our house too. Just another reason I know we were meant to be friends….)

    Happy NEW Year!

  2. First off, your photos look awesome!! I had never heard of Brian Andreas, but I’ll be checking into his work for our home. I absolutely love your new piece! Your NYE sounds like it was a lot of fun– I can go a bit overboard on games. We played Cranium with our friends. (: Congrats on winning the adorable apron!! All the best with your new job for the next months.

  3. Brandi says:

    I’m loving your NEWly found enthusiasm!!! πŸ™‚ I’m so excited for you guys…this is the year!!

    I also LOVE the scarf. πŸ™‚

  4. kwatkinsinfl says:

    I love ALL your new stuff. I have the Nikon D5000 and I really love it. I also love your print – what a perfect sentiment!

  5. Erin says:

    Love the camera!! have fun playing with it.

  6. Krista says:

    You have had an amazing few days and the year has JUST begun! 2011 is going to be YOUR year!

  7. Wow on the new role at work! That is very exciting, and I know you’ll rock it.
    Love the new print for the baby’s room and the beautiful sentiment it boasts.
    And YAY for the new camera! What a fun (and well-timed for new parents!) present to play with!

  8. Meg B says:

    I am envying your NEW enthusiasm and optimism…please send some my way =) We too are doing the joint-camera-gift this year. We have it picked out and now need to order it…

  9. Julie says:

    Yay! Happy New Year!

  10. sue says:

    there are so many things to love about this post. the camera, the train dominoes (i love that game!), staying up until 3:30 am (you guys are crazy and that’s coming from a night owl!), but especially the hope and anticipation you have for 2011. you are inspiring, my friend.

    and ps, i for one can’t wait to see the newest member of your family in that apron! thanks for the shout out :).

    pss, macy could not be more adorable. clearly she has forgiven you for forgetting to feed her :).

  11. Liz says:

    Happy NEW Year! And hooray for all the wonderful NEW things going on in your life!

  12. Beth says:

    I love that print– I am checking him out! Wish we had spent new year’s playing games, I love game nights. Good luck with your new responsibilities. 2011 is going to be a great year!

  13. Jaclyn says:

    My husband and I bought the same camera for each other this year. I love it but I also need to sign up for the classes on how to use it more effectively. Looks like you had a great New Year, hope it continues for you!

  14. zsmama says:

    Brian Andreas is from my hometown. Many of my friends have his prints, but I have never found one that spoke to me personally, until now. This one is fantastic.
    Congratulations on all your News! I can’t wait to see what is in store for you in 2011! It’s going to be great!!

  15. Jennifer says:

    The yarn is beautiful. Wow. You are so talented. I agree this is YOUR year.

    I played Uno and promptly fell asleep at l2:30 a.m.

    Love your print, but on a side note, I wish all the prints, cards, picture frames, etc wouldn’t use “we”. Seriously.. it makes total sense but it is tough to find things as a single mom to be. πŸ˜‰

  16. Leah says:

    That picture you got your child is just precious! Love it!

  17. kris says:

    Oh Kelly, this post made me SO EXCITED for you!! I got goosebumps when I read the words to the print you bought. It’s perfect, just perfect. I’m going to flip out when you get your referral. I’m so excited for that day. I’m excited to see your little one in the apron too (thanks for posting it, you’re sweet)! That camera is awesome! I LOVE that picture of Macy – awwwww.

  18. colleen says:

    what a great post for the new year! love the apron that you won! yippee for the new camera! what a great gift! macy is so darn cute. adorable pic! the scarf is really pretty! i wish i knew how to knit. and that print is beautiful! my dad was really into his stuff some years ago and used to give them as gifts all the time. yours is just perfect!! i am so excited to be following along your journey and can’t wait for all the wonderful things that are coming your way this year! πŸ™‚

  19. I wish I could knit too! I love the colours in that scarf. I am so excited to follow your story in 2011. You are the most deserving mom-to-be! Just think, your baby may already be born or is possibly in utero somewhere in Ethiopia right now! I remember thinking that a lot before we got Daniel. It gave me some comfort that stuff was happening even if I didn’t yet know about i!

  20. Jamey says:

    It sounds like you have a lot of great things coming your way this year! I hope it’s everything you’re hoping for. Maybe we’ll even see each other at some point again! πŸ™‚

  21. Zoe says:

    Love all the NEW stuff and your camera looks great! How did you choose it?

  22. Kelly says:

    I just absolutely love this post. I can hear the anticipation and hope coming through, and we are so happy for you guys!

  23. Courtney says:

    wow! how exciting!

  24. Sue says:

    lots going on for you in the new year–how exciting all of it…camera,print,new job…looking forward to hearing your NEXT BIG news whenever that might be!

  25. Sandra says:

    Oh I am so behing in catching up with your blog. Happy NEW year, it will be fabulous!

Leave a Reply

