catching up

I’ve been thinking a lot about blogging lately, so I’m taking the first steps today to get back into the groove. It has been about two months since I’ve really blogged, so I figure I should note what has happened during the time I’ve been away. Those of you on FB pretty much already know all of this!

*****

I helped my mom move to Denver. This was an interesting trip since she had injured her back and was in severe pain. I had to do all of the driving, and we even spent several hours at the emergency room in Grand Island, Nebraska. (And no, we have no idea why any town in Nebraska would have the word “island” in it.) We eventually made it to Denver, and spent our time there getting her settled. But we still had fun with my siblings and siblings-in-law, even introducing them to Ethiopian cuisine.

My mom in front of her cute house in Denver.

How many people does it take to set up a futon?

One of the adorable murals my sister-in-law painted in her kindergarten classroom.

Craig had a birthday. We had a wonderful birthday dinner at Woodberry Kitchen here in Baltimore.

I finished a couple of knitting projects. I’ll share photos of them soon.

Craig’s mom got sick and died, as you already know. A couple of weeks after her death, we had a really nice family gathering on the shore of the Chesapeake Bay, where we scattered her ashes. We each dropped a red rose into the water where the ashes were spread, and it left us with a peaceful visual.

We celebrated our tenth wedding anniversary! We’re pretty proud of that accomplishment.

In celebration of said anniversary, we planned a special trip to Rome and Venice. We leave next week, and we can’t wait!

I found out I’ll have another job change come January. My boss is taking a six-month sabbatical and I’ll be acting executive director of our small nonprofit while she’s away. This means I’ve given up my job search, and that’s really okay with me. It was getting exhausting being continually on the hunt for something new and not having anything work out. This will be a good learning experience for me, and good for my resume. And there’s a pay raise involved, which is always a good thing. The timing will be good in keeping me busy while we get into the last phase of our wait.

My youngest brother, Matt, got engaged! I’m so happy to have Shelley as a future sister-in-law.

I had a birthday. I am no longer in the 18-34 age demographic range. I find this strangely upsetting.

Both of our dogs got some nasty gastroenteritis sickness. Rocky had to spend two nights at the animal hospital after vomiting blood. It was pretty scary. Thankfully we got Macy on the meds at the first signs of problems, so she didn’t get nearly as sick.

I ran my first 5k – the whole darn thing!

Two of my three training partners - Amy and Kristin. Macy wasn't allowed to run in the actual race, poor girl.

I got bold and decided to change my hair color. After over ten years of blond highlights, I am now a true brunette with a hint of auburn. I really like it, but I’m still getting used to it when I see myself in the mirror!

My volunteer work with the animal shelter is a bit out of control lately, but it is definitely keeping me busy on top of my strange work schedule.

We are now 11 months into our wait, and I’m pretty confident in saying that we’re halfway through. Even our case worker referred to us as being on the top half of the list when we spoke with her the other day.  It’s nice to feel like we’ve made some significant progress.

*****

So, that’s about it from here. More soon, I promise…

[Sorry for the poor photo quality – these are all cell phone photos. I promise to take the camera to Italy!]

 

This entry was posted in adoption, blog, dog, family, life, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to catching up

  1. Janet says:

    Love the update!
    Your mom’s house is beautiful. Looks like the neighborhood where we stayed when we went to Denver (we stayed in a beautiful B&B).

    Looking forward to the knitting updates. 🙂

    Love your new hair (I know I said it on FB too…but I truly love it).

    Your upcoming trip? Fabulous. Jealous here!! Cannot wait to hear all about it…and see photos.

    I love your perspective of where you are on your adoption journey…more than half way there…good deal. I also like that you are in the upper half of the wait/referral list. YAY for progress!

  2. Wow. SO much news! Love that you did your 5K – are you signed up for the next one yet? 🙂
    Oooh, cannot WAIT to hear about your Italy trip!
    But I SO LOVE that you’re on the downhill of your wait for a referral! So very exciting.

