mother’s day

Yes, I know that Mother’s Day was three weeks ago. Due to my ridiculous delay in posting, I will leave out most of my thoughts on the holiday itself. In short, it has been a difficult time the past few years. This year it wasn’t quite so bad. I do feel that I am firmly on the path to motherhood, and I even received a couple of much-appreciated Mother’s Day cards from family members. (It really meant a lot to me!) Somehow the beagles forgot to get me a card or gift, even though they remember Father’s Day every year. Hmm. But, the best part was that my mom visited for the weekend! She knows it can be a tough holiday for me, and frankly, she doesn’t care to spend Mother’s Day away from her children. So it worked out well for both of us.

After Mom arrived on Friday afternoon, our first order of business was to take her for her first taste of Ethiopian food. One of the waitresses at Dukem came over to our table and asked us when the adoption group was coming back, so it was cool that they remembered us. Mom was excited to try the food and really enjoyed it. I thought she would, but you never know how one will like a very new and different cuisine, let alone one that does not involve using any utensils!

On Saturday, Mom and I indulged in some retail therapy in traditional mother-daughter form. After that, Craig, Mom, and I took the beagles out for a hike on the nature trails at a local park, where we came across Macy’s slightly larger doppelganger (a foxhound mix) before heading home for a dinner prepared by Craig.

On Sunday, we enjoyed a leisurely morning and then headed down to Alexandria, Virginia to pick up Craig’s mom for lunch. It had been several years since we had both of our moms together, so it was really nice. Craig’s mom lives very close to Mt. Vernon (George Washington’s home), so after dropping her off, Craig, Mom, and I went to explore the grounds and mansion. It was all very beautiful and quite impressive, and it was really interesting to see how the wealthy lived in the 1700s. It was a lovely afternoon and we all enjoyed learning a bit of history before dropping Mom off at the airport on our way back to Baltimore.

Since my mother and I live in different states and don’t get to see each other regularly, we really enjoy our visits with one another. This was no exception; it was a really nice weekend. Thanks for coming to visit, Mom!

This entry was posted in family, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to mother’s day

  1. Zoe says:

    What a lovely sounding Mother’s Day! And fun to see a pic of your mom.

  2. Sarah says:

    That does sound like a wonderful mothers day celebration. I’m glad this was an easier holiday for you. And that food looks really, really good.

  3. Michelle Oryl says:

    Glad it turned out to be a great day and extra special with your mom in tow!

  4. Erin says:

    How sweet ;). Glad you got to spend some time with your mother and MIL.

    Hopefully the beagles will remember you next mother’s day!!

  5. CatherineD says:

    Sounds like a great Mothers Day weekend! Hmmm… that is interesting that the beagles keep forgetting Mother’s Day! πŸ™‚

  6. angela says:

    I’m glad that your mom is so awesome she flew out to make the day go better. You guys seem to have had an awesome time.

  7. Kris says:

    That sounds like a wonderful weekend! Your hubby should tell those dogs to get their act together and remember a card for you next year πŸ˜‰

  8. Amy says:

    How nice that you got to spend Mom’s day with your Mom! I know how wonderful it feels to get the thoughtful cards, which reinforces that your family knows how difficult the day is for you. Hmmmm…..our doggie friends do a pretty good job at remembering Mom and Dad’s day….I think your doggie “kids” will need to remind their daddy next year πŸ™‚ I am glad you had such an enjoyable time with your family!

  9. What a lovely time! And I really like the photo of you with your mama πŸ™‚

  10. sue says:

    your day sounds wonderful! how great that your mom got to try Ethiopian food!

    your beagles are adorable, as always. maybe they will read this post and mark their calendar!

    happy belated mother’s day to you!!!!

  11. Leah says:

    Sounds like a wonderful Mother’s day. So glad you got to spend it with your mom. πŸ™‚

  12. Emily B. says:

    I’m glad you had such a nice visit with your mom. My mom and I also live in different states so we don’t get to spend a lot of time together but when we do retail therapy is almost always on the agenda!! πŸ™‚ We took my mom for Ethiopian food the last time she was here as well and she gave it two thumbs up!

  13. Kelly Cole says:

    Love that photo of you and your mom! And I hear ya on Mother’s Day being a bit difficult this year … I felt that too. I’m glad you made the best of it and had a nice time.

  14. Christine says:

    This sounds like such a nice weekend!!! But, really, why can’t our pups get it together?!?! Roxy failed to get me a card, so she horned in on spencer’s. πŸ˜‰

    Btw… This is the perfect post for Spencer to view… Keekee and doggies only to identify. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

