blue cars

Life has been really busy lately, and I haven’t had much time for blogging. Work is busy, our social life is busy, golf takes up a lot of time, we have spring projects to do, and there’s a potential major development that I hope to be able to talk about soon. (It has nothing to do with family-building, so don’t get too excited!) I’ve got things to say, though, so I need to find a few minutes here or there to share some thoughts. It’s what I like to do, and really, it’s what I need to do. So, today I’m taking a few minutes to blog.

My mom called me this morning to ask if I had seen Ameri.can I.dol last night. I don’t watch the show, so I hadn’t. Apparently last night was their charity night, and there was a piece with one of the previous winners where he traveled to Ethiopia. I looked up the clip online and watched it. It was a nice piece, and hopefully it exposed many people to some of the challenges that young women and girls in Ethiopia face.

Anyway, it was really cool for me to hear my mom so excited about seeing something about Ethiopia. She said she feels like she’s been coming across Ethiopia more and more in life. I relate it to what Craig calls Blue Car Syndrome. It’s similar to when you buy a new car, and you pick a nice blue color that you’ve never seen before. And then you drive the car off the lot and you see that same car – in that same shade of blue – everywhere. The blue cars have probably always been there, but you just haven’t been looking for them.

I, too, feel like I see and hear more about Ethiopia now than I ever did before. I don’t know if that’s actually true or not, but I certainly know I wasn’t paying much attention in the past. My mom said that seeing and learning things about Ethiopia – and especially seeing photos of the children – helps her feel a little more connected to our adoption process. And I love that.

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia, family. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to blue cars

  1. Katrina says:

    Wow! This is amazing! I’m going to follow your lead and put it on my blog for others to view. Thanks!

    ~Katrina

  2. Erin says:

    It’s good that you are staying busy with good things in life!!

    I want desperately to watch the video, but I can’t hear it!!!!! I will try again later and see if it was a fluke thing.

  3. Jenny says:

    so glad to hear your mom is feeling more and more connected with Ethiopia and with your future kiddo!

  4. Catherine says:

    Oh, Brian and I saw this last night, and I was bawling. I think I heard some sniffles from B’s direction, too. I love the Blue Car Syndrome. It’s so true! I run into Korean adoptees/adoptive parents ALL THE TIME now.

    That is so cool that your mom is getting excited. Since I’ve started reading your blog, and since our agency has been promoting Ethiopian adoptions more, it’s been on my radar screen, too.

  5. Deirdre says:

    Kelly,
    Excited to hear about your news! I thought of you last night when I was watching American Idol 🙂
    Best,
    Deirdre

  6. I watched last night, and I cried a lot last night too….for many reasons. It really hit me hard! Especially when Annie Lenox sang….thanks for posting the clip to your blog.

  7. Christine says:

    Oh yes, blue car syndrome… I love that term! I’m hoping that the major development has something to do with what we discussed when in the city cause I’ve been wondering about that…

    And it’s nice to know I’m not the only one with no time lately…

  8. LOVE that your mom is getting more connected to your adoption process. And can definitely relate to the Blue Car Syndrome 🙂
    And DEFINITELY can relate to no time in life!!!
    Can’t wait to hear the big news!

  9. Brandi says:

    I saw the bit on AI last night and thought of you. I am in awe of you…I don’t know how you will be able to go there and not be just torn up inside! Seeing the poverty and all of those kids made me so sad. I hope you will get your call soon!

  10. sue says:

    i’m excited that your mom is feeling more connected to your process and to your future child! so cool!

    and i hear ya on the blue car syndrome – i have an orange element, and now i see them everywhere!

  11. Leah says:

    Ever since I started the adoption process, I hear about adoption all the time. Just like your situation, I’m guessing adoption was always around, I just care about it so much more now, so I pay closer attention.

    Are you and your husband golfers? I love golf! So much fun. 🙂

  12. Meg says:

    Such a great point, so true! I didn’t see the episode, but had 3-4 friends and co-workers approach me the next day…all very excited about it! I too notice Ethiopia and all-things IA related seemingly everywhere!

  13. Kelly Cole says:

    I’m so glad Craig had told us about the Blue Car Syndrome when we were in NYC because now I know exactly what you mean, and it’s so true. I’m VERY excited to hear your news and I think I know what it might be (like Christine) – was it something we were discussing on the way to Korean food in the Village …. ???

  14. Zoe says:

    Ah yes, the blue car syndrome… it’s so true! It was really great to see the Ethiopia segment on Idol.

Leave a Reply

