good stories

I work for a small nonprofit law firm, and in my office, we talk a lot about good stories. Good stories are positive tales of work we’ve done, work that has helped someone who otherwise would not have been able to afford legal services. Good stories help build goodwill toward the work that we do, and hopefully by sharing good stories, we get the opportunity and funding to continue our work (which lets us then continue to develop good stories).

I haven’t chimed in on the whole saga surrounding the adopted Russian boy who was sent back to Russia by his American mother. The story is heartbreaking. I can’t claim to know what happened, but at minimum it seems like the mother did not seek help. (Zoe has a great post on this subject, by the way.) What a tragic story for everyone involved. Unfortunately, this one story has now caused Russia to halt adoptions to American families, at least for now.**** It’s a terrible situation.

Anyway, those of us who are in the process of adopting internationally hear all sorts of good stories. The internet connects us to one another, as do our agencies and social workers. I see good adoption stories on a daily basis. In fact, they keep me going while we wait. But I often fear that the general public only hears the not-so-good stories; they hear only the tragic, heartbreaking stories.

In an effort to get word out about good international adoption stories, the Joint Council on International Children’s Services organized today as We Are the Truth Day. Hopefully this will get some attention outside of the international adoption community, and at least a few members of the general public will hear something positive. I’ve already seen several of my bloggy friends post photos or stories as evidence of their good stories, and I look forward to seeing more today.

I don’t have a good story to tell yet, but I do know we are firmly on our way to creating one!

**** (Updated at 3pm EST) The Associated Press is now reporting that earlier reports about the suspension of the Russian program are false. This is definitely good news.

This entry was posted in adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to good stories

  1. Leah says:

    You and I are on the same page these days with our posts. 🙂

    The Russian adoption story is so tragic. I wish the hotheads in Russian wouldn’t suspend all adoptions as these cases are so rare.

    I’m so thankful for this blog community because we can hear the good stories as well. And there are so many good stories. 🙂

  2. Anne says:

    You WILL have a good story to tell!!! I also posted for We Are The Truth Day.

  3. Emily B. says:

    Amen!!! I wish the public got to see more of the good stories. My heart goes out to all those families currently in process adopting from Russia. It is truly tragic for all involved and most importantly the children. Can’t wait until we both have our own good stories to share!

  4. Barbara says:

    I am very excited for your story!! Time keeps marching on, so it’s bound to be soon!

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Well said. I’m always frustrated by the media’s knack for focusing on the negative stories and (almost) never featuring positive ones, of which there are SO many. Can’t wait to watch yours unfold 🙂

  6. Meg says:

    Just knock me out until The Wait is over. Too much drama in the world of IA…each week it’s something else. So thank you for shining a light on, and reminding us of the “good stories.” We can’t wait for ours either (5 months and counting…)

  7. Erin says:

    I thought that sounded a bit crazy that they would halt all adoptions to America because of one bad incident.

    I can’t wait until you have a good story to share with all!

  8. Jodi says:

    This whole situation really hit home for me because my 6 year old nephew was adopted from Russia as an infant.

    They were watching the news this weekend about this horrible story, and Gavin asked my sister “Mommy, if I am really, really bad, are you gonna send me back to Russia?” Bless his little heart!!!

    I feel so badly for that Russian child. They should have got him counseling here instead of throwing in the towel. I don’t understand how that “mother” got approved to adopt if she had a screw loose somewhere…as we all know getting approved is a very in depth, invasive process…I just don’t get it!

  9. sue says:

    great post. it’s one of the times i am happy to not have cable – i’ve stayed out of the whole debate. i’m sure it would frustrate me and anger me as well. thanks for sharing.

  10. Christine says:

    I’ve intentionally stayed out of this debate that *everyone* seems to want to have with me lately. And now it’s almost 10 and I haven’t posted my truth. Maybe tomorrow. Will it still count then?!

  11. Kelly says:

    I’m just saddened by this whole thing, although I am happy that the adoptive community is celebrating their GOOD stories at this moment!

  12. E says:

    I haven’t read much about the Russian adoption story, but from what I have seen, I agree that the adoptive mother did not seek help. My two cents, but she should be charged with child abandonment to mention just one thing. I feel so badly for families waiting to adopt from Russia who are wondering what is going to happen with the program, if anything.

    I can’t wait to read about your good (awesome!) story:)

Leave a Reply