  3. Meg B says:

    THANKS for the update, man you have had a lot going on. Enjoy your trip to Venice, you guys deserve a relaxing break. Congrats on the 11 month mark! Oh, and your hair looks great!!!

  4. Kelly Cole says:

    We’ve missed your blogging, Kelly! In fact I was just saying that to Jon this weekend. Luckily as your FB friend I’ve been able to keep up with most of this news so I don’t feel too far behind it. It was nice to get the summary here though! I’m just super excited for your Italy trip – NEXT WEEK?! It’s going to be so freaking awesome. Excellent vino, delicious food, beautiful sight-seeing, and of course the perfect reason to celebrate … Oh, I’m so happy to hear you’ve made significant progress in your wait. It did seem at times that your target kept moving so to hear that you are, as Elizabeth said, on the downhill of your wait is just really wonderful news. 2011 is going to be a pretty amazing year for you guys and I can’t wait!

  5. Kala says:

    You have had so much going on. You deserve a great trip. Hope you have a blast!

  6. sue says:

    your mom’s house is adorable!

    so glad both dogs are on the mend. that’s so scary.

    have a wonderful trip in italy! glad you’ll be taking the camera ;).

    we’ve missed you around here and glad to have you back. i agree with kelly that 2011 is going to amazing for you guys!

  7. Sarah says:

    Welcome back! Wow, a lot going on. Sounds like things are settling down some in some areas, picking up in others. Congrats on passing the halfway point in your wait (or, are making significant progress anyways….the timing if these things is so hard to chart). Have a fabulous time in Italy – please post pictures!

  8. Zoe says:

    Yes, welcome back!

    Love the house, love the new hair. And 35? You are but a pup 🙂

    A huge congrats on the 5K!! And an even bigger congrats on 10 years of marriage. These days, that’s a huge accomplishment! How fantastic that you’re going on such an amazing trip! Can’t wait to see pictures and hear all about it. I’ve been dying to go to Rome and Venice with Brian, so I’m jealous. Safe and happy travels!

  9. Holli says:

    Love the hair!

    And congrats on the job improvement and 10 years of marriage. We LOVED Rome…and Venice — we didn’t make it that far north, but oh — Italy! Enjoy your trip!

  10. Christine says:

    You’re back! YAY!!! It hasn’t been the same without you!!!

    So many good things here… SO. MANY. I love your mom’s new house… and the adorable mural! I love that you ran your whole 5K – YOU GO GIRL! I love the new hair color and all the milestones you and Craig have celebrated. I love that you have a new role in your job soon… And I LOVE the progress you have made on the adoption wait. That’s HUGE.

    You’re going to Italy NEXT WEEK?! Uhm, I guess the ridiculously long email I have in the works about cameras is null and void now? GAUGH. Sorry. 😦

    PS – I have been meaning to take photos of something you’ve been working on too… but the illness running rampant in this house has prevented it. Soon, I promise. And I think you will love them since I scouted an AWESOME spot, and have been saving it. 🙂

  11. Jennifer says:

    I love, love, love her house. How cute is that?

  12. So many things, so little time. I wanted to pass this on to you the other day and forgot – http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5hWMUqkB5ZIgjSZRtjsnBfsWLOn0QD9IQAD0O0?docId=D9IQAD0O0
    Btw, is your mom living in the Highlands area in Denver, which is where I lived.
    Congrats on the 5k!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Robin says:

    I was so excited to see a post! Even though you are on FB I still enjoy reading your blog.

    Half way through the wait is a BIG thing… ! Congratulations 🙂 I love the hair, by the way. I wasn’t sure if I had told you that or not.

  14. Kris says:

    Wow!!! So much has happened! I love your hair! Congrats on running your first 5K – that is AWESOME! Happy belated birthday and anniversary – 10 years!!! Enjoy your wonderful trip. And I was so happy to read that you are over half way through the adoption process:)

Leave a Reply

