bulkhead seats

We are back from our fantastic, magnificent, amazing trip to Italy! I’ve got tons of photos to wade through and I’ll be sure to share every single detail here on the blog when I can pull my thoughts together. I really want to remember every moment (and share with everyone).

On our 8.5-hour flight from Madrid (our layover stop from Venice) to Dulles yesterday, we somehow lucked into getting bulkhead seats. The several inches of extra legroom were heavenly on a flight of that length. There was a sign in front of us with instructions about a baby bassinet that we could request that would hang from the bulkhead wall.  Throughout the entire flight, I kept looking at that sign and thinking about how in a year or so, we’ll be taking another long flight, but this time with our Ethiopian babe. It made me smile.

Today marks our one year anniversary on the wait list. One year ago today, we were approved by USCIS to adopt an infant from Ethiopia.  The wait time is about 20 months right now, so that means approximately June for a referral. Obviously, that time frame can shift, but it’s actually within sight at this point. I think it’s reasonable for us to expect to be in those bulkhead seats next fall. 🙂

P.S. I haven’t read any blogs in about ten days, but I’ll be working this weekend to catch up!

This entry was posted in adoption, baby, ethiopia, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to bulkhead seats

  1. Welcome back! That’s terrific that you had such an amazing trip – I’m sure it is one you’ll always remember!

    Happy 1 year waiting! I’ve been thinking of you lately and hoping that your time comes very soon! Prayin’ before you know it, you’ll be back in that bulkhead seat!

  2. Meg B says:

    Congrats on 1 year on The List, we’re right behind you. One year on 11/5…yikes. Glad you had a great trip, I’ve never been to Italy so please post pics!

  3. Sarah says:

    Welcome home! Looking forward to seeing pictures. Yeah, the bulkhead is awesome, especially for travelling with babies. Congrats on hitting the one year mark; so happy to hear that you seem at peace with the pacing of it all. You are so much closer!

  4. Kelly says:

    Welcome back! I can’t WAIT to hear all about your fabulous trip and to see all your photos! Judging from your and Craig’s FB updates, it was AWESOME.

    Congrats on one year waiting! I actually remember pretty clearly when you got that USCIS approval since we got ours right before you. Trust me when I tell you that we are all counting the days until that referral comes. I’m hoping maybe it’ll be even sooner than you think and you’ll have a photo of your sweet little one to show us in person in Seattle in May …. 🙂

  5. I can’t tell… did you like your trip? 😉
    What a big day! One year? And think how CLOSE you are to your referral now! Esp compared to then!!!
    Cannot WAIT to see your Italy photos!!!

  6. Zoe says:

    Welcome back! So glad it was so fabulous. Can’t wait to see your pics. And happy one year wait! Ours is coming up fast as well.

  7. Jenny says:

    oh it’s going to be so amazing next year! i cannot WAIT for you!!!!!

    excited to hear some more about your trip!

    and THANKS for the congrats!!!! our heads are still spinning! he’s just perfect for us!

  8. Christine says:

    Welcome back!! I can’t wait to hear more from your fabulous trip!!

    This post gave me chills. Chills! I’m actually a little teary thinking about your referral day… and the next trip in the bulkhead seats for you!

  9. Jennifer says:

    You will be going before you know it. With the high number of referrals, maybe you will go sooner than you think!

    I wasn’t crazy about Italy (probably the only person I know who didn’t care that much for it.. and my relatives are rolling in their graves at that comment), but the food was really good.

  10. sue says:

    i can’t wait to hear all about your trip! and i’m so excited to think about you being on a plane to ethiopia in the fall!

  11. Kris says:

    Welcome back, Kelly!! I’m excited to hear about your awesome trip. And I got goosebumps knowing that you’ll be on a plane next year! Congrats on 1 year down!

  12. Welcome back…sorta. I am sure you would rather be running around Italy instead of home, back to reality. Looking forward to the pics, and before you know it, you will back in those same darn seats with your little one.

Leave a Reply

