six months in

As of last Friday, we have been on the wait list for six months. As our case worker noted during our most recent monthly call, we are now one-third to halfway through the estimated 12-18 month wait. 18 months is the more realistic estimate, since current families receiving referrals are waiting 18 months. Obviously we never know whether the numbers of referrals will go up or down, but I’m a realist and I’m looking at six months as being one-third of the way through. And really, that’s pretty good. One-third seems significant. Gosh, it’s almost halfway!

Really, the past six months have gone by pretty quickly. Yes, I had my period of winter doldrums, but all in all, it’s been a fast six months. We had snow storms, a kidney stone, changes in Ethiopian adoptions, and a trip to New York City with friends to keep us occupied.

Looking at the next six months, I’m sure we’ll keep busy as well. We have a deck to stain and golf to play. We plan to finally tackle some Ethiopian cooking. My mom is coming to visit this weekend, and I’m going to visit my grandmother the weekend after that. I’d like to say we had plans for a summer vacation… but we don’t. We do hope to take an anniversary vacation this fall or winter. We’ll try to stay busy to help us keep our minds off the wait, but really, I think we can handle the next six months pretty well. And then we’ll have two-thirds of the wait behind us!

This entry was posted in adoption, life, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to six months in

  1. I’m so glad you’re keeping so busy (except for the kidney stone) during this wait! I can’t believe it’s been six months already! Isn’t it great to have it behind you?

  2. Emily says:

    Almost half-way! Congratulations! I just took an Ethiopian cooking class, but still haven’t gotten around to getting started on my own. Let me know how it goes : )

  3. Jenny says:

    staying busy definitely helps the days go faster!

  4. Zoe says:

    Congratulations on six months! I’m finding it hard to believe it’s been that long. I hope the next six months not only go by quickly for you, but are rewarding and happy.

  5. Emily B. says:

    Congrats on six months!! Some days are definitely easier than others! And I think you are smart to prepare yourself mentally for the longest possible scenario. I made the mistake of getting my hopes up that it would go faster and it hasn’t so I think I am more disappointed because of that.

  6. Amy says:

    Yay for being 1/3rd of the way there! Monumental indeed. The best way to allow time to pass is to keep busy, and it sounds like you and Craig are doing just that. Enjoy golf this summer (my husband was a pro, and come summer, that is about all he thinks about…until the kids come home anyway πŸ™‚ )

  7. Evelyn says:

    Wow, 6 months! It’s a milestone! You sound like you are ready for the next few. And then your life will change forever!

  8. Kelly says:

    Six months is a huge milestone! And just think, if it managed to pass quickly over the winter – imagine how fast it will go by while it’s summer when your mind is on all sorts of fun stuff πŸ™‚

    I’m glad I could be part of your plan to keep occupied – it certainly helped us too!

  9. Meg B says:

    I can definitely think of better ways to fill the Wait than kidney stones…but, to each their own =) I hope you are on the mend and are geared up for the next 6 months. We’ll be at the 6 month mark on Wednesday! Yay!

  10. Christine says:

    Wow! Six months! That’s fabulous!! I bet your next three or so are going to fly by… the summer always seems to do that, right?! And then you will be halfway… WOW.

    Glad I helped you “kill” some time… I look forward to the potential to help you be distracted again! YAY!

  11. Christine K says:

    Six months is a great milestone! I love your way of looking at it in a positive light. It sounds like you have a lot to keep you busy the next few months–that will definitely help!

  12. Erin Sager says:

    Happy 6 months, it will be here before you know it, it all happens so fast I promise you, just enjoy as much as you can…..

  13. sue says:

    yay for six months! that’s huge! summer and fall really fly by for me, so i bet they will fly by for you too! get to cooking girl! we want to see pictures of you making Ethiopian cuisine!

  14. Leah says:

    Congrats on 6 months! That is great! Have you ever mentioned your agency? I can’t remember if you have. It’s amazing how different the timelines are for each agency.

    It sounds like you have kept really busy during your days of waiting. Here’s hoping the next period of your wait goes by quickly. πŸ™‚

  15. Kris says:

    Almost half-way!!! This is a big milestone, congrats! Keep staying busy. It’s helps now that weather is getting warmer too!

  16. Gwen says:

    Yay!! Congrats on being that much closer!! You are so right about time flying by. Summer is here, which always bring so much to do, then the holidays….before you know it, you will be on the plane to Ethiopia!

Leave a Reply

