new grill

We’ve been working on a remodel of our deck this summer. If you asked Craig what we were doing, he’d say we were simply staining the deck. But I have a greater vision for the outdoor space, and I’m tackling it like we would if we were remodeling a room in our home. We have finished the staining, but we haven’t found attractive, affordable furniture yet, so I’m not considering this project to be complete yet. Plus I want to add little touches like new flower boxes/planters, and maybe string some lights up. So there’s work yet to be done.

Anyway, one key component of our deck project was the replacement of our gas grill. The grill had seen better days and we swear it was one or two uses away from the bottom falling out. Even the handle to the grill cover was broken since the grill was blown over in a freak windstorm a couple of years ago.

We also were lucky enough to have a natural gas line running out to our deck, so when we looked for a new grill, we got one that connects to our natural gas line. No more running out of propane when 10 hungry people are over for a cookout. (Yes, we’ve done this. More than once, in fact.)

A couple of weeks ago, we got the new grill:

Now, I know absolutely nothing about gas connections, but check out the funky connection the gas guy set up for us. There are a lot of parts; who knows what they all do:

Since we got the new toy grill, the Grill Master has been trying some new things, such as roasted potatoes the other night (to go with turkey burgers and roasted asparagus) and last night’s fantastic pizza:

I’m all for more grilling, since my job is to do the dishes (and they are greatly reduced when grilling)!

As for the old grill? We were planning a trip to the dump to get rid of it, but I decided to try something on Saturday and just rolled it out to our front yard. (Yeah, it’s a bit hillbilly-ish. I know.)

It was gone within 45 minutes! That saved us a trip to the dump, and hopefully made someone else a bit happy at the idea of getting a free grill (until they realize it’s about to fall apart, that is – I hope they don’t return it to our yard some day).

This entry was posted in home. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to new grill

  1. Christine says:

    Love the new grill! And the deck stain looks pretty too!

    I completely hear you about the project not being there yet… We never really got around to that “room” in this house… maybe in the next house?!

  2. Love the new grill. Bbqs rule! So easy to clean up and I LOVE LOVE the convenience factor, and of course, the taste.

  3. Oooh… so nice! I’m drooling over your reduced dish load.
    We LOVE throwing things out in our alley and watching as they disappear. Gotta love dumpster diving!

  4. sue says:

    yay! looks like you are going to be trying some new dishes this fall! we love grilling too. and you are right – less dishes makes us all happy!

  5. Jenny says:

    love the new grill! and how FABULOUS that you can run a line out of your house to it!!! we’ve also discarded at the curb before 🙂

  6. kellycole says:

    As you know, I share your love of the grilling because of the lack of dishes we the non-griller have to do. It may be what I love most about summer! That pizza looks delicious – I can’t wait to try grilling a pizza ourselves. Good luck on the deck project – sounds like it’ll be great. Love the idea of stringing lights up.

    PS – We also have a direct gas connection from our house to the grill which is AWESOME!!

  7. Kris says:

    I want pizza now! Looks like a great grill.

    I know what you mean about tackling your outdoor space like you are remodeling a room. I was the same way this spring. I couldn’t wait to get the deck ready for spending evenings out there and entertaining.

  8. Zoe says:

    Wish we had a gas line. Very nifty. We just replaced our propane tank since it ran out just as we were cooking one night. Happy grilling!

  9. Robin says:

    It amazes me what people will just take from your driveway! We have gotten rid of all sorts of unwanted stuff that way. That grill pizza looks delicious! I need to try that. DH loves to grill out.

    I also just looked at your vacation pictures. It looks absolutely gorgeous there….! I’m glad you were able to relax.

  10. Janet says:

    Direct gas line for your grill?! Sweet!
    That pizza looks awesome!
    Whenever we put “Free stuff” out on the street it is gone within a very short period of time. I love that…natural recycling (I hope).

  11. Pingback: Fuel Reviews|5 Fuels to Cook Up Your Summer Barbecue Grills

  12. Pingback: Barbecue Grills Fuel DIY Projects | Do It Yourself Projects and Crafts

Leave a Reply

