giveaway goodies

I’ve been the lucky winner of not one but TWO recent blog giveaways! I never win anything, so this has been pretty fun. Lucky me!

The first giveaway was back in December, and shame on me for not noting it here earlier. Elizabeth of ilOve Olive gave away these two adorable handmade pillowcase dresses:

[Photos shamelessly stolen from Elizabeth’s blog, since I don’t have a cute little doll to model the dresses.]

Aren’t they fabulous? Now, we don’t know if our little Ethiopian will be a boy or a girl, but we’ll make sure these dresses get put to good use one way or another. I’m not saying that if we have a son we’ll make him wear the dresses… but if he wants to wear the dresses, that will be just fine with us. We plan to be open-minded parents, and as such, we will not force gender stereotypes on our children. 🙂

My latest giveaway win arrived just today from Eileen of Waiting for Baby: Our Adoption Journey Chronicles. Check out this sweet book with an adoption theme:

Craig and I read it together as soon as it arrived. This is the first book of our future library of children’s books. Yay!

I also wanted to take a moment to note that both Elizabeth and Eileen have been wonderful bloggy friends to me. I fully enjoy each of their posts, through which I have learned so much, and also their thoughtful comments to me on my blog. Of course, the same goes for all of my bloggy friends, but E & E are getting special attention because they sent me cool stuff!

And speaking of blogs and friends and giveaways… I happened to notice this week that my blog has reached the 10,000 page view mark! So, in honor of this occasion, I thought it was time to do my own giveaway to thank those who are reading my ramblings. As such…

I am giving away a hand-knit sweater for one lucky reader’s child!

(See some of my previous handiwork here and here.) I have a pattern in mind, but I will work with the winner to finalize the pattern selection, size, color, and type of yarn. Also, since I recognize that many of us don’t know when our children are coming home, their ages, or their genders, this prize does not have to be redeemed immediately, although it certainly may be. (I’ve got lots of waiting time on my hands, so there’s no rush.)

Anyone – bloggers, non-bloggers, friends, family members – is welcome to join in. To enter the giveaway (stealing an idea I’ve seen many of my bloggy friends use), please ask me a question in the comments below. Ask away about whatever you’d like to know about me, our adoption, or whatever else is on your mind, and I’ll share my answers here in a later post. I’ll keep the giveaway open for one week, so get your comments in by 11:59pm EST on Saturday, February 27th.

Good luck!

This entry was posted in baby, blog, community, friends, knit. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to giveaway goodies

  1. Kelly Cole says:

    Best prize EVER! I really hope I win!! So, let’s see, you are so open and honest in your blog, Kelly, that there are lots of things we know about you (which I love), so let’s see what else do I need to know about you? OH! I got it. It’s something that’s been on my mind lately so let me get your take on it. Will your future little Ethiopian take Craig’s last name, your last name, or a hyphenated version? Inquiring minds want to know! Or at least I do … because I’m wondering what to do about Max’s last name. So, yeah, it’s a selfish question but so what! 🙂

  2. sue says:

    you lucky duck! what great giveaways you have won! we were given the miss spider book and love it!

    a hand knit sweater? wow! i’m not sure if you have posted this before, but why did you choose Ethiopia? it’s always my favorite question to ask. and i figure i should answer my question too. we chose SK simply because we felt like that was where our child was. :).

  3. Cute l giveaways Kelly. I love those little pillowcase dresses and that book looks like a good addition to your library. Someone will be just as lucky to win a handknitted sweater from you.

  4. Barbara Ball says:

    What a great prize! I haven’t won a giveaway yet so I will keep trying!…What is your favourite Ethiopian dish…and do you have a recipe you can post?! (2 questions but closely related 🙂 I’d like to try some Ethiopian food. I think our closest Ethiopian restaurant is in Toronto…about an hour away!

  5. E says:

    Yay! That’s so cute that you and your husband read it together. That’s good practice for the real thing;) The pillowcase dresses are adorable!

    Since I’ve seen some pictures of your knitting handiwork, I just have to enter this giveaway. Congrats on 10,000 views! I’m happy to have helped you reach that mark!

    Hmmmm…what shall I ask? Well, it’s a two-parter. After your little one arrives home, do you plan to return to work full-time (or part-time)? If so, what are your childcare plans? I think about this a lot, so I’m curious to know what you’re thinking.

  6. Kris says:

    Fun! Your knitting is beautiful. Will you be traveling to Ethiopia to bring your child home and if so, how long is the trip?

  7. A.J. says:

    WOW, Kelly! I can’t believe you’re giving away a hand-knit sweater! I still consider myself a novice knitter, and sweaters totally intimidate me. I’m extra excited about this give away because now I may not have to attempt my own! 😉

    My question is not specific to adoption, but I’d like to know what you’re most looking forward to teaching your child? (For instance, Ryan can’t wait to start doing household science experiments, and I’m really looking forward sharing my love of music.)

