my first baby

Today is Rocky’s tenth birthday!

Now, we don’t actually know the day that Rocky was born, since we adopted him through the Maryland SPCA. He was estimated to be about a year and a half old when we adopted him over Thanksgiving weekend of 2001, so the vet put his date of birth as July 1, 2000 in his file. And that became his birthday.

It is really hard to believe that it’s been so many years since this older, distinguished guy:

enjoying the yard today (yes, the grass is brown and crispy - we really need rain!)

came to us as this young pup:

his first day in his new home

Rocky over the years:

learning that the people bed is a lot more fun than the dog bed

hanging out with a beloved ball at the dog park

protecting one of his beloved balls - check out his expression and the flapping ears!

surviving life with a sister (Lucy)

just to get stuck with another (Macy)

modeling one my knitting projects (a holiday jingle bell collar)

reading the final Harry Potter book on the day it was released (while I recovered from surgery on the couch)

enjoying a cook-out with friends (human and canine) on our deck

taking a birthday nap in "his" chair with his head under a pillow - he loves doing that

Happy birthday to my Rocky Beagle!  My first baby.

This entry was posted in dog, family. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to my first baby

  1. Sarah says:

    Happy Birthday, Rocky! I love all the pictures; this guy has had a long and rich life!

  2. towardsthehorizon@yahoo.com says:

    Happy Birthday Rocky!!!! He’s so cute. I love all the pictures too.

  3. aw Rocky – you look like such a sweet guy!

  4. Christine says:

    I love all these photos!!! Happy Birthday Rocky!!!

  5. sue says:

    happy birthday Rocky! looks like you get cuter with age! (if that can even be possible!)

  6. Kala says:

    How sweet. Happy Birthday Rocky 🙂

  7. Kris says:

    Oh my gosh!!! Rocky is so sweet! I love all of these photos! I especially love the one of him with his foot on the ball, it’s like he’s saying “don’t touch it, it’s mine.” I can’t get enough of awesome dogs. Happy birthday, Rocky!

  8. mkwewer says:

    I love Rocky Beagle!!! Happy Birthday!

  9. Robin says:

    Happy Birthday Rocky!! He’s so cute!

  10. Leah says:

    AHHHH. He’s adorable. Hapy 10th birthday to your first. 🙂

  11. Brandi says:

    Awww, happy birthday Rocky! I remember when he sat at the door waiting for me to wake up, then went and crawled into my bed! 🙂

  12. Janet says:

    Happy Birthday to one VERY CUTE pooch.
    Love the shot of him protecting his ball…with his paw right on top of it. Love the look in his eyes and the position of his ears. CUTE!

  13. Evelyn says:

    Doggies are the best! Can’t wait for her to meet the addition to the family!

Leave a Reply

