shoes

I’m not one of those shoe-crazy women, but I do like to enjoy some cute shoes from time to time. I often tell Craig he is lucky that I pretty much only shop at DSW anymore, because at least my shoe purchases are affordable. I can’t believe how much some women spend on shoes!

Anyway, I’m in the market for some new summer sandals. I’m in good shape for dressier sandals that I wear to work or out with a nice outfit. I do like to wear heels but I’m learning that my knees are happier with flats. [Yes, I am getting old.] So, I am looking for flats. But not flip-flops; I don’t know why, but flip-flops hurt my feet. (I know, I’m strange.) I’m not looking for anything in the athletic/water sandal category (I already have those), and I’m not looking for something that a grandmother would wear. But when I went to the store the other day to look for cute yet flat non-flip-flop sandals, I came up empty-handed. Everything was either flip-flop, heels, athletic, or grandma style. Sigh.

If anyone has any suggestions on where I could find some good flat sandals, by the way, let me know!

Of course, I couldn’t exactly leave a shoe store empty-handed, now could I? So I ended up picking up these:

…which were great with my new dress. You may ignore the fact that I bought shoes for the dress back in March. That was in March when it was cold and gray. Now it is June and sunny and warm and something strappier and lighter in color was definitely needed. 🙂

While I was at the store, I also saw these. They were so heinous and unbelievable that I had to take a photo:

In case you’re wondering what you’re looking at, that’s a built-in canvas ankle-warmer (or whatever you’d call it!) attached to the sandal. The craziest thing is that I actually saw TWO different versions of this type of sandal there. Are people really wearing sandals like this? Yikes.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to shoes

  1. Jenny says:

    no suggestions for you b/c i mostly just shop at DSW too! but i had to say, i was there two days ago and saw those same hideous sandals! i saw them out of the corner of my eye and thought they forgot to remove all the tissue paper and then when i actually looked at them, i’m sure i made a face!

  2. Christine says:

    Hahahaha! That last photo made me laugh out loud.

    I love the first shot though! 🙂

    Flip-flops hurt my feet as well cause I have no arches. None. 😦

    I shop for my flat shoes at Nordstroms or Eddie Bauer. I also check out Kohls every so often but don’t have good luck there. (I know you’re probably keeling over at the Nordstrom’s part… everyone does, but they have a great selection of trendy,comfortable shoes.)

  3. Sarah says:

    Those second shoes are awful! Nice touch, the decorative metal work on the cinchy-strap thing…

    I am not a shoe hound either, I’m a comfort girl. It is nice to find a slinky yet bearable cute pair of shoes to wear out every now and then.

  4. Beth says:

    hahahaah LOVE those sandals, the pretty and heinous ones! For comfort I really like shoes by cole haan, the nike sole ones. But I think my taste is much less, well, tasteful than yours. 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    Try The Walking Company…I can’t wear flip-flops either. My arches are too high and they need better support. Also…my podiatrist said flip-flops are terrible for anyone’s feet. Good luck. : )

  6. Ok, that’s totally creepy. I thought someone had forgotten to take out the paper lining in those sandals. So. Weird.
    Funny thing is, I have a pair of Steve Maddens that I love. Not those.
    I also got a pair of Skechers recently that are cute and comfy.
    I’m the wrong person to ask though… I live in flip-flops and tennies.

  7. Erin says:

    THose sandals are weirrrrrrrrrrd.

    I suggest Zappos.com. They have everything! I have been very happy with the shoes I have gotten there.

    Good luck.

    BTW–I am funny about shoes too. I love comfort with style and that is hard to find 😉

  8. Kala says:

    I am not a shoe person either but I think those are some cute shoes! The dress is cute too!

  9. Kelly Cole says:

    What’s wrong with those sandals? Just kidding – ridiculous! Like Elizabeth, I didn’t quite get that the white thing was PART of the shoe, I thought it was just a display thing to keep the straps up. WEIRD. No good advice for you, sorry. I love flip flops 🙂

  10. sue says:

    that is one ugly shoe!

    not the cute strappy one, the second ugly strappy one with the weird sock thing!

    i wish i could help you out. i have trouble with dressier shoes too. . . i must be getting old too. sigh.

  11. Leah says:

    Okay. . . totally dying at my desk right now. THOSE ARE SHOES??? It took my eyes a while to register! I thought it was a brown sandle, and the rest was just part of the manequin display. Nope! That seems part of the shoe too! SO glad you didn’t purchase those. WOW!

    I LOVE the shoes you got though!

    I also can no longer do a heal. (Turning 30 has made me old!) Heals hurt my knees and I’m just happier in flats. I went to DSW and they had a lot of cute flat sandles that were really strappy and looked like something Cleopatra would have worn. Only I think they have the thing between the toes like flip flops, so you may not like that.

  12. Krista says:

    The shoes you bought – hot. The shoes you didn’t – not.

  13. Zoe says:

    Lovely shoes you got! Very strange sandals — who would wear those? Nice sandals are hard to find but they’re out there – maybe try Zappos. I had a favorite pair of brown leather strappy sandals that worked with everything, but they’ve finally seen their last days. I shouldn’t be so bummed – I had them for 15 years!

  14. Gwen says:

    Love the shoes!! Sadly I saw a girl wearing those shoes in the airport today! Blech.

  15. Janet says:

    I cannot wear flip flops either. First of all…I cannot STAND things between my toes (freaky). Second…they are really not good for your feet anyway. So…I run with Danskos, Keens, and Chacos. Definitely not very dressy, but it is all about what makes my feet happy now.

    Those shoes you bought are great!!

    Those are the weirdest & most ugly sandals I’ve ever seen…makes me wonder who their target market is…people with bad taste? Guess so.

Leave a Reply

