Tam’s Miracle

Several weeks ago I heard terrible news from a couple (Amy and Doug) adopting from Ethiopia through our agency. Their sweet baby boy, Tamirat,  had died from complications from pneumonia before the adoption process was completed. They never got a chance to meet their son, or to hold him, or to stare into his eyes. But they already loved him so much.

I had only been following Amy’s blog for a short period of time, but I was blown away by their story. I couldn’t even fathom what they were going through. I still can’t, of course. What a tragedy, on so many levels.

Amy and Doug are in the process of grieving, but while they work on healing, they have also taken steps to honor Tam’s memory in a wonderful way. They’ve created Tam’s Miracle, a web-based greeting card line consisting of adoption announcements, thank-you cards, shower invitations, and so on. The cards are really cute and they feature children of different races. 20% of the proceeds will be donated to Wide Horizons for Children Ethiopian humanitarian projects. I definitely plan to use some of these when our time comes!

What a fabulous way to turn tragedy into something positive, and what a wonderful way to honor the memory of the son they unfortunately never got to meet. I’m pleased to report that Amy and Doug are also back into the adoption game, and they’re now waiting on a sibling referral. I know we all wish nothing but the best for them.

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tam’s Miracle

  1. mkwewer says:

    I’m so sorry. How awful. I will share their website with as many people as I can.

  2. Wow. I cannot even imagine. What a wonderful way to turn things around, though! And I’m so happy to hear that they’re trying again 🙂

  3. Erin says:

    That is so sad.

    What a great idea about the cards.

  4. Jenny says:

    that is so crazy. my heart goes out to them! i’m glad they’re back in the waiting… thanks for sharing about Tam’s Miracle!

  5. CatherineD says:

    Oh my goodness. That is devastating. Thanks for posting the link. I’ll check it out.

  6. Christine says:

    Wow. I don’t even know what to say… that brings new meaning to the saying “adoption is a roller coaster ride” – wow.

    I love the way they turned it around though – VERY cool!

  7. Leah says:

    What a sad story, but how wonderful that they are honoring his memory.

  8. sue says:

    this is heart breaking. i just can’t even imagine. what a great idea they had to honor his memory. and it’s wonderful they are waiting again!

  9. Robin says:

    That is so sad. How amazing that they are pulling through their grief to do something positive. Good luck to them…!

  10. Krista says:

    Oh my… what a horrible thing to happen. My thoughts are with them. And what lovely products!! I’ve bookmarked that site for future projects 🙂

Leave a Reply

