nothing to wear

We had a fancy cocktail party to attend last Friday evening. It was a friend-raiser for the animal shelter, an event to introduce potential major donors to the shelter. The party was held at a fancy house mansion in the wealthiest neighborhood in the city.

I had known about the event for several weeks, but I never gave any thought to what I would actually wear until Wednesday, just two days ahead of the event. Of course, at that time I realized that I had absolutely nothing to wear. I figured fancy cocktail party = nice dress. So, in a bit of a panic, I made a quick trip to the mall to look for a dress during the hour I had between work and book club.Β  I am generally not a big fan of shopping, but I went in on a mission and was pleasantly surprised to find a dress that I really, really liked, and that looked really, really nice on me. (I wondered if it was just me who thought it looked good, but when I showed Craig at home, he agreed!) As a bigger girl, I know that I need to follow some rules when picking out clothes (I’ve seen quite a few episodes of What Not to Wear), and the dress I found was quite flattering.

So, I got all excited about my new dress. I even went out the next day to get some cute new shoes to wear with it. (Because a new dress requires new shoes, right?) However, I then talked with a few people who thought that a dress like this might not be appropriate for this event. They thought something more professional would be the right choice. My biggest concern would be showing up underdressed; I mean, I didn’t want to be the one wearing pants and a sweater if others were wearing nice dresses. I wasn’t sure, so I posed the question on FB, and got some great feedback (all of which said I should wear the dress, which is what I wanted to hear). I just kept thinking that it would be better to be overdressed than underdressed. But, in hearing what some others were wearing (because a girl’s gotta talk about this stuff!), I then started to really worry about being overdressed. Sigh.

What to do, what to do?

At about 3pm on Friday, I finally asked one of my coworkers what she thought. She comes from a wealthy, well-known local family and I know she goes to a zillion events like this. And she said, without skipping a beat, that the attire would be more professional because it was on a Friday, and that cocktail attire would only be appropriate on a Saturday. Hmm. Consider me educated on appropriate cocktail party fundraiser attire!

So, I left work a bit early on Friday, because now that I wasn’t wearing my new dress, I again had absolutely nothing to wear! I ripped apart my closet and tried on a zillion things:

[BTW, the teal, patterned dress hanging over the foot of the bed is the new dress!]

In the end, I settled on a black skirt with a blue sweater. It wasn’t anything exciting, but it worked. And it was the right choice; at the party, most people were in professional attire. If I had worn the dress, I would have looked nice, but I would have stood out, and I am not one to want to stand out in a crowd. In fact, I quite enjoy blending in.

With my simple, boring outfit, I did add the cute new shoes:

and my favorite special occasion silk handbag (a fantastic souvenir from Thailand; I think it cost $3):

I didn’t think about it ahead of time, but I grabbed my new wrap on our way out the door since it was a chilly evening. It was fun to wear it for the first time. I got quite a few compliments on it, and then even more when I told the complimenters that I had knit it myself!

I’m definitely keeping the dress, but now I need a special occasion so I can wear it!

This entry was posted in me. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to nothing to wear

  1. Ok, love the shoes. And LOVE the dress! I’m sorry you didn’t get to wear it, but I know you’re glad you weren’t overdressed… I’ve been there and it’s weird. I request that, whenever you wear this dress, that you post a photo of you IN it!!!

  2. Jenny says:

    bummer that you didn’t get to wear the dress!!! but CUTE shoes πŸ™‚ i’m glad you didn’t stick out… i don’t like sticking out like that either!

  3. Kelly Cole says:

    Even just hanging over the best post, I can tell I like that dress. Perhaps you can find an occasion to wear it in NYC? πŸ˜‰

  4. Jodi says:

    Very cute shoes! And I love the color of your new dress!

    By the way my blog went private so email me if you would like an invite! πŸ™‚

  5. sue says:

    not that i get invited to tons of cocktail parties – but i’m glad to know the friday vs saturday etiquette. thanks! the color of the dress is beautiful! and i agree, when you do wear it, we need pictures!

    ps love the shoes!

  6. Erin says:

    *chuckle* I would be the same way. I would have no idea what to wear and would rip apart my whole closet.

    I’m glad you asked your co-worker!! she seemed to know what to do in the nick of time.

    Nice shoes btw.

  7. Emily B. says:

    I laughed outloud at the picture of your room with the dresses and shoes all over. That is exactly what my room looks like when I have to dress up. I am super grateful I can wear jeans to work or else I would be a complete mess every morning. Glad to know I am not the only one. πŸ™‚
    PS – the new dress looks super cute!

  8. Robin says:

    I totally relate to the not liking to shop feeling AND not wanting to stick out in a crowd. I often find myself in this position- two or three days before an event and wondering what to wear. That is great that you were able to talk to your coworker to get some insight.

    I LOVE the purse and your wrap must have looked great, too. I think Craig needs to take you out for a night out on the town now to celebrate your new dress πŸ™‚

  9. Dale says:

    What did Craig wear?

  10. Zoe says:

    Love the shoes and the bag. And from what I can see of the dress, it looks fabulous! Hope you find the perfect occasion to wear it — or just create one!

  11. Brandi says:

    The color of that dress would look fantastic on you! Tell Craig to take you somewhere nice to wear it. πŸ˜‰

    LOVE the purse!!!

  12. Christine says:

    Oooo – I love the dress just from the little I see of it! I hope you find an event to wear it to now! And, I think it’s a really good thing that I don’t go to cocktail parties very often… wow – who knew there was Friday vs. Saturday attire!? Yikes.

    I also love those shoes. Love love love them!

  13. Mary says:

    OK, well now you just have to post a picture of the whole dress, ’cause I love what I see already. And the shoes are super cute!!

    Hmmm, makes me want to go shoe shopping. . . . πŸ™‚

  14. live2roam says:

    The dress looks so cute! And I love your new dress=new shoes theory. Famous words to live by. And what an education regarding the Friday vs. Saturday attire. Such great info!

  15. CatherineD says:

    I had to smile when I read this post. I have totally been there (obsessing over what to wear). And of course – new dress ALWAYS equals new shoes!

    Cute dress, shoes and love the bag!

  16. angela says:

    I love your shoes Kelly. I also would have wondered what to wear and probably would have played it safe with a little black pants suit or something. Sorry I missed the fashion delimma post. Darn it! I love stuff like that. Glad you made the right decision. BTW, your dress looks pretty.

  17. Krista says:

    How frustrating! But I do love those shoes – very cute!

Leave a Reply

