in case of emergency

Thanks for all of the good wishes. I am feeling better every day, but I’m not quite at 100% yet. I worked half-days on Thursday and Friday, but I’ve just been really tired. I guess it takes a lot for a body to recover from a trauma like this.

I was telling a couple of people the other day how I saw a bright side in this scenario in that we got to test out our local emergency room. I didn’t think twice about where I was heading on Monday because I know we have a well-respected hospital right down the street from us. It is definitely the closest emergency room, and we hear ambulances driving by all of the time, presumably headed to that ER. But, there’s nothing like a good medical emergency to actually put an ER to the test! I was very pleased with my experience there. The facilities were nice, the people were friendly and caring, the service was prompt (limited waiting time and the speed with which I was seen by a doctor, meds were administered, etc.), and I felt like I received quality medical care. So, I figure it was good to put this ER to the test before we need to take a child with a broken arm or a baby with a really high fever in the middle of the night. I guess I’m just thinking that I am glad to have myself be the test case instead of our future child.

This whole scenario also got me thinking a lot about what we will do in case of future emergencies. I am 99.9% certain that I would not have been able to take care of a child in my condition on Monday. I suppose there is a point where a mother’s adrenaline kicks in, but I was in such pain and I was fairly out of it, so I don’t know how I could have cared for anyone. Also, if I had to take a child with me to the emergency room, what would I do? While in my haze I was apparently willing to put myself into a car… but would I have put my child into it with me? Maybe that’s where my common sense would have kicked in and I would have known that I shouldn’t have been driving. Now, I’m not expecting this to happen again (please don’t let this happen again!), but it just got me thinking. We all know these types of illnesses or injuries happen from time to time.

Part of our challenge is that Craig works about 30 miles away from our house. It takes him close to 45 minutes each way in his commute. He is also hard to reach while at work, so it’s not like I can call him and have him home in a few minutes. If he were ever home and needing to reach me, I work a lot closer and am easier to reach, so at least that’s a better scenario.

I know if my parents or siblings were nearby, I would not hesitate to call them for help. I would have called my mom in a heartbeat on Monday morning had she not been hours away. Unfortunately, we do not have any family near us. So, without that immediate line of back-up in place, we need to think about who else we would call for help in case of emergency. We certainly have friends and neighbors around, but then I worry about not wanting to inconvenience anyone. (Which is silly, really, because if any of them called me for help, of course I would drop everything and get to them – which I know they would do for us as well.) We did call a friend from the ER when we weren’t sure how long I would be there. There wasn’t anyone else available to get Craig’s mom from her chemo treatment, so we knew he had to get to her in Virginia (1.5 hour drive) at some point. And Amy was willing to be on call to come sit with me and/or bring me home if necessary. Thankfully we got home quickly and it wasn’t an issue, but it was good to know we had someone who could help. (Thank you, Amy!)

So, while we wait for our referral, we’ll be doing more thinking about who our back-ups will be. Certainly our good friends are at the top of the list. There is also a retired couple a few houses down who I know has helped out other neighbors with kids, so if push came to shove, I imagine they could stay with a child for a couple of hours if necessary. This incident just brought the issue to light, and it’s good to have time to think and prepare.

What sort of plans do you have in place in case of emergency?

This entry was posted in family, life, me. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to in case of emergency

  1. That’s such a great way to look at the experience! I think lots of us will admit that we haven’t thought things like this through very thoroughly. Perhaps Adam and I need to have a chat… 🙂

  2. E says:

    We’re fortunate that we do have a good amount of family and friends nearby. It’s definitely something to think about…our back-ups for the back-up. It’s good that you’re seeing this not-so-fun experience as an opportunity to plan for the future–just in case.

  3. Meg says:

    We’re in the same boat; we have no family in the area and it’s definitely something to think about before you bring your child home. We have friends in the same situation and we are the emergency contact for their son…I imagine we’ll ask the same of them when we bring our kids home. Glad to hear you are on the mend!
    Meg B-Chicago

  4. Christine K says:

    Kind of scary to think about things like that! I’m glad you are feeling better–my friend had kidney stones and said it was just awful. Let’s hope that was your last experience with them! 🙂

  5. Christine says:

    Unfortunately, we’ve run both of these drills “real time.” After only being home for 2 months (to the day) with Spencer, we fell down the stairs and ended up having to go to the ER. So, we just lucked out and ended up with a great ER option. (And yes, your mama adrenaline does kick in and you would be amazed what happens) Then, not even a month later is when I had to rush Doug to the hospital. I called our go-to person in the hood and she wasn’t here! But, she told me who to call (someone I am not as close with) and that person had her kids in the car before I was even off the phone with her… people drop things to help when there is an emergency (I’ve done it for neighbors as well when I was still working) We now have several other cell phone numbers of friends we have made since coming home… if you have one or two numbers for the beginning, you’ll slowly build the emergency list. (Or that’s what I found!)

  6. Kris says:

    We didn’t have set plans for an emergency and then 2 1/2 months after Xavier was home we ended up in the ER. He spiked a high fever and had a seizure. I called 911 and we went to the ER together in the ambulance. My husband was out of town on business and it never occurred to me how we would get home. Fortunately an amazing neighbor knew my husband was gone so she followed us to the hospital to make sure we were okay. I was able to use her phone to call my father who then picked us up. Oy! It was all so scary, but X was fine.

    I was not happy with the ER we went to so it definitely made me consider where we would go if anything like that were to happen again. I also know that I can count on my neighbor again. Whew!

  7. angela says:

    Somehow these things work themselves out when it happens from my experience with emergencies and children. Like you, I had family near by.

    I think including your neigbor is an excellent plan. They’re normally front line in real emergencies. My neighbor ended up babysitting for me until J was ready for preschool. He became their God child. It was perfect for everyone.

    You may want to check into if the local ER is equipped to care for infants and children because the training, medication, and medical supplies are totally different for pediatric patients.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better and resting.

  8. Robin says:

    I am SO glad you are feeling better. That whole ordeal sounds terrible. 😦 But it a way, you are right that it does give you some thoughts about planning for an emergency, etc. We have our neighbors right next door that are good friends with us. We would call them if we couldn’t watch Alli or if she was in bed and we had to leave for the ER. Plus my mom is ten minutes away so that is convenient.

    I agree with all of the suggestions from the previous posters by the way. At least maybe some good planning came out of your ordeal.

    Glad you are feeling better…!

  9. Mary says:

    We’ve been talking about this very thing lately. We have a couple of great friends close by, but the majority of our family and close friends are at least an hour away. Yikes! Guess we’ll be creating a backup plan sooner rather than later. And I never thought about checking out the ER near us, but that is GREAT advice.

    So glad you’re feeling better too!

Leave a Reply

