wrapped up

I finally completed my “late fall” knitting project. (Quotation marks necessary since it was… umm… mid-March when I finished.) I wasn’t overly inspired to knit for quite a while, but about six weeks ago I started thinking about a couple of new projects, and I told myself that I had to wrap up my wrap (ha ha, I’m so clever!) before I could start anything new.

Pattern: Clapotis by Kate Gilbert

Yarn: Crystal Palace Yarns Mochi Plus

Needles: US 8 (5.0mm)

Possible alternate use: table runner?

Clapotis is a very popular pattern; I know a few people who have knit this. It’s really quite simple once you get the hang of the uncomplicated repeat. I found it to be strangely fun to intentionally drop stitches, a habit I had to work to overcome when I first learned to knit. I am really happy with how the striping in the yarn played out. This pattern is knit on the bias, so it’s a cool effect. I also think the blend of black, grey, browns, and greens will make this a pretty versatile item to throw on over a variety of outfits.

Now, here’s the bonus shot of me wearing the wrap. Well, sort of. I had just come in from gardening, hadn’t brushed my hair, and had dirt smudged on my face, so you’re just getting the rear view. I instructed Craig to NOT include my actual rear in the photograph, though.

Here’s a sneak peek of my next project, which will be a short-sleeved cardigan in a nice lavender-colored cotton blend. I’m hoping it will be completed during actual short-sleeve wearing weather, but I guess we’ll see about that.

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to wrapped up

  1. Christine says:

    Ooooo…. LOVE. IT. And love the swatch of your next project… that’s going to be amazing!

    And is your hair that short now?!

    • Kelly says:

      Yes, it’s that short now. It has been around that length (give or take an inch or two) for a while now. My profile picture is about three years old, and that was the longest I’ve had my hair since college! (I know, it’s pathetic that I have a three-year-old profile picture. I totally need a new one!)

  2. Missy says:

    That is beautiful!!! Seriously great work!!

  3. Kelly Cole says:

    I am super duper impressed Kelly!!!! Seriously. Now when are you starting on Spencer’s sweater 😉

    • Kelly says:

      Spencer’s sweater is the other project I have on my mind! But, we’re shooting for a fall/winter sweater, so I have plenty of time.

  4. Jenny says:

    you amaze me!!!! that’s awesome!

  5. Kelly! It’s GORGEOUS! I wish I had your mad knitting skillz.

  6. CatherineD says:

    Oh, I LOVE it! Really really beautiful. Can’t wait to see the cardigan.

  7. Cindy says:

    That is beautiful!

  8. sarah says:

    Beautiful! Um, it’s more ambitious than my hat/scarf attention span for knitting. I think it will work as a spring shawl too.

  9. sue says:

    it’s beautiful! you are so talented!!!!

  10. Zoe says:

    Love it, Kelly! Can’t wait to see your next creation.

  11. Meg says:

    wow! I’m impressed. I need to find such a productive hobby…

  12. Jodi says:

    Nice work! I love cardigans…good luck on your new project! 🙂

  13. Kris says:

    Well done! I’m so impressed!

  14. E says:

    Oh my goodness…you are so talented!!! It looks beautiful!

  15. Belinda says:

    Great work, Kelly! I wish I had your talents.

  16. live2roam says:

    Looks great!! I wish I was that talented!

  17. Leah says:

    That’s great! You are so darn talented. 😀

  18. Janet says:

    Simply beautiful! I know lots of people who have made one of those wraps.

    Cables for the next project? Wow! I’m impressed. I learned how to do them in a class a few years ago, but have never actually done anything with that knowledge. I did buy a hat pattern that uses cables…I started it once, but had to rip it all out (after realizing I had somehow reversed directions in the round) & haven’t had the inspiration to start over.

  19. Krista says:

    It looks lovely! I so wish I could knit… sigh…

Leave a Reply

