haven’t met you yet

My current favorite song is “Haven’t Met You Yet” by Michael Bublé. I love the music, and just hearing the piano chords in the intro brings a smile to my face. (Seriously. I light up and get all giddy.) The lyrics are probably meant to describe someone searching for his one true love (in a romantic sense), but to me (and thanks in part to Christine, who used this song in a special video celebrating the anniversary of Spencer’s referral), I hear it as someone searching for any type of special love. Perhaps it’s the love of a child halfway around the world. I feel that this song is so applicable to our situation, as we wait for our child. It makes me hopeful, and keeps me smiling.

*****

I’m not surprised, not everything lasts
I’ve broken my heart so many times, I stopped keeping track
Talk myself in, I talk myself out
I get all worked up, then I let myself down

I tried so very hard not to lose it
I came up with a million excuses
I thought, I thought of every possibility

And I know someday that it’ll all turn out
You’ll make me work, so we can work to work it out
And I promise you, kid, that I give so much more than I get
I just haven’t met you yet

I might have to wait, I’ll never give up
I guess it’s half timing, and the other half’s luck
Wherever you are, whenever it’s right
You’ll come out of nowhere and into my life

And I know that we can be so amazing
And, baby, your love is gonna change me
And now I can see every possibility

And somehow I know that it’ll all turn out
You’ll make me work, so we can work to work it out
And I promise you, kid, I give so much more than I get
I just haven’t met you yet

They say all’s fair
In love and war
But I won’t need to fight it
We’ll get it right and we’ll be united

And I know that we can be so amazing
And being in your life is gonna change me
And now I can see every single possibility

And someday I know it’ll all turn out
And I’ll work to work it out
Promise you, kid, I’ll give more than I get
Than I get, than I get, than I get

Oh, you know it’ll all turn out
And you’ll make me work so we can work to work it out
And I promise you kid to give so much more than I get
Yeah, I just haven’t met you yet

I just haven’t met you yet
Oh, promise you, kid
To give so much more than I get

I said love, love, love, love
Love, love, love, love
(I just haven’t met you yet)
Love, love, love, love
Love, love
I just haven’t met you yet

This entry was posted in adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to haven’t met you yet

  1. I confess – every time I hear this song on the radio, I think of Spencer 🙂 It does fit quite well for us APs, eh?

  2. sue says:

    a perfect song for while you wait! i love it too!

  3. Janet says:

    Perfect. I love Michael Buble.
    Great words for waiting families…all of us have been there or are there right now.
    I cannot wait for you to meet your child.

  4. Christine says:

    You know I [heart] this song right alongside of you. And I think we all need to petition M.B. to make it an official “waiting” song…

  5. Joanna says:

    I’m loving this song lately too and it is perfect for AP’s. Little did MB know that we would ‘adopt’ it as our own!

  6. Meg says:

    We saw Micheal Buble perform this on Saturday Night Live! My husband liked it so much he immediately started learning how to play it! Yes, it’s a great song; I love how music can have such an effect!

  7. Kris says:

    I agree with everyone else, this song is perfect for you and all the other parents waiting for their little one halfway around the world!

  8. Theresa says:

    I love that song, and never thought about it from that perspective! Perfect match!

  9. Kelly Cole says:

    I agree! This song speaks to me recently too 🙂

  10. Krista says:

    Oh yes – LOVE this song (doesn’t help that I’m a proud Canadian!)

  11. Kori says:

    SO WONDERFUL! I never really thought about it, but wow, what a special meaning that song can have.

Leave a Reply

