“i love my hair”

I’ve talked in the past about the concept of good hair. I’ve mentioned my own hair quite a bit lately, but I’m thinking on a larger scale, specifically about good hair as related to black women and girls. It seems that society’s vision of good hair is long, sleek hair, and many black girls and women struggle to attain that standard. Heck, I think we all do at some point in life.

I’ve seen quite a bit of this cute Sesame Street video over the past week or so, and I just posted a link on my FB page. I thought I’d post it here, too, for those who don’t follow me there. [If you’d like to friend me, just leave me a comment and we can connect – I love my bloggy friends!]

Here is the story behind the video – it just so happens that the head writer at Sesame Street is the adoptive dad of an Ethiopian daughter.

Liz recently linked to some criticism of the video over at This Week in Blackness. I have to admit that I had some thoughts about whether the video was showing the girl truly loving her hair as it was or whether she was also trying to reach that long, sleek standard with extensions.

Happy Girl Hair has a post on the video as well.

I, for one, love that a show like Sesame Street is addressing the issue and showing a young black girl loving her hair. I imagine this is the message most viewers will embrace, especially the target audience of children. I agree that perhaps a couple of the shown hair styles could have been left out, but I’m not going to criticize what a Muppet is doing too much.

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia, family, me, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “i love my hair”

  1. Jenny says:

    I just got this link from my mom yesterday! Love this video!

  2. That’s so awesome. Sesame Street is the best.

  3. Meg B says:

    I love Sesame St and think the video is very cute. There will always be criticisms, and maybe I am just not a deep enough thinker at the moment…but I like the video. It’s a celebration…raises awareness…gives little girls a song to sing… I don’t know, I like it =)

  4. angela says:

    I like the muppet and the video. Why debate over Sesame Street? There’s plenty more issues in the world.

    I’m just glad to see a little muppet glorifiying her black hair. She should have been around when I glued in my mom’s stylist chair with the heat of that pressing comb waving over my scalp 🙂

  5. Christine says:

    Thanks so much for sharing! I still recall much of our conversation about hair, and specifically your future child’s hair, while strolling through Central Park. So not only does this make me happy that it’s addressed in a format such as Sesame Street, but it also brings back happy memories! 🙂

  6. Kelly Cole says:

    I love this video! And I love Sesame Street. And I really love that a dad wrote this about his adopted daughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

