snow, part 427

I’m very much done with snow. I know this is a major turn in attitude for me from about a week ago, but I have reached my limit. The novelty has worn off.

We got another 15″ or so yesterday along with winds up to 55mph. I’d show you more photos of the snow conditions, but really, just look at the last ones and add another foot+ to them and you’ll get the idea. I just did some shoveling and we’re at the point where there isn’t anywhere to pile the shoveled snow. So you have to take a scoop, carry it 15-20 steps, and then heave it over an already five-foot-tall pile. At this point, it seems like those piles will be with us until July.

To demonstrate what a big deal a snow like this is here in Baltimore, here are some telling statistics (for the official Baltimore measuring station, BWI airport):

  • Average seasonal snowfall: 18.2 inches
  • February 2010 snowfall: 49.2 inches
  • Previous record seasonal snowfall: 62.5 inches
  • This season’s snowfall, SO FAR: 79.9 inches

We’re just not prepared here for snow like this. We don’t have the equipment to clear and treat the roads. My office has been closed all week so far, and I’m lucky that I don’t have to use my vacation time to cover the missed time. It’s just free time off, which is pretty nice. I am so bored, though, from being cooped up!

Anyway, here’s a fun photo I took this morning. I think it demonstrates a bit of the conditions we had yesterday.

If you look closely, you’ll see that the icicles are curved. And yes, the weight is likely damaging our gutters as well, but don’t burst my bubble just yet. I think they’re pretty cool.

Icicles like this always make me think of a childhood memory. I grew up in Michigan, so icicles were a fairly common occurrence. My two younger brothers and I were always instructed to stay away from them and not to play with them, because we could get hurt. I was a good girl, so of course I obeyed my parents. My brothers, of course, were young boys and icicles were tantalizing and fun! I can’t remember how old we were, but maybe I was about 10, so David was 7 and Matt was 4. David, the typical middle child, convinced Matt, the gullible youngest child, to stand under the icicles and try to catch them while David used a ski pole or something to whack them down. And of course an icicle fell right on the top of Matt’s head. I watched it all happen (I wasn’t participating, but I was telling them to stop, of course!) and I was quick to run and tattle on them get help. Matt had to get stitches, and he still has a scar on his head from that icicle. Silly boys! We all laugh about it now.

[Note: 15 minutes after posting this, Craig saw the icicles and insisted they needed to come down. I saw a hint of glee in his eyes as he reached through the bedroom window with a broom to bat them down. No, I did not try to catch them!]

This entry was posted in home. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to snow, part 427

  1. Jodi says:

    We got about another foot again yesterday also. My work actually let us leave at noon, which is unprecedented! I am also sooooo over the snow. Where’s spring???

    Laughing at the icicle story. My mom used to warn me that they could poke my eye out!

  2. A.J. says:

    Those curved icicles are so crazy! I’m from Michigan, too, so I have a healthy fear of them. Every winter, it seemed, someone would be seriously injured or killed by a falling icicle.

    Stay safe and warm up there! πŸ™‚

  3. NICE icicles! But yes, I can imagine that you’re quite done with the snow. Enough is enough already!

  4. Michelle says:

    Oh such pretty icicles! We don’t have any here YET. I am sure tonight after everything freezes they will appear.

    We have another chance of snow on Monday/Tuesday here. It is insane but I cannot lie, I love the snow.

  5. Erin says:

    I love teh way icicles look in the sun. So pretty. I have heard stories of people’s room caving in with all that snow :(. Scary.

  6. Kris says:

    Wow, you HAVE been hit with a ton of snow! Your icicle story is crazy. I was always warned as a child to stay clear of them, but never actually met someone who had to get stitches because of one!

  7. Leah says:

    Holy crap!!! That is REALLy a lot of snow. And the icicles reall are lovely. πŸ˜€ Or. . . really were lovely. πŸ˜€

  8. Jenny says:

    gosh that’s a lotta snow πŸ™‚ i love how craig got a little boyish when he decided they needed to come down!

  9. Kelly says:

    Boys will be boys, even your husband!

    I can imagine that right about now you’ve had enough snow. I’ve been jealous all week of your snow days but this is a long-ass time to be cooped up in your house! I mean how much facebooking and soap opera watching can one person do before you go crazy and crave being back in the office? I’ve had a lot of cancelled conference calls this week myself since I work with Dept of Justice lawyers …. Maybe next week things will be back to normal?

  10. Brandi says:

    My back hurts just thinking about shoveling all of that!! I feel for ya! We’re going to possibly get 1-2″ tomorrow and it’s like the world is coming to an end. Love it!

  11. E says:

    The curved icicles are pretty cool!

  12. Pingback: The numbers « CHASING SAINTS

  13. Janet says:

    Whoa…snow & ice central there.
    We have big icicles here too…and my DH knocks them down. Ice dams too…not so good.

  14. Dale says:

    I remember the icicle incident well. Matt’s eye hand coordination was not as advanced as his big brother, thus the problem. He learned.

  15. Emily B. says:

    I am also totally over the snow and we haven’t been hit nearly as bad as you! Our mailbox is totally covered in snow and my husband had to dig a hold around it so we can get mail. It is somewhat amusing but like you said, the novelty is gone.

  16. Christine says:

    Wow. I can imagine you would be done! I just had two days housebound with a sick boy and I’m ready to go stir crazy… I’m not sure how you are doing it!

    The icicles ARE cool though!

  17. sue says:

    i’m a snow fan, but geez, that’s a lot of snow! and a long time to be cooped up! here’s to spring coming soon and all that white stuff melting!

  18. Robin says:

    I can’t imagine how much that much snow sucks, but I can tell you are ready for it to be done! At least you don’t have to use vacation time from work, that would be awful (and unfair!).

  19. angela says:

    That’s a lot of snow Kelly. It’s rather pretty though. I think we’ll all be happy to see Springtime.

  20. CatherineD says:

    Ha! i love your icicle story! But, I’m sorry about all of the snow. Just think of how beautiful the cherry blossoms will be in the spring…

Leave a Reply

