latest knitting

Here’s another overdue post inspired by bloggy friends. Janet showed off a beautiful baby sweater the other day, which reminded me that I hadn’t yet posted about my last completed knitting project. I was also inspired by my new adoption/knitting bloggy friend Holli, who appears to be a Knitter with a capital K (I’m just a knitter with a super tiny lowercase k).

So, I knit this little sweater for a baby shower back in April:

The color doesn’t show very well here, but it’s a warm taupe color, which I thought would be nice for a baby boy. The collar should fold back when there’s actually a baby inside the sweater; otherwise the little guy will be rocking a stand-up collar. Baby Noah was born just last week, actually. He had a bit of a rough start (with some breathing difficulty) but thankfully he is scheduled to go home from the hospital in a couple of days.

Pattern: Ribbed Baby Jacket by Debbie Bliss
Yarn: Cascade Yarns Cotton Club (20993)
Needles: US 7 (4.5mm)

This was a fast and simple project, and it was interesting to knit since the front, shoulders, and back were all knit in one piece and seamed together up the sides. This meant that I got to practice my seaming skills (which I have determined still need some major improvement). One cool thing I like about this sweater is that the button is purely ornamental. There is actually a hidden snap sewn in that pulls the front of the sweater together. (This design also saved me from learning how to knit a button hole!)

I currently have two projects on the needles:

This is the completed back of my Seaweed Cardigan (Ravelry link). I’m now about halfway through the right side of the front of the sweater. Maybe I’ll actually finish this when the weather still accommodates short-sleeved sweaters!

I also have another project in the works, but I’m not going to share any details here, other than to say that it may or may not be for the super-cute son of the winner of a certain blog giveaway. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to latest knitting

  1. Leah says:

    I think you look like a knitter with a capital K for sure. πŸ™‚ I’m so not good at this stuff. The boy sweater is so darn cute! πŸ™‚

  2. Sarah says:

    I love the baby cardigan! Hey, the fact that you finish projects makes you a knitter with at least a medium sized K.

  3. Erin says:

    Love your talent. Your sweaters are so pretty.

  4. Emily B. says:

    OMG, I love that sweater. It is so stylish! I don’t think you give yourself enough credit!! Can’t wait to see how the cardigan turns out!

  5. Meg says:

    Beautiful work. It gets a capital K in my book!

  6. towardsthehorizon@yahoo.com says:

    Wow Kelly, that pattern looks intricate. The sweater is very lovely. I’m sure Noah will look marvelous in it. Glad to hear the baby made it home and is doing fine.

  7. kristine says:

    Capital K! I’m a knitter with no K. just nitter. or twitter, which is what my knitting club does every time we get together and I’m still not knitting.

    Both sweaters are delish but the little boy sweater is especially cute!!

  8. Gwen says:

    Your sweater is fabulous!! I think u r a knitter with a capital K!! Perfecto!!

  9. sue says:

    um. i agree, capital K! that sweater is awesome! wow!

    there is a knitting shop near our house and someday i’ll make it over there. it’s super cute and trendy. but i’m not sure i need another hobby! maybe for the winter and after i hire a house keeper ;).

  10. Janet says:

    Your cardigan is beautiful (love that ribbed look…almost looks like cables)!! That baby sweater is so cute…and hey…button holes are not nearly as difficult as I first imagined…as long as the pattern tells me EXACTLY what to do (usually involving casting off and casting back on…making a hole somewhere in the middle).

  11. Kala says:

    I love it!! If only I had that much talent!! Your baby will look so cute in it!!

  12. Christine says:

    LOVE the baby sweater!! And LOVE the back of the Cardigan… that is going to be BEAUTIFUL! I think you are a knitter in ALL CAPS. πŸ™‚

    And c’mon! That’s such a tease! πŸ˜‰

  13. mkwewer says:

    OMG! I’m so jealous! Both pieces are just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