  8. Emily B. says:

    Go you for hitting 10,000 hits and that’s awesome you have won some giveaways. I am still trying. 🙂 That is very generous of you to giveaway a sweater. My question: when did you start knitting and who taught you?

  9. First off, thank you for the very sweet shout-out! I’m so happy you like the dresses and frankly, I’d be thrilled if your son wore them! Or daughter, of course.
    Secondly, um… can I have like 4 million entries?! I WANT this sweater!!! What an *awesome* giveaway!!! Maybe if I don’t win, I can commission you to knit one anyway?
    My question was totally gonna be what Emily asked. I actually started typing it and glanced up to see she beat me to it. DANG! So I’ll go with this one: what book from your childhood will you insist on reading to your little one? Or if you don’t have one, what’s your favorite book of ALL time?

  10. Belinda says:

    Great giveaway! My question is: how long from your referral until you get to travel to Ethiopia and how long do you have to stay there? I am really excited to hear about your trip as yours is the only blog I follow about adopting from Ethiopia, and I imagine it is going to be an amazing trip to bring hone your child.

  11. Emily says:

    Well, Yabbi would look beautiful in a little sweater and I haven’t yet mastered the sweater…stuck on socks! So, I’m in!

    And my question is what was your favorite class in college and why! I think it’s a really hard question. You can have more than one if you need to!

  12. Christine says:

    OK – this might be the most generous giveaway EVER! Oh my. I’m blown away by your generosity!!!

    Hmmm… what should my question be?! This is hard. I feel like I know so many fabulous things already!

    Oh, here’s one I’ve been thinking of recently… You’re very involved in the betterment of the lives of our furry friends. Do you have any future dreams/aspirations/plans for that aspect of your life? Meaning: do you foresee, or want to, become more involved with animal rescue/shelters at some point?

    I hope that makes sense. I’m a little exhausted these days. 🙂

  13. Mary says:

    What a great idea! I think this is the coolest giveaway I’ve seen yet (and since I have absolutely zero crafty talent of any kind, it’d be super cool to win!).

    My question: what has been the hardest part of the adoption process for you so far, and why?

    (I know, tough question, right? Someone asked me this the other day so I thought I’d see what you have to say!)

  14. Jodi says:

    Yay for hitting 10,000! That’s great!

    My questions I had in mind were already asked, so I’ll pick something mundane.

    What is your favorite movie of all time??? 🙂

  15. klarobinson215 says:

    Lucky lucky girl! And congrats on hitting 10,000!
    E stole my question! So… remind us – how did you meet your husband?

  16. Zoe says:

    I’m late and all my questions are taken… so here’s something off the top of my head:

    What do you want your life to look like five years from now?

    I don’t know if I should qualify for the give-away because I’ll need TWO sweaters. But wouldn’t matching sweaters be adorable??!

  17. Erin says:

    Haha, you are going to have a time on your hands trying to pick the winner! So many great questions here.

    How do you plan on telling your grandma whom you felt would not understand you adopting much less adopting from a foreign country? I am not sure if she is the only one in your family that you will need to tell.

  18. Jenn says:

    Hi Kelly – Congrats on your ongoing success with the blog. I can see how much your writing resonates with others – it’s fantastic.

    I don’t have a really good question (but of course I really want to enter because you are so talented!)

    I don’t know much about the adoption process. If you get a referral for a baby, do you pick his/her name or will your child already have a name?

  19. Leah says:

    Great giveaway! Count me in. 😀

  20. Leah says:

    Oh yes, and my question. Why did you and your hubby decide on Ethiopia?

  21. Amber says:

    How did you choose Ethiopia?

  22. rainingblossoms says:

    A hand knit sweater? WOW! That is a prize indeed!! While I don’t have any children, if I win I would love to give it to my new niece! And congrats on your winnings. I actually checked out Amazon about the spider book and have ordered it! I can’t wait.

    My question: “If you knew at the beginning of your journey what you know now, what would you change?”

    Have a beautiful day.

  23. heidi says:

    Just found you thanks to Kelly in WA. Looking forward to following along and I would love a sweater!
    What is your favorite inspirational quote?

  24. Courtney says:

    ARRGGHHH!!! I so want to win, so want to win, so want to win!

    My question is this- would you rather get a shot or be stung by a bee… and why (give me a break over here… we’re working on surveys in first grade and that’s the only kind of questions I can come up with).

  25. Janet says:

    What an AWESOME give-away. Wow…blown away…so wonderful of you.

    Question…ummm…a couple I had in mind are taken…so….
    How long have you been knitting & what self-knitted items (something you made for yourself) do you wear on a regular basis?

    Finally…pick me!! 🙂

  26. Jenny says:

    how did i miss this?! awesome giveaway!!! as for a question… hmmmm…. do you have your baby bedding picked out yet??? do you shamelessly scour and save webpages of baby stuff like i do???

Leave a Reply

