two days later

So, here we are, about 48 hours after the snowstorm ended. The sun is out and it’s about 35 degrees, so it’s just warm enough to do some melting (but not a whole lot). It has been frigidly cold overnight, too, so everything has been re-freezing.

I got my snow day today (yay!) but I’m realizing that a snow day would be more fun at the beginning of the weekend than the end. I am dealing with some serious cabin fever today. I was so bored that I actually took on the daunting task of cleaning out our filing cabinet! Yeah, it’s that bad.

In an effort to get out of the house, we’re about to head out to get some dinner at one of our favorite local restaurants. It’s a 3/4 mile walk, which is usually lovely, but this trek will be interesting. Most people have cleared sidewalks but where they haven’t, we have two feet of snow to wade through. Earlier when we walked the dogs we just walked down one of the streets. This is a pretty major road that had been plowed and salted, and still looks like this:

I don’t think we’ll have any problem getting out tomorrow. We shoveled out the cars (okay, Craig shoveled 3/4 of it but I cleaned off the cars and dug out the street) and we’re only about 150 feet from a main road that is pretty clear. The big news, though, is that we are supposed to get another 10-20 inches of snow Tuesday night into Wednesday. Now, I’m all for a big storm, but this might be where I draw my line!

Poor Macy is really out of sorts. She loves to be outside and run all over the yard, but her mobility is very limited by the snow. This (below) is the view from an upstairs window of our yard. The path that goes straight back was made by Macy (to get to her favorite spot) and has been reinforced by several trips by Craig and me to grab Macy to stop her incessant barking. She goes back there and barks and barks and barks, I think because she’s confused. (The barking is driving us absolutely nuts.) The path to the left was made by Craig so he could dust off the all-important satellite dish on Saturday, and then the little offshoot from that was made by me so I could take a broom to my poor holly tree that had crumpled due to the snow. Essentially the dogs are limited to these paths, because the rest of the yard is two feet deep. I might go out and walk a connector path so they could make a loop!

And, just to remind myself that spring will someday arrive, I pulled up the same view of our yard from last May:

This entry was posted in city, community, garden, home, neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to two days later

  1. Christine says:

    Wow! That is a LOT of snow. We had a snowstorm of that magnitude the day we moved into our condo. (Yes, the DAY we moved in… there is a story about how I was pleading with the cops not to give our movers a ticket since a state of emergency was declared halfway through) So now, even the thought of that much snow makes the hair on the back of my neck rise. And you might get hit again?! WOW!

  2. Meg says:

    We’re supposed to get a bunch of snow here in Chicago over the next 36 hours; I guess that’s what’s heading your way. I understand the cabin fever issue,but I could sure use a snow day…
    Good luck and stay warm! Meg B-Chicago

  3. Jennifer says:

    You have a ton of snow. We’re getting a storm this week – so we may look like your photos by weekend! That restaurant looks like the perfect place to trek to on a snowy, cold winter evening…looks warm and cozy in there!

  4. Do you believe that I am actually envious of your snow fall? I am a New Englander, and we dont even have enough snow to cover the ground right now! Thank you Kelly for your support after Tamirat’s death….I am finally starting to feel better.

    • Kelly says:

      We’ve been hearing that from a lot of people! I’ve been enjoying it so far, but this next one is pushing my limits. And you are more than welcome, Amy. I’ve been thinking about you. What a terrible, terrible loss.

  5. Eileen says:

    I can’t believe we’re getting more snow. It’s unreal. I’m already planning to take a day on Wednesday…no way am I even going to try, but my husband has to go in. We only need 9 inches of snow to make it the snowiest winter in Philly history since they started keeping track in the 1880s. We’re supposed to get at least a foot, maybe two. Ugh!

    You have such a lovely yard! Yep, sounds like Macy is confused lol. At our old house, our dog used to pee right on the deck in the snow instead of going down into the yard…he wouldn’t do that usually without snow, but I think he figured, what’s the difference? Or he had dementia. lol

    Hope you have a good dinner!

    • Kelly says:

      Yeah, we are only 2″ away from the all-time snow record, so that’s surely going down! Now they’re predicting 10-20″. My office is closed again today, and surely will be tomorrow. What a crazy week!

  6. Poor doggies! Snow is so confusing…
    I have to say I’m totally NOT jealous of all your snow. We had more snow in Chicago than I care to remember. And you talking about walking down the street instead of the sidewalks rang so true for me. When we would run (crazy marathoners) throughout the winter, we’d *always* run in the streets b/c there always were the jerks who didn’t clean off the sidewalks in front of their homes and we’d slip on teh snow/ice and seriously injure ourselves. So all that to say, smart move by walking in the street!!!
    I cannot believe that you’re getting more!!! Ugh. Does that mean snow day on Wed. too?

  7. Kelly Cole says:

    Wow, the spring vs. winter photos of your back yard is quite a stark contrast. That is a LOT of snow. I can’t believe you guys are getting more!

  8. A.J. says:

    Wow, Kelly, I love your pictures!

    I’m always hesitant to comment about snow because since we moved to the South 5 years ago, I’ve really started to idealize it. So, I won’t say how envious I am, but just that I hope you stay warm and are careful during your snow-related work out sessions! (Even I don’t remember slipping around while shoveling very fondly. :P)

  9. sue says:

    that is some serious snow! your spring picture makes me long for some warmer weather!

  10. Leah says:

    WOW! That is some snow!!! Don’t know about you, but I can’t wait for spring. πŸ˜€

  11. Kris says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of snow! We’re getting hit with a snow storm today. That picture of your yard from spring makes me want warmer weather so bad.

  12. Emily B. says:

    We have been getting a lot of snow in my neck of the woods as well and I am so over it. My dog is not a fan of it at all. She runs outside and does “her business” and then wants right back inside. but then she gets super stir crazy and wants to go out but forgets that she actually doesn’t want to go out. It is a never ending cycle. πŸ™‚ Ah the joys of pet ownership.

  13. Dale says:

    Wow When you guys clear a driveway you really clear it. We are supposed to get 10 inches and I’m anxious to get on the tractor. The new neighbor plows the drive, all half mile of it , so all I have to do is our circle and some clean up.

  14. Jodi says:

    We got two feet on Saturday, and we are supposed to get up to another foot tonight! It is snowing like crazy out right now. Grrr.

    By the way, where do you live? πŸ™‚

    I love your Spring picture. It can’t get here soon enough for me!!! Hope you guys had a nice time at dinner, and I’m sure you walked off some of those calories walking home!

  15. Robin says:

    I have to say… it looks wonderful. I know it’s probably a pain in the ass but I would sure love to have some snow!

    Of course, I live in Florida so it’s a novelty for me.

    I hope Macy settles down and you guys stay warm! I heard there were power outages up there so I hope you’re okay!

  16. E says:

    Hey Kelly,
    Check out my blog!

    E

  17. Krista says:

    That is crazy! Poor dogs though – the route around the back yard is too funny. We have a dusting coming down now – just a few cm expected.

  18. Janet says:

    Whoa….that is one cleared driveway. Down to the pavement. Nice job. Ours has lots of snow stuck to it…too frozen now.

    Poor doggies…that’s a LOT of snow to navigate through…let us know if you make them a “loop.” I love that idea.

  19. CatherineD says:

    I love the picture (and explanation) of your paths through the snow. Also, the pic of your yard in May is just gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

