weekend getaway

I’ve been neglecting my blog lately, but to be truthful, I’ve just been lacking the energy and motivation. My job is out of control and will continue to be for a few more weeks, and when I’m not getting home until after 9pm a few nights a week, there’s just not much left in me.

However, I thought I’d better share a bit about the perfectly-timed weekend getaway we took last weekend with our good friends Amy and Brian. I think if I hadn’t had this relaxing and fun weekend, I might have had a serious meltdown this week between stress at work and the ongoing extreme heat and humidity we have been having.

We took off on Friday afternoon and drove less than three hours to Rocky Gap in western Maryland. Maryland is a very odd-shaped state, and this is the little skinny part where our state is squeezed in between Pennsylvania and West Virginia. It’s a whole different world out there – mountains and quiet instead of cities and hustle and bustle. It’s so out there that my smartphone didn’t get a signal! (Props to Apple on this one; our friends’ iPhones did work!)

We stayed at Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort, which is adjacent to a large lake and a state park. We all raved about the lodge and the service – it was really top-notch. There was a really nice mix of guests, ranging from couples like us to families with children to the retiree crowd.

After checking in, we decided to hit the driving range, since we had a tee time in the morning. By the time we got our clubs, picked up our baskets of balls, and got to the driving range, the sky was looking a bit ominous. Brian got one drive in and sure enough, the thunder started and the clear-the-course siren rang. We all had to chuckle a bit about the fact that we’ve been having a drought and we hadn’t had rain in weeks, but the moment we set foot outside on our getaway, the rain rolled in! But, we were good sports about it. We went ahead and had an early dinner, and then spent the evening lounging at the indoor/outdoor pool and jacuzzi area.

Here are the books that Craig and I took with us to the pool. Can you guess which books belong to each of us? [Hint: My book club does not read books on machine learning and statistics.]

On Saturday, we hit the links and played the resort’s Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course. I have to say, we all noticed a significant, positive difference between this course and the public courses we are accustomed to playing. It was a really nice course, and the setting was lovely.

After golf, we grabbed some lunch and then split up for an afternoon activity. The men took a Segway tour of the area and the women got pedicures. By about 5:00, we were all ready for a cocktail… or several. [Side note: Amy and I decided that all future rounds of golf should be followed by pedicures and daiquiris!] We ended up claiming a table by the lake and staying there until about 9:30, eventually ordering a pizza to soak up go along with our cocktails. We wrapped up our evening with a visit to the campfire (pictured below when there was still some daylight) where we enjoyed s’mores as dessert, and then played a couple of rounds of euchre in the lounge.

On Sunday we had a leisurely breakfast and then took a fantastic canoe trip around Lake Habeeb. I was really pleased that we included this activity, because when I’m that close to a lake, I feel the need to get out on it!

After that, it was unfortunately time to head home. We had a really fabulous weekend with great friends in a great destination. I’m certain we’ll be returning to this getaway spot in the future!

This entry was posted in friends, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to weekend getaway

  1. Jenny says:

    i’m glad you had a getaway and i’m glad it was so fun and relaxing!!! GORGEOUS picture of the lake!

  2. Christine says:

    That sounds like a fabulous getaway!! One of my favorite vacations was in Deep Creek Lake. I’m not sure where that is in relation, but ever since I feel like there are hidden gems there that I’d love to find when Spencer appreciates the concept of “relaxing”! πŸ™‚

    • Kelly says:

      Deep Creek Lake is another 45 minutes or so west of Rocky Gap – definitely another good destination. I love that you’ve been there!

  3. Doug says:

    Glad you guys had an enjoyable escape. Isn’t that “Dataset Shift in Machine Learning” book being made into a movie with Ashton Kutcher?

  4. My goodness that sounds lovely. I have to admit that I’m a bit jealous of the freedom and relaxation you enjoyed at your getaway. And the drinks. And the sleep. Ok, I’ll stop now.
    Really, I’m so glad you had a much-deserved mini-vacation!

  5. Amy says:

    So wonderful. I am glad that you are taking the time for you and treating yourself to a well-deserved break.

  6. Meg B says:

    Isn’t amazing what a little weekend getaway can do! Glad you were able to recharge a bit. This summer I am trying to be very appreciative of little things like weekend getaways, dinners out, grown up movies, books etc! Soon they’ll feel like a luxury for all of us Waiters!

  7. Kim Young says:

    sounds like an awesome trip πŸ™‚ and beautiful pics πŸ˜›

  8. mkwewer says:

    Sounds amazing! Glad you got some time off!

  9. Erin says:

    Sometime we need to do just that, getaway!! Glad to hear you enjoyed it.

    I put Edgar Sawtelle down in the middle of reading it. For some reason, I lost interest. You will have to let me know if I should pick it back up πŸ˜‰

    I hope work slows down soon.

  10. Kris says:

    You deserved a little vacation! Looks and sounds lovely!!!

    Did you like the book? I’ve heard good things about it and have been wanting to read it.

  11. sue says:

    that place looks like a perfect destination to rejuvenate! so glad you had a wonderful time despite the rain!

  12. kellycole says:

    That looks like the PERFECT weekend getaway! Except the golf part – I’m not really into golf. But the friends, the scenery, the campfire, the pedicure, the book reading by the pool, the canoeing and most importantly the COCKTAILS.

    OK, I have to say Kelly, keep doing these things this year. People would say that to me and I’d get annoyed because we’d been having fun for years and at this point all I wanted was my baby home. BUT, I have to say that once it’s over, it’s over for a while so PLEASE have fun while you can and then before you know it you’ll have your sweet baby and it will be awesome.

    For now, we’ll live vicariously through you πŸ™‚

    Btw, LOVE the shot of the books and I LOVE Doug’s comment even more.

  13. eastiopians says:

    That sounds wonderful. I don’t even play golf and you made me want to go there and play. πŸ™‚ Love the sights. Gorgeousness.

    Theresa

  14. eastiopians says:

    Oh, and your husband’s books cracked me up. That is about the difference between my bedside table books and my husbands…his are all about theories in learning and mine are about vampires and adoption. LOL

Leave a Reply

